We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice B&B”
Review of The Robin's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Robin's Nest
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Andreas
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The B&B is a delight, there is not much in San Andreas, we attended a PAWs event and decided to stay a night or two to relax, but it is a useful stopping place from which to explore the area.

The Inn is a beautifully restored Tudor House on the Main road in San Andreas (you enter from the back), it was added to National Register of Historic Places in 1984. The dining area and sitting areas are downstairs and are decorated with all kinds of bric-a-brac, not really my taste but fine for a day or two. The sitting area is quiet and the hosts supply cookies and sherry for your stay, a nice touch. The breakfast is served in the dining area and was excellent both days we stayed. They accommodated vegan and vegetarian requirements wonderfully while we were there at the same time as serving a great meal to the rest of us. The breakfast was large (3 courses, fruit, soup and main) very tasty and provided us with a great start to both days.

Our room felt a little small by modern standards but was well decorated, clean and sparking. The bed was great and bedding felt wonderful, Wi-Fi worked well (it was quite fast), no complaints about the bathroom either, plenty of hot water in the shower. My only complaint would be about the small tube TV in the room, and upgrade to a larger flat screen would be nice.

The grounds are nice, in the back is a deck with chairs and table. We played music on the back deck (it is far enough away from the house so you will not disturb anyone if you are careful) and had a wonderful time both nights we were there.

Local eats are limited but quite good for the price, be prepared to drive to another town if you want fine dining.

Overall a great place to stay in Calaveras County.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review. I think it's important to point out that while some of our guest rooms are small by modern standards, others are quite large. I would venture that 3 would be considered relatively small and 3 larger than average. The décor is also not our personal first choice (we have southwestern in our apartment) however based on the consensus of customer feedback, we feel that it suits the age and style of the Queen Ann Victorian house itself. Since the great majority of guests spend very little time in their rooms we chose televisions with emphasis on room size and how they would impact the décor. Generally the smaller the room, the smaller the television. In fact many guests (predominantly the older ones) express disappointment that we have televisions in the rooms. Our hope is that the positive outweighs any negative for the great majority of our guests. Again, thanks for the invaluable input. It helps us make the best choices each time we make a change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for The Robin's Nest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Finding Robin’s Nest as I searched the Internet for accommodations for a recent four-day vacation was the thing that changed our visit from what would have been very nice to memorable. The Gold Country is a favorite area for us, and we have stayed in many towns.We liked the location of San Andreas, since it allowed such easy drives to all the old towns along Highway 49.

The old home, which has been carefully restored and tended, takes you back to the remarkable days of prosperity and glory in the Gold Country. The bonus is, while you enjoy this historical atmosphere, you are not lacking the modern conveniences that make your stay more comfortable: small tv, refrigerator, microwave, etc. Everything was neat and clean. Each room has a theme. We stayed in the Safari Room. Let the fun of the décor work for you!

I woke up each morning excited to see what the breakfast menu would be. Every day a different, artistic, delicious presentation by the hosts, Karen and Bill. First, lovely, fruits served in simple artistic designs – watermelon, papaya, strawberries, kiwi. Next, the showstopper, fruit soup so delicious and so beautiful, it was hard to take the first bite. Works of art and heavenly. That was followed by a different main course every day. My favorite, pear crepes with crispy ham slices. Our only concern, we had to make the decision to cut down on the remaining meals of the day!

I have left the best for last. Karen and Bill are treasures, the very definition of gracious hosts, knowledgeable about the history of the house and the area, always helpful with information about nearby places to visit, with a talent for making you feel you are special to them. Karen is intelligent, witty, always smiling, full of interesting stories. Bill is a Renaissance man, keeps everything in the home repaired, has produced a tremendous library of music for your enjoyment in the main house and in your room. His knowledge is boundless. We never found an area where he didn’t have thoughtful ideas and comments. We reserved part of every day for the opportunity to have conversations with these lovely people.

We’ve told all our friends, and we will visit again. Don't hesitate, go there!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked charming. We chose the Safari room because it was on the lower floor and had bo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmelite33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth and wonderful review, the kind of review that keeps us happy doing what we're doing. When you run a business thousands of miles from your family and most of your friends, it's guests like you that make us feel more like we're hosting visiting friends rather than merely conducting business. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great stay at the Robins Nest! I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone traveling to the area. Bill and Karen were wonderful hosts and cooked us a delicious creative breakfast every morning. The projector screen out back is a wonderful addition, and makes for an enjoyable evening watching a concert under the stars :-)
Rooms very comfortable and have everything you need.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 981jenniferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review. So glad you took advantage of our outdoor theatre. Now that the warm weather is here, we anticipate one or two outdoor shows a week until the evenings get too cool in November. During the cold months (Nov thru Feb) we use our teeny 80 inch screen inside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I took their B&B training course and was blown away! It's a week long course in which I assisted the owners Bill and Karen with their daily activities in running a B&B. Both were incredibly knowledgeable and so personable! The food was amazing, the atmosphere was great, and the owners very hospitable! I stayed in the Safari room which was really nicely decorated, clean, spacious, and comfortable. Highly recommend that room! Highly recommend the B&B course! Highly recommend Robin's Nest! Thanks for a wonderful and informative stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCBumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi Nick. Thanks for the stellar review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found what we had to offer beneficial. You were a pleasure to work with. Hopefully it won't be long before you run your own establishment and can offer the same experience to someone else. Good luck in your venture and please stay in touch. Bill & Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We found this great Bed & Breakfast (Robin's Nest) in a historic Queen Ann Victorian Mansion in old town of San Andreas that is listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) -http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_J._Snyder_House. The owners, Bill & Karen, told us that this house was vacant for 39 years because people thought it was haunted. Our room, Cirque, was in the large former attic. As I recall from ghost stories, ghost like to live in old attics...We didn't encounter any...

Each room is different and decorated differently with a different theme. There are a couple rooms on the main floor. Most of the rooms are in the large former attic.

The home has a eclectic variety of period furniture and is filled with lots of decorator nic-nacs...Kind of like grandma's house.

Owner Bill prides himself on being a gourmet chef and we looked forward to a three-course breakfast everyday which included a medley of nicely presented fruit, a fruit soup and a main course. Each item was tasty and professionally presented.

Even though San Andreas is not a cute touristy old town it is situated within a reasonable drive from many of the other old touristy Gold Rush towns in the area so it makes a great base of operations if you are planning on spending time exploring the area.

We will be back the next time we are visiting the area...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne N Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for such a nice review. I need to apologize if I gave the impression that I'm a gourmet chef because I have absolutely no formal cooking training. I do admit that I take some pride in being able to meet the needs of the great majority of our customers, including those with restrictive diets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a very nice place to stay in the California Gold Country. It's a beautiful old house that is maintained and decorated with great love and attention by the very welcoming and generous hosts. The rooms are large and comfortable, and most have a theme reflected in style and artefacts. While certainly a little kitschy (I would not necessarily try this at home), it is tastefully done and not stuffy. There are only a few rooms that are really suitable for kids, and the many touchable items may be a bit nerve-wracking for those with smaller kids. However our 10 and 15 year olds were warmly welcomed and enjoyed themselves. Only negative was that there are limited dining options for dinner available nearby, and it is necessary to drive for pretty much anything. As everyone else has noted, the breakfast is great - fresh, tasty and creative. We would certainly recommend Robins Nest to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. Kitschy is a pretty accurate description of the overall décor. Our kids call it Gaudy and we correct them by telling them it's "Gaudy-Chic". And yes, with the exception of Pizza, basic Mexican, basic Chinese and a couple of Diners, the choice of quality restaurants is meager. However, there are many quality dining facilities in neighboring communities, most of them around 10 miles away which considering our lack of traffic represents less than a 15 minute "scenic" drive. Alternately, we have great outdoor cooking & eating facilities plus a 120 inch surround-sound video theatre to entertain you after dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We must be the only people who benefited from the shut down in October!

The reason being was that our plans had to be rearranged and we changed to San Andreas "Gold Country" and came across Robins Nest.

We'd booked our 'once in a lifetime' road trip through an agent and we had the choice to rearrange our planned Yosemite trip. After a bit of Googling I stumbled across Robins Nest and decided to ring first to get a feel for the place. We're from the UK and it was quite nerve wracking to make the decision to go off the beaten track and visit a less tourist driven area.

Upon ringing and speaking to Karen I was instantly at ease and made the reservation for myself, hubby and teenage sons. The boys were delighted to be staying in San Andreas (think Grand Theft Auto Game)! I'm pleased to say the town its nothing like the video game - but fun for the lads to have photo's with themselves at the sign and send 'San Andreas' postcards back home!

Karen and Bill were fantastic hosts and we all learnt so much about America through talking to them. I urge anyone who wants to see the 'real' American and experience true hospitality rather than the faceless 'one size fits all' hotels to stay at Robins Nest.

The location was fantastic, as the poster mentions below, many nearby places to visit. We were particularly enthralled with Angels Camp and Jamestown - it was like stepping back in time - saloons, incredible antique shops, beautiful original buildings some with restaurants and cafés - you could even go on gold panning trips! We met the friendliest people in these towns during the whole trip - all the shopkeepers were intrigued with our British accents and conversations opened up. The thrill of going into a real grocery store in cowboy country, instead of the usual Target or Walgreens was incredible.

I'm going on about the surrounding area because it really is exquisite and if you want a wonderful adventure Robins Nest is the perfect location.

We stayed in The Nook and the boys stayed in The Cranny, the rooms like the rest of this home, were full of character. The house itself has a fascinating history, which I won't spoil. On our return from a day out we spent a relaxing time watching Karen and Bill's outdoor cinema, which was a real treat. The food was wonderful - fruit soup delish! The house has a special charm and being British, for us it was absolutely thrilling - a true all American experience - like being in the movies! Unfortunately we only had two nights there and we loved it so much that we spent our last morning away from our planned itinerary and hung around chatting to Bill, Karen and their lovely friends who had come to stay.

Hubby and I lounged on the porch whilst our sons played Hillbilly Horeshoes on the lawn - Karen being really kind involving them and showing them how to play, it was perfect and a very special family memory for us.

Our trip started at San Francisco, Gold Country, Monterey, Santa Barbara, Anaheim, Hollywood and ended in Vegas (that was a shocker! Haha) We love, love love America and it's people. When mulling over the photos on our return we all agreed (teenage boys included) that the most fascinating, friendly and 'wow' memory was at this charming bed and breakfast and it's surrounding towns.

Karen and Bill thank you four helping make our holiday such a very precious memory.

Sue, Mike and Boys

Room Tip: Couldn't fault The Nook or Cranny - both charming and if you have children they're perfect a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for such a brilliant review. We're delighted that California's Gold Country met with your approval and that you consider us and the Robin's Nest an integral part of it. Send more "Brits" our way as they're always a pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Andreas
7.3 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
158 reviews
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
17.0 mi away
Pioneer Inn & Suites
Pioneer Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Pioneer
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
20.0 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robin's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robin's Nest

Address: 247 W Saint Charles St, San Andreas, CA 95249-9618
Region: United States > California > San Andreas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Andreas
Price Range: £89 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Robin's Nest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded Victorian mansion with 9 guests rooms located on 1.3 acres of gardens. All rooms have private bathroom, shower, TV, Telephone. Some rooms have bathtub and/or fireplace. Cost of room includes plated gourmet breakfast. Our redwood deck includes a 100 inch outdoor surround sound theatre on which we play live concerts. We have over 100 concert DVDs and customers can also bring their own. Large off-road parking area with room for trailers & RVs. San Andreas is a quiet "sleepy hollow" town centrally located to tourist destinations including Wineries, Gold-Mining attractions, Caverns, Lakes, Redwoods, Golf, Antiques etc. connected by some of the best Motorcyling roads in America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Robin's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Robin`s Nest Hotel San Andreas
Robins Nest San Andreas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing