We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep-yes, family fun-no”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sleep-yes, family fun-no”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. All in all a nice place to stay but there is nothing to do in the area in forms of entertainment. No Pool. No fitness area. They do provide continental breakfast of the limited variety. Small place in quiet neighborhood on a main street. Very close to airport. Choose this location for that reason and that they offer free parking. Check out parking at other locations and you can pay upwards of $30 a night....Really? Gateway gives you the feel of security with parking and lobby. Fenced in parking right under hotel. Actually parking is on street level and room floors begin at 2. Limited parking spaces and some are tight to get into. We had a Chevy Tahoe and didn't feel comfortable maneuvering into parking spot but Hotel offers a few spaces located behind fenced in area in alley way but at no time did we feel unsafe about parking there. Neighborhood seems clean and very welcoming. To get to rooms you have to enter in through small lobby and take elevator up to room floors. So you will be seen by desk attendant. Only 2 floors.
Rooms are just that. Nice enough and mostly quiet. Loud toilet flush. And though our room was facing a side street we heard no traffic noise. But we did have a gas station/car wash on our side and when the air dryer for the car wash gets activated that alone was enough to wake the dead. But the station/car wash is only open during business hours. Beds were on the hard side. Room had micro and fridge.
Rooms could use some TLC...Paint touch up(walls had numerous nicks and scuff marks and steel bathroom door frame had lots of rust).

<Safety alert>
The tub in the bathroom is set higher than floor level so you need to step up into tub but coming out is quite a step down so if you are not use to it, it can take you by surprise and you may as we did almost fall out as you step down for the floor.

Nice enough neighborhood that wife and I went on a 3 mile walk and enjoyed ourselves. A block away is a business street with a Starbucks and numerous stores and eateries of many different ethnic choices. A Walgreens is 3 blocks away and a IHOP is 2 blocks away as is a Wendys (I must say we ate there on the night we checked in late and I had the best cheeseburger I ever had from a Wendys. It was so fresh and juicy...Yum)
Freeway access is near but not of your On/Off variety. Drive to San Fran is 20min. So bottom line is nice hotel for the money with free parking, friendly staff and nice location.

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms are like but if you don't want to be awoken early choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrome61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    65
    37
    12
    20
See reviews for
29
64
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed here a while back following my arrival in San Fran late at night (1am) on a flight from the east coast. The location is convenient, only a short but expensive cab ride (20 bucks for an 8 minute ride) from SFO. The night clerk was very helpful, and when I got to my room the TV wasnt working but they fixed that right away (at 2 am), a pleasant surprise. The bed was okay, sheets are a bit worn and mattress was a bit lumpy, but for the price its a quiet clean place to stay.

The location in San Bruno is okay, not too far from a big shopping centre and IHOP for breakfast. That said, the area is most definitely suburban, and not ideal for a long term stay in San Francisco. However, for the price, and the circumstances, this place would also be great for catching an early morning flight (complimentary shuttle) to SFO.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

When writing these review thingys, I really try to be objective and give the benefit of any doubt. Having worked in the hospitality/hotel industry myself, I am sensitive to accommodating the guest with what they requested and what they are paying for as well as providing "above and beyond the call of duty" in terms of service, whenever possible. Put differently, if I was a secret shopper, this property would have gotten a much worse review, so on we go.

Pros: Wifi worked perfectly without a hitch. Can't say that about most places. Parking was secured and well lit, and free. A plus. Check in was quick and a breeze. Had a good night's rest. Shuttle to airport was a plus and service to and from the airport was appreciated. Though the shuttle is only once an hour, there did not seem to be many people lined up on Saturday at 7 am to use the shuttle to the airport. It was just me. Good bay area channel selection for t.v. (direct tv I think)

Cons: Just telling it like it was for me.
More details about check-in. I thought it strange that my credit card was swiped immediately upon check in, was charged for room and tax (not an authorization) and asked to sign. This made me wonder if I would be able to use the phone to make a long distance call to let my family know I had arrived. I know, most people have mobile phones, but I was traveling internationally and did not. Instead my family called me. Okay fine. But I could not dial a toll free 800/877 number! Major disappointment if you need to contact an airline company for assistance.

Next, I selected a King Suite, a King Suite was indicated on my reservation and I was given a King room (not a suite) without a second thought. The King Suite as I understand it is a little larger, comes with a spa bath, and was the purpose for me selecting the room in the first place; it was given to another customer. The clerk also seemed surprised that I had a Suite, --I am pretty certain my name was listed on a handwritten sheet for a King Room, not a Suite. Upon entering the room, specifically the bathroom, I noticed I had been issued a different room than my reservation indicated. I contacted the front desk and was advised that the manager would be contacted. When I tried to call booking.com, (SURPRISE!) I couldn't because the 800/877 toll free function is blocked on the phone. The front desk staff however was able to assist me with this and patched the call through to my room but this was so weird.

There was no explanation how the mistake occurred (I still do not know to this day), and little apology, though I was advised that I would be refunded the difference. This seemed like a slap in the face and was very disappointing. I am afraid the desk staff, though kind and polite, have minimal customer service training; this probably reflects more on management than on staff. A "small" thing such as uniforms (appearance) can make a significant difference in the customer's perception of the employees.

Finally, booking.com contacted the property on my behalf and it seems that the hotel may not have been updating their availability which could mean that was why my Suite was allocated to another guest. I think if upon check in, I was informed that the room I requested was unavailable and there were not able to accommodate my need ---or they were informing me rather being surprised by me informing them---I may have felt differently about the matter. It was clear to me, they did not know (or they knew and didn't want to tell me) and that was a bummer. Eh, I'm over it, (sort of) but it --not having a King Suite room that I reserved, the most expensive room to select from--was a very DISAPPOINTING EXPERIENCE!!! Finding a different hotel would have been no fun at all so late in then evening, so I had to settle. But who wants to just "settle"?

If you have read this far, I would say don't let my misfortunate event steer you too far. Read some of the other comments and make your own decision. Would I stay here again? Hmmm, probably not.

Room Tip: Call ahead to confirm and reconfirm your room type, especially if you selected a King Suite. Failin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harmonyeternal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Bruno hotels

Wash DC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting family in San Bruno. It's plenty clean, but not deluxe or exceptional. The motel has been upgraded, the electric outlets are in weird places that indicate the rooms weren't always the way they are now. Our room needed: a second luggage rack, more towels, a guide to cable TV channels, and directions about controlling the HVAC. There was a wall control but it didn't seem to control the window unit - the only HVAC option. The windows did not open. The front desk staff was friendly and moderately helpful. The motel is security conscious, although I did find a stairwell door propped open - a potential security issue. Parking is covered and attended .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WashDCD_C_Grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Nothing fancy but a very solid hotel conveniently close to SFO. An excellent, reasonably priced place to stay if you're departing at zero dark thirty. Friendly, helpful staff. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had a late-arriving flight from the East Coast and needed a place in the ariport area. We had rented a car and were looking for free parking also. Presto--- Gateway Inn!

Make no mistake: this is a very modest place, and its price (quite reasonable) dictates its amenities (quite modest). There is a modest continental breakfast at which one can have OJ in a wax paper cup, which I haven't seen in years. The soap bars are probably the thinest I've seen. But it's all good, the palce is clean (our bathroon smelled of bleach) and the price/location is right. We were able to ehar our neighbor's quite audible snoring but we're all friends, right?

Room Tip: We were in a room (215?) that direclty abuts the breakfast area. We were getting up early anyway bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ordinarymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington, USA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The reason for my stay there was an overnight to get a good night's sleep on my return from Italy so I could catch a flight to Seattle the next day. I chose it because of the Airport Shuttle--very good, and the breakfast--hardly worthwhile. It was cereal, toast, cheap wrapped sweet rolls, coffee and oj. It was a real let-down after my Italy trip--acceptable, but not great. The bed was very comfortable, but the rest of the room just felt tacky and not very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.2 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#2 of 13 in San Bruno
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport WEST
0.0 mi away
Ramada San Bruno SFO Airport
Ramada San Bruno SFO Airport
#11 of 13 in San Bruno
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel

Property: Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
Address: 516 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-4347
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing