We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cow Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    280
    124
    35
    22
See reviews for
240
201
59
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Chose this hotel as wanted something close to airport but with a bit of privacy/segregation for the kids in the same room for our very brief stay before heading to next destination 14 hours later after a long flight (but not wanting pay through the roof for such a short time by getting interconnecting rooms). To be fair we had had the flight from hell, and were all tired, seemed to wait forever for shuttle to arrive, my husband took care of our exhausted 2 yr old and 4yr old while I wheeled all our luggage to the back of van - driver stood there and did not help at all while he watched me struggle to put the bags in and epecting a tip for his non effort, and after a long flight and waiting around it seemed to take forever to get to the hotel. On arrival the young man on reception and I did not hit it off...I asked simple questions, he was defensive, saying had not received any e mails from me re my bedding requests, when they had replied on other matters...but no biggie just did not get that "welcoming feeling" The room itself was OK...but the pull out sofa for kids was right next to our bed, not around the corner as per website photos which is why I had chosen this place so the kids could go straight to sleep while we got things organised for next day, and once sofa was down was not easy to get past it to go to bathroom etc. Once I got over this, we managed to get a good sleep, whilst basic is served its purpose in the end of getting a good nights sleep. Breakfast the next morning was better than anticipated - including fruits/cereals/yoghurts rather than the anticipated muffins and bagels only!

Room Tip: If wanting a room with sofa bed around corner for kids etc, ensure you request one as per website ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry your stay was less than satisfying. I am sorry that we did not have a room layout as you expected. I am sorry to see that you had to go through the trouble with the shuttle ride. I will take this matter with the shuttle company and make sure it does not happen again. We thank you for your business and hope you can give us another chance. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a King room that was huge, over 350 SF. Couch in sitting area with a desk. Microwave and small fridge. Tall ceilings. We were on the street side but it wasn't that loud. Area looks a bit sketchy. Parking is tight. Airport shuttle runs every hour, stops at several places. We had an early flight so no review of the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review regarding your stay at our hotel and giving us the highest ratings for your stay. I am glad you like the huge room. We really appreciate your business and hope we can see you in future. If you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
279 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Location
About 15 minutes drive from SFO airport- there is a free shuttle on request all times prior to midnight ( I think- look at their helpful website). CAL train station is 7 minutes walk and BART is around 30 minutes walk through a large mall- quite a walk from Hotel. Hotel is located quite far along El Camino Real- opposite is a mexican bar/restaurant, a liquor store, a couple of Sushi places and some gas stations.
Room
Room was very spacious- two large double beds with a large Sanyo Flat screen TV offering full cable TV. There is also quite a large (in hotel standards) refrigerator and microwave on top with a small coffee machine. There is also a desk to work on and some lamps and plugs all US (but they offer adaptors at reception if required). There is also a ironing board, safe and alarm clock. The bathroom offers a shower/bath combo, again spacious and clean and worked well. Amenities included shampoo, conditioner and body lotion- all local brands. Room decor is typical American conservative (bit dull) but still room was very clean and in adequate condition offer a basic degree of functionality. Its no frills but slept very well for one night in between flights.
Facilities
WIFI comes with room, secure password - very fast and can use multiple devices. Other facilities include a basic breakfast area that include two cereals, some muffins, bagel, bread and a toaster. there is also a yogurt and coffee machine- all complimentary. There is some vending machines around the hotel as well.
Staff
Staff are really nice and flexible at this hotel- arrived two hours early and was able to check-in then as well as one hour later. They seem really helpful with train/subway directions and advice clearly.
Overall if your staying just for one night for flights and don't plan to go to San Fran downtown then perfect- however I will probably stay a little closer to the subway as the walk is quite long to BART station. However the staff are lovely and room is nice and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We are very pleased to read your comments about our rooms, transportation, and ammenities. We are glad to know your overall experience was positive and comfortable. We will continue to make outstanding efforts in maintaining a clean, comfortable and inviting environment for our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Howard Johnson upon your next visit to the Bay Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We arrived in San Francisco after 11:00pm, so decided to stay at an airport hotel and get our rental car the following morning. This hotel was very clean and the bathroom was very modern. Both the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The only negative was that there weren't enough tables in the eating area. When we came to eat at 8:30am, there were no tables and so we had to take our food to our room. There were singles sitting at tables for four. There were only about 9 tables, located in a small area. It would be a good idea if they had a long counter against the wall that could have bar stools for people to sit at. That would provide more seating. That was the only negative. The breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We really appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and look forward to your next visit. We will definitely take your suggestion regarding the breakfast into consideration. If you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We chose this hotel because it was close to the airport and we were arriving late at night and needed a place to stay for one night. The price was around $200.00 a night so we expected something decent. This was probably the worse hotel we have ever stayed. The underground parking was creepy and the hotel was run down and old. The hallway seemed more like an older apartment building than a hotel. The room had a lingering distinctive odor to it that did not go away. But probably the worse part of anything were the beds and the pillows. My daughter said we should have just slept in the car and I have to agree with her. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane68Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and giving us your feedback. We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was less than satisfying. We had just changed the carpets in all our rooms and our hallways and I am very sorry to see that you felt it to be old and rundown. We have also updated our TV's to 40 " LCD and we are constantly working towards improving our product to provide excellent product and service to our customers. We also have changed all our mattresses in our King beds and very soon we will be changing for our queen beds as well. The price do vary according to the events during the season. We try to give value and be competitive rates among the hotels around us. Thanks again for your comments and we will work even harder to earn your business in future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.7 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Property: Hotel Aura San Bruno
Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing