We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed ”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

As soon a we arrived , we regretted our choice. The area is really not touristic , quite unsafe . The boulevard is busy , no restaurant or fast food , and at night you just feel like close the door and lock up!
The room was not really clean , the exterior was not fine at all , lots of old stuff and garbage on the back . We did at least 50 different motels during our stays in the US, it' s the first time we had to put 25 cents in the ice machine !
We thought it would be so fun to sleep at this historic place , but that wasn't at all .
We don't understand why there is so much good reviews , are they fake? Strange...

Stayed: August 2013
14  Thank Catyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
There are newer reviews for Wigwam Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Theres not many places left from route 66 hayday, and it was great to find this novel motel to stay in. Its basic but comfortable with plenty of facilities nearby. I understand that the owner is looking into getting some colour back on the wigwams, which will look a lot better. The showers were great. My son thought it was fantastic to stay in a wigwam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

When I had childhood fantasies of driving Route 66, the famous courtyard of the Wigwam Motel in California was the first thing that popped into my mind. What would it be like to stay in one of those old school wigwams??? I even had a postcard of it on my bedroom wall as a teen. When it came to finally planning our Route 66 adventure, it was the first place I contacted for a room. It did not disappoint.

We stayed at both Wigwam Motels on our journey and I loved both of them, but the room quality here was much higher. It was purchased by the Patel family a few years ago and they have done a great job restoring and updating this classic. The son, Kumar, is a manager and is very passionate about Route 66. He is a lot of fun to talk to and glad to share his photos of his 66 trips. They are doing a beautiful job keeping this icon alive and I was very impressed with our wigwam. For the small square footage, the space feels very large and is well utilized. The bed was very comfortable, as was the couch and seating area. The big tv and an exciting touch. The bathroom was clean and functional. I liked the little diamond shape windows and Route 66 lanterns outside the room. The palm trees and well maintained pool area give it an unforgettable atmosphere. At night when the neon sign comes on, it is a sight to behold. The family serves coffee in the morning and keeps a nice selection of motel logo and 66 gifts for sale. Also, wifi is free which is much appreciated.

San Bernardino and Rialto aren't the greatest areas, but there are a lot of hidden 66 gems around the concrete superslab. Don't skip this and head straight for the center of LA because this is a great little motel and an a once in a lifetime classic not to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynPringTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We spent our second last night of Route 66 at the Wigwam and it was fantastic! After missing out on the one in Arizona, we were determined to stay at this one in San Bernardino and it didn't disappoint. The cluster of wigwams made for a great photo opportunity (especially with the juxtaposed palm trees swaying in the background) and the rooms were clean, cute, and deceptively large. There's a couple of places to eat in walking distance, as well as Walgreens to stock up on supplies. Great place to kick off the last leg of the route from!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntawali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The site looked delightful but when we entered our wigwam we were rather disappointed. As a room it is really basic - nowhere to hang clothes, no bedside lighting and two deep mattresses on the bed which made getting in something of a climb! It was very comfortable when you got there but reaching down to retrieve something off the floor was hazardous. It was extremely hot for the two days we were in San Bernardino and the air conditioning was not on when we arrived. It was so stifling in the room that we had to keep the a/c on all night. There was no coffee-making equipment although coffee was available from reception. When we asked about places to eat locally the lady on reception was not very helpful and in the end we used the Internet to find restaurants.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumar P, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Anthony,

Glad you had a fantastic road trip; Hope you can ride route 66 once again. I sometimes myself scratch my head where to send people for dinner after everything has closed, mainly bars are open or fast food during 11pm in the evening; something we can't control, but the restaurant sheet provided has great dining in the local area. Our reservations state no coffee makers in the room, but we are happy to make a pot in the lobby for you; easy as apple pie. Bed frames are set high for the appeal of the room; we understand it can be difficult sometimes. Besides these items, how can a famous tipi motel be a disappointment because of a high bed, no in room coffee maker? Thanks for staying, an traveling old route 66.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We missed staying in the Holbrook, AZ wigwam/teepee stop so we were delighted to discover the Wigwam Motel in San Bernardino during our Route 66 trip. We booked one night online but before we arrived we added a night for our drive into Santa Monica.

What a treat! The manager was amazing, going out of his way to make us feel comfortable and be sure we had what we needed. When the Santa Ana winds moved in we added another day and before that was out, we added one more. Yup, we stayed four nights!

Adorable room, we got one with a mini-frig, amazingly comfortable bed, a loveseat for evening TV viewing and a clean bathroom. What more could you ask for? Route 66 must stop for anyone in the area!!! Don't just stop in for a tour and photos - buy something in the gift shop or better yet STAY A NIGHT!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was our last stay on Route 66 before we ended the trip in Santa Monica the next day. Kumar is becoming one of those legendary Route 66 people. He spent a lot of time talking to us and recommending good places to eat in the area. This also made out Wigwam stays complete and we had already stayed at the other 2 in Kentucky and Holbrook, AZ. The remodel has really sharpened these old icon right up.

Great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Bernardino hotels
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Bernardino
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#4 of 32 in San Bernardino
568 reviews
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Bernardino
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Bernardino
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn San Bernardino
Quality Inn San Bernardino
#13 of 32 in San Bernardino
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Address: 2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376-5333
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range: £59 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Route 66! One of the few remaining classic motels. This family-fun roadside attraction was built in 1949 and has undergone a renovation phase. The motel offers a complete guest room in a peculiar fashion of actual wigwam units. The motel comprises of all the standard hotel amenities ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel San Bernardino
Wigwam Motel San Bernardino, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing