We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the crowd”
Review of San Bruno Mountain

Ranked #5 of 64 things to do in San Bruno
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: San Bruno Mountain, with 3,300 acres of undeveloped space, is the largest urban open space in the United States.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Escape the crowd”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Fantastic hiking and scenic experience in the middle of the traffic nightmare of San Francisco. I especially liked the stand of eucalyptus trees, climbing vines included. Why drive when you can walk somewhere for a change? Nobody will cut you off up there on the mountain. Spend a few peaceful hours hiking the Ridgeline Trail.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank boatmisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CA
1 review
“great spot”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

travel is my best interest ,it is one of no bad spot i have been ,it really worth for you to pay a visit ,i would go again if i got time ,anyway ,best spot worth for visiting

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“More than a great view”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Finally had the chance to climb up to San Bruno Mountain. It's definitely a great view, especially on a clear day. It's also a good, short hike that will get your heart pounding and work your lungs and legs. The trail is steep and rocky in places.

Along the way I passed grassy areas and wooded areas. There were some rock outcroppings to look at and play on. The trail along the ridge was surrounded by brush about 4 feet tall. I heard lots of birds, but didn't see many.

I parked at the school on the South side of the park and took the trail from the gate that was close. The school is on Hillside, right behind Sign Hill. The trail is easy to see and easy to stay on. The climb is about 700 feet (according to my GPS) to the ridge and another 300 to the peak. Because the ridge trail goes up and down a little, my overall gain was 1300 feet (round trip). Overall distance was about 3 miles.

At the top I found a large parking area with ONE car. It's amazing to think that a place with such a densely populated surrounding area has very few visitors, even when you can drive all the way to the top. To drive to the top you have to enter from Guadalupe Canyon and pay at the entrance. You can also hike up from that area.

There are a number of trails on this park, so when I go back I'll try another one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Peaceful walk”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Great views, nice walking path to a bluff. Easy to find. Great place for dogs, biking and hiking. Easy to park.

Helpful?
Thank MynorAragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Great view of the bay”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

You get a good view of the S.F.Bay from up here just off Guadelupe Pkwy.between Daly City & Brisbane.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Bruno Mountain also viewed

 

Been to San Bruno Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing