We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ever!”
Review of San Anselmo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Anselmo Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 San Anselmo B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best ever!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our arrival in May from Kansas City, Mo. was begun with freezing weather at home to abnormally hot weather in northern CA. Our late evening welcome was lovely. Every day was a joy, thanks to the staff. Fabulous staff. We've stayed in B & B's across the United States, this is definitely the best ever. Thank you, Patti, Francisco, Annaliese, everyone who smiled, cleaned, cooked and made us feel like friends. We will be back! Daniel and Rebecca

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    32
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
42
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were in San Anselmo for our wedding anniversary and were upgraded to a suite before our arrival. Very sweet :) comfortable bed, cute decorations, quiet, very friendly staff, secure, great location!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHreesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The San Anselmo Inn was OK but quite outdated. They had us pay for the overall bill upon arrival which I thought was unusual. Beds were decent. We had a problem with the toilet overflowing in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stef352014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The staff and welcome at The San Anselmo Inn couldn't be nicer. We were even given an upgrade, from a king to a king suite. While that room looks out over downtown San Anselmo, the town is very quiet at night, so it was no problem at all.
Overall, the room felt a bit run down, albeit in a charming way. Especially the bathroom needs upgrading. Wifi worked perfectly. I would have liked to be able to make tea in the room, although staff immediately made us two cups of camomile at my request (no charge). Breakfast was good with an excellent, fresh frittata made personally by one of the ladies who works there. Yum.
Much more personal than a hotel, of course. I would go back for sure!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAwatch, Front Office Manager at San Anselmo Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Lee,
Thank you so much for your nice review! Our number one goal at the San Anselmo Inn is that our guests feel welcome and at home, we are thrilled that we were able to do so for you.
We are happy to let all our guests know that we will be doing some renovating and updating to the rooms over the next few months. We hope you will come back and stay with us after our improvements are made and give us your feedback!

Happy New Year to you and your husband!
San Anselmo Inn staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This inn is located near fun shops & restaurants. The staff was warm & helpful. The breakfasts were fantastic with fresh home baked goods and great quiche! The rooms are clean and there are a variety of different sized rooms to choose from. A delightful place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susansox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAwatch, Guest Relations Manager at San Anselmo Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Susan,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our town and Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, our goal is to give our guests the best possible experience and to make them feel at home. We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Kalika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a lovely, little Bed and Breakfast in San Anselmo! The building itself is 100 years old so most bathrooms are small and basic. The room we had didn't have AC but there was a fan in the closet area that we used just to keep the air moving. I'm sure we had the smallest room in the hotel but we only expected to sleep there and eat breakfast. There are two rooms in this hotel that share a bathroom in the hall so ask if that's the room you're getting. I would assume they would tell you that at booking, The room was clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was a great variety with homemade muffins and a hot entree such as quiche or frittata made by Patti. There were also bowls of freshly cut fruit, croissants, breads, muffins and bagels, cooked eggs and yogurt. And dried cereal for those who prefer that. Coffee, orange juice and cute, little pots of tea were there too! They have just moved their breakfast area to the back off the patio and are in the process of sprucing up the outside patio to make it more appealing for sitting and visiting. The staff was so nice and answered all my questions, Free parking is provided if you park in the bank parking lot a short block away with a paper they give you to put on your dashboard. They lock the door to this hotel about 8pm (I think) so they give you a real key to the door to get yourself into the lobby after the office closes for the evening and a separate key to open your room so you'll have to carry around keys to keep track of. There is a phone number to call if you have need for some help after hours, which we didn't need, There was a nice flat-screen tv on the wall in our room which got HBO and I did get on to the wi-fi in the hotel, This was a comfortable place and much calmer than staying in the city and definitely more economical. There is a garbage pick up daily so rooms In the back will hear the garbage truck about 6 am except on sun. This would be perfect for early risers! Not so good for late sleepers. We were overall very happy with this stay,

Room Tip: Rooms in back will hear the garbage pick up early, Rooms in front might hear morning street traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 245Mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeshandra, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Myself & my wife stayed at San Anselmo Inn last Saturday. We had an excellent welcome. Our room was just fine. The next morning Patti made a wonderful breakfast with lots of wonderful treats. Overall the value was excellent & the positive attitude was wonderful to experience. All we can say is that we would heartily recommend a stay in such a cool place as San Anselmo & the San Anselmo Inn is a wonderful base for wining,dining or just chilling out. Thanks so much! guys.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Taaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAwatch, Guest Relations Manager at San Anselmo Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Tom,
One of the things we love about San Anselmo is its location with access to wine country, the ocean and SF (as you mentioned in your review), and we are glad you were able to take advantage of it! Thank you so much for your review and we hope you will be back for another visit soon!

Warmly,
Kalika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anselmo
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
3.4 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
845 reviews
6.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
550 reviews
4.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Anselmo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Anselmo Inn

Property: San Anselmo Inn
Address: 339 San Anselmo Ave, San Anselmo, CA 94960-2647
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Anselmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Anselmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Anselmo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a historic, turn of the century building, in the quaint and charming town of San Anselmo, our Inn offers the very best in hospitality and personalized service. We provide the comfort and modern amenities that insure your stay in the San Francisco Bay Area will be memorable and satisfying and a generous breakfast buffet is included with your room. While our staff is at your service to plan side trips, tours to the wine country, or other exciting adventures, business travelers will also find the casual, quiet atmosphere and central location ideal for productive work days, and our proximity to great dining within walking distance, the perfect place to relax. Homemade chocolate chip cookies served fresh every afternoon!Free wi-fi and free overnight parking. Try our VALENTI & CO, our new restaurant by Chef Duilio Valenti, born and raised in Milan, who brings to San Anselmo the cuisine inspired by the love of his homeland and the incredible quality of our Northern California wholesome ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Anselmo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Anselmo Inn Marin County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing