We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fastastic hotel, loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fastastic hotel, loved it”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Great place- such a respite from a week of traveling. Everything was perfect, was able to get a great price off of Hotwire.com. Comfortable bed, decent breakfast, computer access, nice spa. Location was very close to the airport, which was a plus to us. I appreciated the Tazo teas.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    138
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
102
200
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The decor of this hotel is beautifully elegant, but always with a casual, calming feel. We loved all of the unique touches throughout the hotel. The bed is definitely soft, not firm and you're treated with plenty of big, fluffy pillows.

For practical purposes, I would make a few minor suggestions: 1) Lighting in the bathroom should be stronger - it is hard to see when in the shower due to where the light is placed; 2) a waste basket should be placed near the sink (which is outside the bathroom); 3) the milk pitcher at the continental breakfast should be placed in a bowl of ice. Warm milk on cereal is not very pleasant.

The staff were very friendly and overall we love this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebramky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Very comfy airport hotel, complimentary taxi service to and from airport, breakfast included.
Lovely rooms, decor is great, nothing much around in the neighborhood, but we only stayed to be by the airport. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This is a great hotel to stay at if you need a good night´s rest close to the airport in San Fransisco. The room was excellent and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The room also offered perculated coffee and had a bar fridge. The decor is very nice and the bathroom superb, It contained a bath and offered top quality toiletries. The only thing about it´s location is that it´s not close to downtown San Fransisco. There is a laundromat and a great bakery around the block. I recommend this hotel if you need to close to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spotteddeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Our family (2 adults & 2 young kids) stayed here for 2 nights on return from a few days at Lake Tahoe. On arrival we were checked in quickly by 2 friendly gentlemen. The room at the back of the hotel was roomy and quiet for us. Car parking was under the hotel. It is a quaint hotel which has it own character unlike the chain hotels. The breakfast was good and adequate; don't expect a full hot breakfast. There's not much for the kids to do other than use the warm spa. For the kids there is Tanforan Mall close by but there is not much else. All-in-all for a single traveller or couple it is a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJG35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is only about 5 minutes from SFO. The neighborhood en route to the hotel from the airport looked a little scary to us, to be honest. We were a bit nervous as to what we would find upon arriving at the hotel, after passing run down buildings and questionable looking people on the street. To our relief, the Villa Montes turned out to be a very nice little hotel.

Our room was very clean and elegantly furnished. The small underground garage is free, but we wondered if there were enough parking spaces if the hotel was full. The first night (a Saturday) we took the last available space.

We also noticed some airport noise (planes landing), but soon discovered that it was because the window was open slightly. So, after getting to your room, make sure to close the window, which I think they leave open to keep the room fresh. After closing the window we didn't hear anything the rest of the night, which was great.

The pool is small, but elegant, like everything else in the hotel. The breakfast is normal fare (similar to a Hampton, but without the eggs and breakfast meats). In the evenings there are free cookies at the front desk. My husband said he saw free glasses of wine too. We asked the front desk how old the hotel was, and it was built four years ago.

Driving from San Bruno to San Francisco is easy, though about 20 minutes duration (approx 13 miles). We noticed that leaving the hotel and heading towards San Francisco, the neighborhood looked gentrified - there was a Barnes and Noble, JC Penney, and Applebees, all newly built, it looked like. So, the poor neighborhood seemed to be relegated to the stretch from the airport to the hotel, much to our relief.

Overall, it was a very good stay. Both nights we had dinner in San Francisco, so I can't really comment about the restaurants nearby. I did have a great nights' sleep and a good breakfast the next morning, but I might not choose to stay here again, simply because of the distance from San Francisco. Others might not think it too far, however.

Room Tip: Make sure to close the window after getting to your room. I think they normally leave them open a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmont, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Half an hour drive from San Fran or a few blocks from the BARD station. SUPER CHEAP, I couldn't believe it, worth the drive. Wdie variety at free breakfast. Free room upgrade after we booked online, can't remember which site. Only down side was no pool but a nice tranquility spa (a big hot tub and a sauna).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.3 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#3 of 13 in San Bruno
673 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
987 reviews
2.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-3530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing