We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you think”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn San Bernardino
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactly what you think”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

So I didn't want to book this hotel after all the reviews I read. A friend of mine booked it himself without talking to me and I went along with it. It's located behind an abandoned Denny's that seems to attract a lot of sketchy looking folks. The tub had two big chips that were rusting over and slowly becoming holes, the sink was cracked and repaired with what seems like super glue, there were used dirty washcloths hanging from the curtain, and the towel they provided had dried gum in it. The comforter had holes in it, and the whole room smelled like covered up smoke (it was a non-smoking room.) All this I could tolerate (I'm a pretty laid back traveler,) but the kicker was the front desk. I see a lot of reviews complaining about the people at the front desk and think "Oh it's just people who don't know how to respect the service industry" (and usually I'm right.) But in this case it was totally true, the man who checked me in was completely unfriendly and unclear, another night myself and the other friends who rented rooms were harassed by a woman at the front desk. They look like they're renovating the rooms, but that can't make up for the sketchy neighborhood, rude front desk attendants, and overall awfulness of this place. It's a notch up from a hostel.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms look like they were renovated first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llaneslady, Front Office Manager at Knights Inn San Bernardino, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We at KNIGHTS INN OF SAN BERNARDINO would like to apologize for the substandard condition of your room and the quality of service you recieved. We take pride in our high standards of cleanliness and service, unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    0
    3
    5
    14
See reviews for
4
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Although it was cheap, I would never ever spend any amount of money to sleep here in the future. We had read the negative reviews after booking and remained optimistic. Unfortunately upon checking in at 8pm there were numerous downfalls:
1) Room was not clean with someone else's leftovers in the fridge
2) All countertops sticky with drink rings
3) Blood or wine stains on side of mattress
4) Lack of parking
5) Toilet paper unraveled
6) Walls paper thin (woke up to kids screaming, yelling and running up and down the staircase at 6:30 am)
7) Hotel staff running a leaf blower at 7am to move water around parking lot
8) Someone's black hair weaved in the tub/shower drain - obviously not cleaned.

As I write this review, the room lights burned out.

This hotel was not worth one penny and I would pay the 50$ a night to NOT sleep here. You've been warned.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 221 - staircase runs right behind the room (can hear everyone but magnified)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megdewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Bernardino hotels

Mammoth, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Bedbugs in room 104. Don't believe me? Put a heating pad in the bed at night; leave for an hour; come back and look around the bed for small brownish-blackish bugs that look similiar to ticks. We had to vacate in the middle of the night when a bedbug crawled across our 5 year old's forehead.

Room Tip: Don't stay here; that is my tip. Go to nearby Hilton instead. I'm a budget traveler but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Ok for that price. Stayed there on a last minute roadtrip stop to check out the San Manuel Casino, it has a free shuttle there, did not feel like the bed had clean sheets. But everything was working ok and was not falling apart, so I give it an average for the value / price. No mayor complains, but not wowed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayitatrotamundos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This motel is dishonest, made a reservation and had to call back to cancel game them all the info to cancel and they said they could not fid our reservation and there was nothing to cancel. I was surprised to find out a chrage for the room on my CC, When I called the motel up to have it corrected they were very rude and refuse to do anything bascially to bad. I have contacted my cc company to dispute it. Don't stay here the ethics SUCK

Room Tip: don't bother staying here cause if you have any problems your on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camsmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Ended up stuck in the area and a long way from home, so I had to find a decent place to crash for the evening. Searched through tons of reviews and found that the Knights Inn was the only place that hadn't been tagged as either a fleabag or a haven for druggies. Made the reservation online and check-in at a late hour was easy. Room was as simple as possible, yet clean, which was fine by me. Bed was comfy and the place overall was quiet. Didn't stick around for the free breakfast (most likely continental or just a lobby coffee maker), but I did like the free L.A. Times in the lobby when I checked out. They also had soda/snack machines and ice, which helped take care of my late night appetite.

Only points of concern, which may apply to other visitors:
- Wireless internet was down when I visited, which I was hoping to have during the stay
- Location is not that great, esp. for families. Even though it's freeway close, you won't find the same options as other interstate motels. There's a boarded-up Denny's in the same lot, and no other chain-type restaurants nearby. At night, even though the whole property and the parking lot is well-illuminated, there's a lot of other open lot space leading to the street on almost every side of the property that's pitch black. There was a gas station/mini-mart next door and a 7-Eleven convenience store across the street, but both had some shady characters hanging out nearby.
- TV channel selections were OK (a mix of local and cable), but picture quality on some of them were very poor.

On the plus side, it was a good value at under $50 given the circumstances, and would probably be ideal if your ONLY criteria are safety and general, no-frills comfort.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulNKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Booked a room here through a website, and we escaped from this horrible place 30 minutes after we checked in.

Checking in was easy, no problem there. The room at first glance was just ok, there was a heavy cigarette smell even though it said on the door that this was a non-smoking room. I thought it was probably normal for a cheap motel like that, but when I walked in the tiny bathroom, I couldn't help frowning. I really didn't feel like using the shower at all, it looked old and dirty. All the towels were either dirty or had stains on them. I had to cover the toilet seat with toilet papers, and it took me 4 tries to finally flush it. Then I noticed something that looked like blood stains on the bathroom door and wall, which was a little creepy.

Then we checked the bed, and found hairs on it, so we went to the front desk. The lady there told us that we'd have to change the sheets ourselves because the cleaning maid's not there. Sure ok, we could do that. But guess what we found after removing the bedding? A fitted sheet that didn't fit the bed, and beneath that, pubic hairs and something that looked awfully like urine stain!

At that we couldn't stay there any longer, and went to the front desk again, asking for a cleaner room, but was told that it was already the cleanest room they've got. Leaving us no other choice, we asked for a refund because we were going somewhere else. The lady refused and started arguing with us. Finally she said that we would have to have someone from the website through which we booked this room to call them.

Considering that we didn't feel it was a safe area, and the health hazard, we'd rather stay somewhere else, even if we were not getting that $45 back from them.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faulekatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bernardino
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Bernardino
Quality Inn San Bernardino
#14 of 32 in San Bernardino
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sunpark Lodge
Sunpark Lodge
#21 of 32 in San Bernardino
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#4 of 32 in San Bernardino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn San Bernardino/Redlands
Days Inn San Bernardino/Redlands
#13 of 32 in San Bernardino
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Colton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Colton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn San Bernardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn San Bernardino

Property: Knights Inn San Bernardino
Address: 1150 S E St, San Bernardino, CA 92408-1915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn San Bernardino 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knights Inn San Bernardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Hotel San Bernardino
San Bernardino Knights Inn
Knights Inn San Bernardino California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing