We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super time at the super 8”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Super time at the super 8”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The building is very plain on the outside, but don't let that fool you. The manager was very good in correcting a mistake I made in the reservations and I was very grateful. The room is very clean, quite modest and clean. There was a fair amount of light leakage around the door and window, but that was a minor issue. The breakfast room is tiny and breakfast is very humble but we understood what we were purchasing by staying at this room. The manager directed us to a couple of neighborhood restaurants (don Pico's next door) and that was a good tip. We didn't use the airport shuttle, as we had a rental car. The parking is a little tight, but nothing like some of the other hotels we stayed at. Would recommend this place to friends and family, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on the third floor, facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prativ P, General Manager at Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad you had a super time at our Super 8. I am pleased that we were able to answer your questions and take care of your needs. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    498
    172
    28
    16
See reviews for
305
422
112
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The staff was friendly, the room was clean. My only issue was that the curtains didn't darken the room. Great value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank bfcfopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prativ P, General Manager at Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank for your recent stay at our hotel. We thank you for your kind words. We are glad you liked our Super 8. For the drapes we do have black our drape. Thanks for your comments and we would love to see you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is not a review, just a question. After reviewing the amenities (free shuttle to the airport, clean and good breakfast),, I'm wondering if it makes sense to stay here for our week's vacation and go into the city via the BART -I was told that the shuttle goes to and from the airport frequently and the BART stops at the airport.When we visited Pittsburg, we stayed a little outside of the city and used their shuttle to tour the city - the hotel was a good price and we didn't have to use our car during our vacation. Any thoughts? Thanks.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimmy0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prativ P, General Manager at Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your question. Sure you can take public transportation such as BART as well as Caltrain to visit San Francisco. If you have car you can park your car at the BART station which is located about 1.2 miles from the hotel and take the BART to San Francisco. If you do not have a car you can use our shuttle service to the airport and take BART from the airport. Alternatively you can use the Caltrain which is 10 min walking distance from the hotel. Thanks again for asking a wonderful question.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We read many reviews on the Super 8, and how it's curb appeal can be a bit off-putting but it is a fine place to stay for the night, especially if you don't want to incur the higher rates of other area hotels. So, we went in with an open mind, and really just needing a less expensive place to sleep for one night before heading off to Napa Valley. We checked in around 11pm after flying into SFO, and it was very close to the airport and we were promptly checked in and went right to the room, which was Room 206. It was right next to the elevator, so the door was set back from the hallway, shortening the room and putting the bathroom off to the back side. The bathroom was huge, but there was no shower...just a Jacuzzi tube and a shower wand attached to the wall at about chest level. We called the front desk to get a room with a normal shower and were told they were booked with no other room options. The next morning was a very awkward "shower" where you had to straddle over the huge counter to get into the Jacuzzi, and then either limbo to get under the shower wand, or use it as a wand and not have a normal shower head above you to rinse off. And, there was no shower curtain or privacy if you wanted to shower while someone else were to brush their teeth, etc. Uncomfortable. I would feel awful if an older couple were in the room and had to maneuver into that "shower"...they probably would have hurt themselves or fallen...not appropriate to not advertise this detail upon booking or check-in. In the end, we slept fine, the complimentary breakfast was good, but the overall room's shower situation made us uncomfortable. Also, I would have never used that Jacuzzi as an actual Jacuzzi...the walls were dirty, and it just didn't seem like an updated space. If I had it to do over again, I'd probably spend a bit more money to have a more comfortable stay and a normal, expected shower.

Room Tip: Do not choose Room 206, and clarify up front if your room has a regular shower with a standard heigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prativ P, General Manager at Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit at our hotel. I am sorry to see that your stay was below average. I am very sorry we could not change your room as the hotel was completely booked. We have this room where we have jacuzzi inside the bathroom. We understand the uneasiness of using the bathtub and the shower handle. In near future we will take your suggestion while remodeling the bathroom. We appreciate your business and hope we can serve you better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

An excellent place to crash for the night, perhaps before or after a flight.

Super 8 offers a free airport shuttle to and from SFO AND free breakfast, enough to let you start the day on the right foot.

The room was humble but impeccably clean, an excellent value for the price. I don't know about everybody else but... I got a jacuzzi in my room!! (Queen, not a suite) And it was super clean too. The laminated channel guide has a special place in my heart, details like that make me smile.

Manager was really helpful and friendly. The neighborhood is okay, not great but not scary either, see pictures.

What more can you ask?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prativ P, General Manager at Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you liked our hotel especially our jacuzzi room and our laminated tv guide.We appreciate your business and we would love to see you in future. Thanks again for taking your time and providing your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#3 of 13 in San Bruno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
1.0 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.6 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West

Property: Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
Address: 421 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066 (Formerly Cal West Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Bruno
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Bruno
#3 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Bruno/Sf Intl Arpt w Hotel San Bruno
Super Eight San Bruno
San Bruno Super 8
San Bruno Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing