We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    486
    169
    27
    15
See reviews for
295
414
108
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this place for 6 nights so we can explore around San Francisco. The hotel was very clean and very updated. Bathrooms were great size and the room alone was very spacious with 2 queen beds. Free breakfast: waffles, fruits, juice, the basic things, between 6am-9am. The location isnt far from your basic places (pier 39, westfield mall, seramonte mall, etc) this place even has a walgreens next door! Lots of great places around to eat too. Less than 5 miles away from the SF INTL airport too so we were able to get extra sleep without having to fight traffic in the morning to get there. They also provide airport shuttle service too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_8o8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the San Francisco area. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and I had no problems getting around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We mainly chose this hotel because it was close to the airport where we had to return our rental car and had a flight out. The room was excellent and it was the biggest surprise; very large, modern looking and clean. The breakfast was ok, but typically American with just about everything sugary and bad for your health. You can make your own waffles which was nice. I'd prefer if there was more fruit besides the bananas and maybe some plain low-sugar cereals.

The staff at the reception is a hit or miss. One guy was very friendly, the women on the first day quite the opposite and the third one was somewhere in between.

It can be hard to find a parking spot at night when everyone is back at the hotel. Proximity to the airport is negligible because we never heard any airplanes at night.

Using public transport to travel to SF is a bit of a pain. You have to walk for about 15 minutes through San Bruno (which is a bit shady) to the nearest Caltrain station and then it is another 30 or so minutes to downtown station. A daypass for the train costs $6, because the hotel is luckily inside Zone 1 (cheapest). Weekend schedule is terrible, I think the last train leaves at about 9pm, which makes you feel like a little kid that has to go to bed early. We were told that BART (subway alternative) takes longer to arrive and is more dangerous at night. After arriving at the last station, you're looking at another 15-20 minutes walking to downtown. All in all, a good hour of travelling to get from the hotel to downtown and then another hour to get back. We were quite disappointed, because we heard SF has one of the best public transits in the US, but it felt far from it. It was way better in Seattle or Vancouver for example, where you buy just one ticket and you can use it on all forms of travel, as opposed to just the Caltrain in SF and then you have to buy another ticket for bus or whatever you want.

Going back to the hotel, we were allowed to keep our bags in their maintenance room, because we had a late flight and had to check out before. We used their airport shuttle twice and had no complaints, it's about 15 minutes ride in one direction.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drumknott3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The place is old, the room could hardly accomodate the 5 of us. Breakfast was the minimal continental type, nothing more. The staff was polite. We stayed for 3 nights while visiting S.F. with a car, and the location was ok.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NuritGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prativ P, General Manager at Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry if you felt our hotel to be old. We constantly update our hotel based on the feedback. The room is only accommodate up to 4 persons. The fifth person could be hard to fit in the room. We appreciate your business and hope we can serve you better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a king and it was nicely decorated & spacious. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean. The One elevator was cramped as was the breakfast room, though they had a nice selection. I noticed the airport shuttle on many occasions. The price was reasonable for the area. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bionicgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prativ P, General Manager at Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad your stay was comfortable. We thank you for your business and hope we can see you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#3 of 13 in San Bruno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
1.0 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West

Property: Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
Address: 421 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066 (Formerly Cal West Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Bruno
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Bruno
#3 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Bruno/Sf Intl Arpt w Hotel San Bruno
Super Eight San Bruno
San Bruno Super 8
San Bruno Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing