We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Airport hotel near San Francisco that's real value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Airport hotel near San Francisco that's real value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

As an airport hotel, location is the primary aim combined with a clean, safe, & value for money.  Free Internet, basic continental break, & free parking close to the return car rental center at San Francisco Airport complex.  Lots of places to eat nearby.  We paid $84 for 2x double beds, so if you're not after plush hotel & just need a place to stay until you fly out, then is hotel is for you. Finally, did I mention a free shuttle TO the airport?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard Rico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    271
    121
    35
    21
See reviews for
232
193
57
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Clean and relatively cheap
Centrally located on El Camino Real - easy to go to SFO and San Mateo

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saiku88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We only stayed at this hotel one night in between flights.We chose this hotel based on the location and free shuttle to/from the airport, The hotel was clean, bed was comfy, staff was polite and the shuttle left on time in the morning for our 6am flight. I have no complaints

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandKtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euless
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great place! they treat you like family. It is a fairly new hotel, so it is clean, well situated. We were able to walk to eat Chinesse, Filipino, Mexican, Rib bar-b-q, Brazilian, home made food, fast food, and more, within walking distance, Citibank/Bank of America, pharmacy and more, close by, all between 5 minutes walking. Downtown San Bruno also within 5 minutes. You will get a fair continental breakfast, no parking fees, no internet fees. In addition, you have a microwave and small refri in your room and free shuttle to/from the SFO airport.

Room Tip: Since it is situated on the front of El Camino Real Road, you may want to ask for a room on the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasPTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I have stay on this hotel for the 5th times during few years on my vacation. I just recently stay for a week on my vacation with the family. I was so disappointed during this time. The first room i check in RM308 smoke detector keeps beeping, exchange a different RM 315 the vent keep knocking all night, went to the front desk advise them about the condition they refuse to change a room and no manager on duty during my week staying. Front desk has a nasty attitude toward customer. Room is descent. Definitely wont come back to this hotel again with my family.

Room Tip: If you really have to stay in this hotel, I recommend to stay on 3rd floor due to Breakfast area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chichala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We needed a hotel for an overnight stay between flights. We chose this for location, price, and the fact that they provide a shuttle to the airport.

We arrived in the morning, and the shuttle pickup was quick. When we arrived, a room was available. We checked in and then used the shuttle to go back to the airport to catch the BART into the city. After a day of sightseeing, we took BART back to the airport. We got back to the airport during rush hour, so the shuttle pickup was slow. But that was due to traffic; it wasn't the hotel's fault. If you can time your use of the shuttle to avoid rush hour, it will go faster. Another review commented on the rooms at the back near some houses. We had one of those rooms, but it didn't matter. We close the drapes at night anyhow.The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom had been updated recently. A nice touch was the use of a local source (from San Francisco) for bathroom toiletries.

The room had a cube fridge, a microwave, and a coffee maker. We only used the coffee maker, but for a longer stay the other appliances would come in handy. The continental breakfast was good.

If I had to list negatives, I would say that the room was a bit short of furniture. It was a large room, with space for a small table and chairs or an armchair, but neither of these was there. That's the only minus I can think of.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy49NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Convenient to the airport. We were looking for a place to stay one night to catch an early flight back to Texas. We did not have a car so the airport shuttle was very important to us. We had a room with 2 queen size beds. My husband loves Columbia coffee and there was a coffee maker in the room that he could make coffee as he wanted. They were very generous and provided more when he had consumed the 3 packets in the room when we checked in. The staff were all friendly and very courteous. The room and all of the common areas were very clean and up to date. With the security cameras on site, we felt very safe. The room was also very quiet. Would stay here again if we were in this area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.7 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Property: Hotel Aura San Bruno
Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing