We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above & beyond our expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Certificate of Excellence
Camarillo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above & beyond our expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Clean and comfortable!
Great Wigwams, surprisingly plenty of room inside!
Great TV & WIFI connections!
Quiet secure Wigwams!
Grounds and driveways well kept up.
Very friendly staff!
My Squaw and I slept like a papoos!
Plenty of photo opportunities!
We shall return with more calvary!

Room Tip: Best if near the back of the reservation! A little quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BAHGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    224
    81
    21
    26
See reviews for
214
371
50
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Traveled Route 66 recently, and our first night on the road (yes, we traveled in the opposite direction - sometimes its better to head away from the LA traffic), was in this iconic motel.

As a general rule, I don't stay in motels in North America, but, on Route 66, you have to experience it all. For this reason I was apprehensive for my first night in a Motel in the USA. As it turns out, there was no reason to be. This first night set the tone, and every other place had to meet the standard set by Wigwim Motel.

The Teepee's are deceptively roomy. About the same size of a standard hotel room, with the extra charm and charisma of an old icon. The bathroom was cozy, but it does the job, and everything squeezes into the teepee nicely.

The beds were comfy, the TV was new, the heater worked perfectly.

A must stay location either at the start, or towards the end your Route 66 journey. Even if staying in the San Bernadino are, avoid the more expensive chains, try something with charm, and good service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just one night at this classic on Route 66. Booking on the web we were "directed" to a page that had it's own discount coupon. Good price and great retro photo ops. The Patel family who has run it for 11 years is very nice. The vintage concrete tee-pee's are fun, funky (with updates and a plasma screen TV), and a nice change from standard, sterile concrete rectangle accommodations. Recommend that if you're in the San Bernardino area you get your kicks (at the Wigwam) on Route 66.

Room Tip: Room 7 was recommended. We were upgraded (for free) to 15, a deluxe queen. Both are off the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I am giving the Wigwam 5 stars simply because the Patel family deserves a huge "thank you" for saving this whimsical icon from being bulldozed to make way for another Wal-Mart or some-such.
Obviously they have invested a LOT of time and money into totally rehabilitating the teepees and grounds.. While the furnishings might be best described as "eclectic", our accommodations were clean, clean, clean with a very comfortable bed. After a great night's sleep we headed up the pass to Emma Jean's Hollandburger Cafe in Victorville for breakfast then on to Roy's in Amboy for Root Beer. A very enjoyable Route 66 "mini-trip".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iowegian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

How cool is staying in a Teepee on Route 66! This place was very clean and well kept! The grounds were beautifully kept and the owners obviously take great pride in this place! I stayed here with some friends while attending a Iron maiden gig and I'll surely return in the future! The owners are very down to earth and nice people and the Teepee's are enclosed in a gated area so it feels quite safe despite some reviews Ive read that the area is not too great, In my opinion I didn't notice anything at all that would make me think it was a unsafe area! Def. check this place out at least once in your lifetime!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

You have to sleep in a Teepee at least once! I have always wanted to stay at a theme motel from the bygone era of holiday travel and the Wigwam didn't disappoint. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet (I had a unit away from the road). The furnishings were a little dated but very comfortable, the flat screen TV and mini fridge were new. The staff was some of the friendliest I’ve encountered in my travels. Others have stated that the area was a bit questionable but I didn’t think so, having said that there isn’t much around so food, shopping etc. involves a 10 minute drive. I should state that this is not 5 star luxury accommodations so if that’s what you need then this is not the place for you but if you want to experience roadside Americana then the Wigwam is a definite must. I can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank PNWtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
197 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very funny to stay in the Wigwam for one night. It has more space than you do expect from the outside. Good beds,good bathroom and clean.the Wigwams are in a sort of circle, the more far from the road the less traffic noise.

Room Tip: The Wigwams are in a way of circle, the more far from the road, the less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryde17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bernardino
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#3 of 32 in San Bernardino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Bernardino
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arrowhead Hotel
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Property: Wigwam Motel
Address: 2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376-5333
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Route 66! One of the few remaining classic motels. This family-fun roadside attraction was built in 1949 and has undergone a renovation phase. The motel offers a complete guest room in a peculiar fashion of actual wigwam units. The motel comprises of all the standard hotel amenities and even includes free Wi-Fi connection! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel San Bernardino
Wigwam Motel San Bernardino, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing