We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must Route 66 stay!!!”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in San Bernardino
Reviewed 5 December 2013

How cool is staying in a Teepee on Route 66! This place was very clean and well kept! The grounds were beautifully kept and the owners obviously take great pride in this place! I stayed here with some friends while attending a Iron maiden gig and I'll surely return in the future! The owners are very down to earth and nice people and the Teepee's are enclosed in a gated area so it feels quite safe despite some reviews Ive read that the area is not too great, In my opinion I didn't notice anything at all that would make me think it was a unsafe area! Def. check this place out at least once in your lifetime!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

You have to sleep in a Teepee at least once! I have always wanted to stay at a theme motel from the bygone era of holiday travel and the Wigwam didn't disappoint. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet (I had a unit away from the road). The furnishings were a little dated but very comfortable, the flat screen TV and mini fridge were new. The staff was some of the friendliest I’ve encountered in my travels. Others have stated that the area was a bit questionable but I didn’t think so, having said that there isn’t much around so food, shopping etc. involves a 10 minute drive. I should state that this is not 5 star luxury accommodations so if that’s what you need then this is not the place for you but if you want to experience roadside Americana then the Wigwam is a definite must. I can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank PNWtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very funny to stay in the Wigwam for one night. It has more space than you do expect from the outside. Good beds,good bathroom and clean.the Wigwams are in a sort of circle, the more far from the road the less traffic noise.

Room Tip: The Wigwams are in a way of circle, the more far from the road, the less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryde17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It was dark, cold, windy and misting rain when I pulled into the Wigwam Motel in Rialto/San Bernardino a few days ago. It had been a while since I had stayed at this iconic Route 66 motel and I was looking forward to seeing whether it had changed any. Well, it had. It had gotten even better. No one staying at the Wigwam should expect all the things you would find in a new chain motel but the room was large, the bed was very comfortable and the furnishings were very nice. The Patel family has done wonders with this historic property since taking over 10 or so years ago. Keep it going, Kumar. You have a place to very proud of.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flyboy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had only one night at the Wigwam Motel, but could have stayed many many more. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the television had good reception. We spent a relaxing afternoon by the pool which was a delight to swim in with its clear sparkling water. Towels were provided, a bonus. Our hosts were charming and welcoming, made us cups of hot tea (not common in USA!) and generally making sure all was well. An added bonus was a glorious sunset and a beautiful full moon, giving the opportunity for loads of arty photos featuring the wigwams. Thank you to the Kumars! We will certainly be staying there again and highly recommend the Wigwam Motel to anyone looking for something a tad different.

Room Tip: The wigwams behind the pool are better as they are away from a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank M_Athewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great stay. Clean and funky just like I like it! Plenty to do in town if you want to leave the reservation. It was very quiet in the neighborhood and our teepee was next to a vegetable garden. Nice touch. Also, a couple vintage vehicles were parked in the back. The night we were there, the moon rose over the funky Wigwam Village sign. Nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for the white one with the pointed top, and you can't go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumar P, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

LOL Ask for the white one with the pointed top, and you can't go wrong... . LOL, almost fell out of my chair laughing! Thanks for the great comments an support. I love when people understand an enjoy this place; its basically a blast from the past! Not everything is perfect, but enjoy it, because it could have been torn down an never been enjoyed! Thanks !!!!! Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a great place to stay on the last night of our Route 66 trip.
The manager was great and recommended a wonderful Soul Food restaurant across the road where the food was some of the best on our trip. We ate with him and had a good evening.
The rooms were quirky but clean and comfortable and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bernardino
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#4 of 33 in San Bernardino
582 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Best Western Cajon Pass
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Bernardino
4.9 mi away
Days Inn San Bernardino/Redlands
Days Inn San Bernardino/Redlands
#11 of 33 in San Bernardino
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Address: 2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376-5333
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range: £60 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Route 66! One of the few remaining classic motels. This family-fun roadside attraction was built in 1949 and has undergone a renovation phase. The motel offers a complete guest room in a peculiar fashion of actual wigwam units. The motel comprises of all the standard hotel amenities ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel San Bernardino
Wigwam Motel San Bernardino, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing