We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient location, clean room”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Comfy and clean, a couple of ants in the bathroom, cool spa, typical breakfast. I didn't report the ants because it was only one night stay and it didn't really bother me since there were so few and they were isolated to one part of the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d_riddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    138
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
104
200
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Canada, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife and I were escaping the cold tundra of Minnesota and we happened upon the Villa Montes. This boutique hotel is tastefully decorated, impeccably clean, and staffed by people that seem to enjoy surpassing your expectations. The rooms are quiet, the beds are inviting, the sauna is hot. Don't expect a pool for the little ones - this hotel is geared for the travelers that wish to get away from the Holiday Inn/Marriott chain scene.

From the unique shuttle service (specific taxi companies that have an arrangement with the hotel), to the jacuzzi's color-changing lights, the Villa Montes will surprise you. Walk past the ever-present IHOP and there's some fantastic ethnic eateries along San Mateo Ave (3 blocks away). We spent time walking, window shopping and people watching.

This is the only hotel we will be staying in the next time we're visiting the bay area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairway F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We made reservations at this hotel before flying out of SFO, and we're delighted that we did. We are EXTREMELY impressed with this hotel and the amenities provided. We were greeted with a pleasant greeting and a smile by the check-in desk clerk who was both pleasant and efficient. The room had every amenity we could expect, including a heavy after-bath robe. The room was clean and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The wi-fi is free and fast. Most of the hotel amenities are complimentary, and that includes underground parking. The only negative is that there is a bit of airplane noise from time to time due to the location by SFO. We're very happy, and would come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Although returning for our fourth visit to the hotel, and asking for consideration, we were ruthlessly gouged during the Oracle Convention and race, $249 before taxes. We arrived an hour early and were given a substitute room, more a walk in closet than a room for two. The air conditioner did not work. The compressor did not function, only the fan ran, and no amount of advice from the desk staff or research on the web, scrutinizing the air conditioner's manual, would make it cool. Instead, we had to open the window onto the noisy, busy street, and sweat out the long night, serenaded by ambulances, low riders and motorcycle races. After the stay, we corresponded with the hotel group about the matter and were promised a response within 24 hours, which never came. They take whatever they can get, promise anything, and willingly, indifferently leave their patrons stung. The attitude is that if you do not want to be gouged, plenty of others are ready to pay it. You may pay for quality but that does not mean that you will get it. Beware!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludington, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

If you are meeting with Walmart.com this hotel is very convenient. Small, intimate, not full service but very clean, safe and comfortable. Not extravagant but very nice. Free wine and snacks in the evening and a free continental breakfast. Only 15 minutes from SFO.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MIRoadWarrior42416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel was an upmarket establishment with lovely rooms, underground parking and easy access. The hotel offers far better value than many of the accommodation options closer to and in San Francisco. The hotel exceeded our expectations.
It has easy access to some good shopping centres, many of which had excellent sales on, plus some good restaurants.
There are local shops and a large laundry within easy walking distance.
There is an excellent car wash, all the work is done by hand. They clean inside the car and the windows, and maybe the rental companies should be using them as the inside of our car's windows had probably never been cleaned.
There are two train stations, serving different train routes, within walking distance. However take care to go to the correct station. We ended up in the wrong side of San Francisco and had a long walk to get to Fisherman's Wharf!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel is amazing! I loved every day of my stay here! The staff (expecially Taylor) were extremely nice! The beds are comfortable and the rooms are a decent size! The bathroom is so clean and the soap and lotions are from bath and body works & they smell so good :)

If you stay here (or anywhere in San Bruno), PLEASE go to Don Picos. It's a mom & pop mexican restuarant and it is DELICIOUS! And the prices are extremely reasonable. I cannot wait to come back to Cali-- that will be my first stop!

Hope this helped :)

Room Tip: Make sure you go to the roof top at night. You can see the city and it's beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.3 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#2 of 13 in San Bruno
680 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,002 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-3530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing