We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wigwam Motel”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wigwam Motel”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a great place to stay on the last night of our Route 66 trip.
The manager was great and recommended a wonderful Soul Food restaurant across the road where the food was some of the best on our trip. We ate with him and had a good evening.
The rooms were quirky but clean and comfortable and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    237
    83
    25
    27
See reviews for
233
397
56
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have been staying at the Wigwam for several years now & find it a very relaxed place to stay. The staff are very nice & Kumar is a credit to the motel & to the Route 66 experience, we will be staying there again this coming May, chilling by the pool for a couple of nights before we fly back home to Blighty following our long road trip. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank michaelcallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here (actually Aug 2012) on family trip to California and kids are big Cars fans....has to stay at the real Cozey Cone Motel!
Good news: it is a real Cozey Cone and it is on Route 66. It's cheap. When you doing tourist stuff it's nice to go somewhere with no tourists and Rialto is just that!
Not so good news: it's in a ropey area, it's a bit tired and Rialto is v hot!
In summary, we'd stay again just for the pictures which are on the front cover of our photo book of the trip but limit it to 1 night rather than 2.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiddler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirke Hyllinge, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It is a odd looking motel, but it is so fun! You can almost feel the Route 66 excitement. The rooms are average, but quite roomy, and there is plenty of parking. The surroundings is boring, but hey, you are probably not here for anything else than a original concrete tepee!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

After several decades of wanting to stay here, I finally had the experience. I normally stay at high-end hotels but found charm in the shabby-chic furnishings down to the period tile work in the tiny bathrooms. We stayed in the larger of the two offerings. Despite other reviews, I felt safe in the neighborhood and there was a grocery store and several fast food restaurants a short drive away. The grounds were meticulously maintained and fenced. The reception area had all kinds of kitch for sale and the free coffee was cold and vending machines non-operational. One night was enough but elated I had the experience.

Room Tip: Choose a larger unit with a sitting area and farther away from the front gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesperia, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A cool piece of history and fun place to stay. Reasonably priced and easy to get to. Staff was very friendly. Even has a little gift shop. Bought a tshirt! Room was clean and bed comfy. Had a good nights sleep. Went as a birthday surprise to go with the funky fun theme for the day. Recommend if you are adventurous to stay somewhere not to traditional.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is one of the cutest and cleanest motels we have ever stayed in. The family who run it are WONDERFUL! They are so friendly and welcoming, and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. We felt safe, secure and very comfortable. We took lots of pictures and had a really wonderful time. We would definitely recommend this adorable motel and plan to return again the next time we are out in California.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. They are separate little teepees. Something really unique and special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Reardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bernardino
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Bernardino
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#3 of 32 in San Bernardino
553 reviews
9.3 mi away
Comfort Inn I-15
Comfort Inn I-15
#3 of 7 in Fontana
53 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Property: Wigwam Motel
Address: 2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376-5333
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Route 66! One of the few remaining classic motels. This family-fun roadside attraction was built in 1949 and has undergone a renovation phase. The motel offers a complete guest room in a peculiar fashion of actual wigwam units. The motel comprises of all the standard hotel amenities ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel San Bernardino
Wigwam Motel San Bernardino, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing