We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Route 66 trip”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Route 66 trip”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed here at the end of our Route 66 trip. It was such a treat to experience staying in a wigwam like travelers on the route! Our wigwam was clean, service was super friendly, the grounds were amazingly well-kept and the price was great! If we are ever in the area again we will absolutely stay here :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumar P, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Tammy!!!!!

Thank you for the kind words, like any road trip, an adventure and a stay at the Wigwam Motel is a must! It's a piece of American roadside history from the 1950's in the middle of Southern California. Leaving such kind words and staying with us, ensures his piece of Americana will be enjoyed an treasured for our future children. We appreciate you also traveling the old roads, aren't they just overwhelmingly beautiful?

Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    234
    82
    24
    27
See reviews for
229
392
55
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A visit to the Wigwam, was a one night stop as part of a 3 week road trip! (2 adults , 2 kids aged 13 and 10 ) It was unanimously voted as the favourite motel of the trip. I have no hesitation recommending this motel, to anyone. Ok, the neighbourhood may be described as 'interesting', but we felt completely safe and relaxed. Mr Patel is a wonderful host and we would definitely visit again, if we were ever in San Bernardino !! In the infamous words of Christie
'Oh , I'm longing for.. San Berna(r)dino'.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craff39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumar P, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Craff!!

OMG!! I can't wait to get back out on the road an drive Route 66!!!! I love everything it offers and I am overwhelmingly Thankful for your very kinds words and I am so glad the entire family enjoyed staying at the famous Wigwam Motel. Families like yourself is the reason why we are still alive & keeping this historic motel open for everyone!!!

Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Thanks for the nice time. We will stop over for a stay again sometime soon. We liked the firepit and our kids liked wondering around the grounds. The folks who run the motel are very friendly. It's cool to stay at a historic landmark.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

While on a day trip to San Bernadino, we sought out the infamous Wigwam motel. The motel was the inspiration for the motel in the Disney animated movie "Cars".

Located on historic Route 66, the motel is easy to find. They have a small gift shop with Route 66 merchandise available. It's neat that this road side attraction, opened in 1949, is still in business today. The wigwam rooms go for a reasonable rate, and give you the opportunity to say "I slept in a wigwam".

It you're a Route 66 fan, or just a fan for out of the ordinary places, drop by the Wigwam motel for a visit or a stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaBoy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

When I stayed at the WigWam it was the start of a dream. I live in London,England and had always wanted to drive across the USA. I have been to LA several times before and driven to San Francisco and Mexico (via San Diego). The room was clean ,bed comfortable and staff courteous. It was funny sleeping in a round room. My trip took me to Las Vegas, Nevada ,BonnevilleSalt Lake in Utah and on through Colorado,New Mexico,Texas,Arkansas,Alabama,Mississippi,Georgia and down to Key West in Florida.The stay at the WigWam was the perfect start to the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

One of those things you kinda have to do once for the experience, though in reality after the novelty of the wigwams wear off this is just a basic motel on a noisy boulevard, in a so-so neighbourhood with nothing else to see or do, but close to supermarkets etc.

Rooms were clean but small, the grounds well cared for, and the pool was refreshingly cool!

Owner was friendly and helpful, recommend staying here if its on your list

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumar P, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi,

It's almost like going to a fine steak restaurant and enjoying your meal an maybe being the best meal you ever had, but there is no gas station near the steak restaurant so you leave a 2 or 3 star review. Does not make much sense; does it now? I am confused why you have left 3 stars when the property is outstanding, an the room was refreshing, clean an just great from your review, but leaving a 3 star review because we can not control what the city of San Bernardino or city of Rialto does with the traffic on streets nor can we control the super center that are choice to be built in areas. We do hold up our part by offering a great, fun, an outstanding an a property , which I suggest should be reviewed based on our property an not something else. Thanks for staying. I hope everyone comes to enjoy something that was nearly to be point of disappearing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

As part of our travel from Kansas, we periodically tried to get off the main highways to sightsee on old Route 66. The Wigwam Motel was the perfect unique finale for a Route 66 experience. Our wigwam was cozy, clean, comfortable, and quiet. Each wigwam was separate and self contained. The inside consisted of a bedroom/sitting area and a small bathroom/shower. We had wi-fi, flat screen T.V., refrigerator, and microwave. The grounds were clean and green; and several strategically placed inoperable vintage cars contributed to the feeling of an earlier era. The owner was attentive and expressed interest in our travels. He took our picture in front of the motel then sent us a copy via internet .... a much appreciated gesture. We'd return anytime.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rcihard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bernardino
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#4 of 32 in San Bernardino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Bernardino
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arrowhead Hotel
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Property: Wigwam Motel
Address: 2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376-5333
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Route 66! One of the few remaining classic motels. This family-fun roadside attraction was built in 1949 and has undergone a renovation phase. The motel offers a complete guest room in a peculiar fashion of actual wigwam units. The motel comprises of all the standard hotel amenities and even includes free Wi-Fi connection! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel San Bernardino
Wigwam Motel San Bernardino, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing