We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 out of 5!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“4 out of 5!”
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This is a nice hotel. Very clean and spacious room & bathroom. Fridge/coffee machine/safety deposit box provided in the room. It's a 4 out of 5 from us! Free wifi and breakfast included (bagels, muffins, toast, cereal, boiled eggs, tea/coffee/juice, fruit). The only let down was there are not enough tables and other guests sat around talking after they've finished eating, meaning we had to eat our breakfast in our room.
Parking is located on two levels underneath the hotel. I believe they provide free shuttle to/from the airport.
There is a shopping malls near by (5 mins drive) which is pretty good, as well as BART station.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    277
    124
    35
    21
See reviews for
236
199
57
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
180 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed here for one night, arrivng from SJ around 10PM and leaving SFO on a 6AM flight. So we missed their breakfast, but caught the first complimentary shuttle. The room was large and quiet, the bed comfortable. Ideal for a stopover near the airport. If a stopover was needed again in SFO, this would be our place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdwood2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinconning, Michigan
Level Contributor
356 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I stayed at this hotel because it was close to the San Francisco Airport and because it was one of the less expensive options nearby. The hotel was very nice. It was clean and the front desk staff was very helpful. Parking was free, which was very nice. There was wireless internet, though it may have been rather weak. While it's nearby the airport, it's not too noisy. Overall, it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOJO, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
Thank you so much for your sincerely and thoughtful comments. I'm so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and that our hotel more than just suited your needs. In response to your comment about the wireless connectivity; an issue was found on the side of our T1 line provider and they have since rectified the matter. Thank you for alerting to this issue, we really rely on our guests to let us know when little problems like this arise so that we can take immediate steps to correct the matter.

I hope we have the chance to host you again if you ever find yourself out this way and in need of a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

My colleague unfortunately booked a hotel for my trip as she had the company credit card. Unbeknownst to her she was booking the hotel 80 miles away from where I was going to be working. So she called expedia and explained the situation. Expedia said we had to get the cancellation approved by the hotel manager. When I called the hotel manager he wouldn't cancel the reservation until I sent him a fax on company letter head saying why the hotel needed to be cancelled. I printed an itinerary for this trip but it wasn't enough. It had the wrong name on the letter. I explained that my colleague was supposed to go but she couldn't so I was going in her place. I explained and explained. It was unbelieveable the hoops I was having to jump through to try to get this hotel cancelled.
Jonathon the hotel manager refused to work with me and just continued to tell me he couldn't cancel that he didn't have enough proof. When I finally broke down and asked to him to just split the difference he said ok. OK?! You mean all this time you COULD cancel the reservation with over a weeks notice but chose not to??? Unbelieveable!!!!
DO NOT USE HOWARD JOHNSON. WHAT A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE THIS HAS BEEN!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoJoSUCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHOJO, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
Travelers please be advised that the guest writing this review did book a non-cancelable and non-refundable reservation.

When making reservations online through a third party reservation site like Expedia, it's important to read all of the terms and conditions at the time of booking and then make the conscious, intelligent decision to agree to those terms and conditions. If you make a mistake during the booking process, contact that third party provider immediately for assistance in correcting the error, not several days later as was the case in this matter. Also, if you book your reservation directly through the hotel you stand a much better chance of having a more flexible cancellation policy and you can also get a better price.

In this matter the guest booked a non-cancelable, non-refundable reservation for herself. When she realized her error in booking what she claimed was the wrong city, she contacted Expedia and then the hotel directly to get the reservation cancelled. When she contacted the hotel she claimed to be a supervisor, that the reservation was under the supervisor's name and that she would be working in Sacramento and not in San Francisco (there is a 92 mile difference between San Francisco and Sacramento, getting the two major cities confused is difficult to believe to say the least). She was asked for an itinerary or some sort of proof that she would not be working in the SF area so that the hotel would be better inclined to allow the cancellation. She submitted an itinerary with the name of the person she claimed to be but that did not match the name on the reservation. She was told that the hotel would need to be contacted by the person who's name appeared on the reservation. At this point she fumbled her story and uncovered herself as not being the supervisor she was claiming to be.

Moments later she again called the hotel, this time claiming to be the person who's name appeared on the reservation. She stated that she went through the previous pretense so as not to involve her supervisor in the attempt to correct her mistake and to keep herself out of trouble. She was again asked for some sort of proof that she would be working in Sacramento and she stated that there was no email or memo to this affect; she claimed that it was a verbal directive. It was at this time that she offered a compromise to stay for two nights if we would refund the other two. For the sake of ending the conversation with a now hysterical woman, I agreed to the compromise and we ended the call with her seeming to be satisfied.

Travelers, if you ever find yourself in a situation where for some reason you need to cancel a reservation that you booked as non-cancelable and non-refundable it's always best to be honest and upfront when contacting the third party provider and/or the hotel. Also, you would fare much better by booking your reservations directly with the hotel because it would afford you a much more lenient cancellation policy and usually you can get a better rate. But the moral to this story---in the above matter honesty would have been the best policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

In S.F. we usually stay on Lombard but we are so tired of traffic noise all night so we went looking south of the city and were pleased with our find. The neighborhood is not spectacular and the parking garage is not very big nor can it be seen from the front desk(set your alarm) but it was blessedly quiet. Judging from the fire exit map, we had one of the smaller rooms but it was perfectly adequate for our family. From the map we could see that the rooms are in strange configurations so don't be surprised at a unique room shape. The beds were comfortable and the room clean but for some reason there were only towels for three people. The breakfast area is in an atrium area on the 2nd floor so ask for a room on the first or third floor (away from the center). It wasn't that the people were loud, it was the TV that was loud. We heard talking from the room next to us but they stopped at 10pm and we never heard another noise all night long. If I was staying in the city for more than one night, I would gladly make this my home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momwnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My cousin and I needed a one night stay close to SFO so we could get our rental car in the morning. A free 15 minute shuttle ride and we were there. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and had a refrigerator. Beds were excellent. For less than $70 per night, this was a fantastic value!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CROTHERSVILLE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

This was one of the more reasonable hotels we stayed in and was a pleasant surprise. The room was much larger than we'd expected. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I appreciated the fresh apples which were available for snacking - - delicious!
Continental breakfast was ok. Room was clean and bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4hisgloryalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.7 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Property: Hotel Aura San Bruno
Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing