We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese Value”

Aji Ichi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 154 Restaurants in San Bruno
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
200 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Value”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Bar none, best Japanese dinner I have had for the price. I ordered the small sushi combo while my husband had the combo dinner with cooked to order beef teriyaki + sashImi, plus an appetizer of agadashi tofu and we split a large beer. Tea and edamame were complimentary.

My mixed sushi was varied and fresh and came with what tasted like house made pickled ginger, not the stuff in a jar. His dinner came with very nice white miso soup, pickles, rice and salad (salad a skip honestly), but the beef was cooked med-rare as he asked, and their was more than we'd expected.

Total bill was just over $40 for both of us, with drinks, and we were stuffed on better food than we can find anywhere back in Humboldt County. I also have to mention that the service was very good and friendly. I will come back for sure, in fact, it is going to make it hard to return to my local spots for Sushi now that I am reminded of how good it should be.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mysteryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The BEST Bento Box”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I work near the airport and have been going to Aji Ichi for YEARS! It's been the same owners and the same great food and service all along!

I always order the Bento Box. Unlike other Japanese restaurants, they cook your Teriyaki Beef to order. Their portions are plentiful and I've NEVER been disappointed.

The restaurant is clean and street parking is available.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyMom888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great owners”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Same owners for 24 years. Jae, who is from Japan, and her husband from Hawaii, take great pride in serving up super high quality food in a very down to earth, neighborhood restaurant. Homemade salad dressing, 100% real crab in the sushi rolls, and tender quality fish made for an outstanding meal. To boost, this little gem of a restaurant is inexpensive, but don't let that fool you. It's not very often we have a dining experience where the owners are so personally involved, and they made us feel like family. Don't go anywhere else if your in the area!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Californiascubadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Grove, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent choice !”
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

No artificial crab here. Authentic Japanese cusine ! Great friendly service. You can't go wrong here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ojodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Grove, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent family run Japanese Restaurant”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

My friends greet me like family and provide authentic Japanese food. The sardines are a favorite and when they have the Ankimo is a delight!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ojodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aji Ichi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
South San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Aji Ichi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing