We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little hotel near SFO airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights during a recent trip to San Francisco. Overall the experience was very pleasant. Considering the convenience to the airport and to San Francisco the price was very reasonable for what you got. The continental breakfast was decent every morning and room was very clean and well presented. That said, if you are light sleeper you might want to request a room in the back of the hotel away from the main drag. The street noise was constant all night in the first room we were given making it hard to sleep. To the hotels credit, they did move us to the other side of the hotel when we requested and the noise level was much more tolerable there. Considering you are in a city close to everything for the convenience, the noise is to be expected so its hard to knock the hotel for that. The only other thing that was a bit of a disappointment was the room size. Our room seemed a bit small and after adding our luggage to the room, the luggage and the king bed took up the majority of the space. That said, it wasn't so small to make it uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We only stayed here 1 night before an early morning flight out the next day. Wish we could have stayed longer. This hotel is so charming! The decor is not typical hotel. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet.We scheduled a free shuttle to the airport, which arrived right on time. My only complaint is the breakfast the next morning was all cold items. Still, I will absolutely stay here again when flying into or out of SFO.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiftiesGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Minutes from SFO, we decided to book this hotel due to our late night arrival. While the Choice Hotels brand is not considered the top of the line, their Villa Montes Hotel exceeded our expectations. Uniquely designed and with quality linens, this hotel offered friendly 4-star service. We did not indulge in the waterfall spa, but it definitely looked inviting. We would seriously consider staying at other Villa Montes hotels and most likely return to this hotel should we return to the San Francisco area. The airport noise level is noisy, but quiet during the late evening and early morning hours.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PepperNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Everything was good. My only minor gripe would be that the room had a musty smell when we first got there. We opened the windows ant it eventually went away. The staff was great, and the location was good. The hotel seemed too nice for the area it was in. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night to attend the Paul McCartney concert at Candlestick Park. I wish we could have spent more time here. The room was nice, modern, and clean. The hotel lobby and grounds were in excellent shape and while I did not spend any time in the spa, I did go check it out and it looks very relaxing. This is definitely a good place to stay if you need to be near SFO. From our room, we could see the SFO parking garage and planes taking off. Some fly right over the roof of the hotel. We slept very well. There is free underground parking, breakfast, and free wi-fi. I will keep this hotel in mind next time we need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHunter26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked 3 rooms at this beautiful hotel. Not having stayed in San Bruno before, I wasn't sure what to expect, however it was a wonderful stay for all of my family. The rooms were clean, beautifully decorated, and best of all, very comfortable beds as well as wonderful bedding. We felt like we were in a luxury hotel but paid a very reasonable price. The staff, specifically Caleb was exceptional and even offered my husband and I a glass of wine while we waited momentarily for our rooms to be available. The breakfast was perfect for us and everything was great.
I would definitely book rooms at this hotel again! One of our family members took a flight out of SF and the shuttle service was good too!

Room Tip: If you stay on the 2nd floor, you'll have direct access to the great spa area (pool, sauna)... r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_RV_Campers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I booked 2 nights through Hotwire and due to a missed connecting flight I can only stay for the second night, as I will only arrive 24 hrs later. Little did I know when I finally arrived at the hotel, they said that due to no show on the first night, they cancelled my 2nd night stay just like that - without informing me, without calling to check with me. The least they could do is to reach me before cancelling. And so there I was stranded without a hotel. The funny thing is that they said they have to cancel the hotel to give the room (which I have paid for) to another person... Then later they said they actually have another room, but I can't pay hotwire rates. So why did they give my room instead of that empty room to the other person in the first place?

This is the background story only. The worst thing is that the guy on the front desk was utterly impolite and bordering on racism, when he mentioned I can probably go look for a hotel at chinatown. I was a San Bruno and they tell me to go chinatown to look for a hotel?

Ridiculous and racist.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Ad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.3 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#2 of 13 in San Bruno
705 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,039 reviews
2.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-3530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range: £103 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing