We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Reno,NV
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location great service”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I travel to San Francisco a lot. This inn gives me comfort and quiet and I am 15 minutes from the city. Helpful staff, affordable rates, clean rooms and plenty of space. Parking is close and safe. Many restaurants close by

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drdreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    64
    35
    12
    20
See reviews for
29
61
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very clean and comfortable place to stay near SFO. I stay in this area several times a year and have been tired of paying premium prices for low quality hotels. Check in was easy and the room very clean, quiet and comfortable. Nice parking. I will absolutely stay here again.
The breakfast is spartan, but adequate.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdivarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Spartan at best with single pane windows and no insulation btw rooms made very noisy and unpleasant.

The "Continental Breakfast" was so funny that it provided the only moment levity in an otherwise grim experience. It consisted of a loaf of Wonder Bread, a toaster and tower of some cereal flakes.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank plrPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Bruno hotels

Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

MY wife and I checkec in very late on the night of July 9th, 2014. The check in experience was just fine as was the room.

The next morning our check out was typical and the young man who had been there all night was friendly and courtious. My problem comes with the next desk clerk that came into the hotel lobby. There were six clients in the lobby that had stayed in the hotel overnights. This gentleman came in withno effort being made say goodmorning or to interact with any of us. I also noted that he didn't show any regard for his co-worker. It was all business, no smiles, no hello's, no anything. I can only believe that this man does not like his job.

My wife and I not only enjoy a nice place to stay but a friendly staff, this man doesn't cut it.

I will write more in another review as we stayed at the same hotel several days later.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor, much quieter as the only gathering place is onthe second floor, right outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I chose this hotel because of the location and free parking. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the street noise didn't really bother us. I had a party of five and only two towels were provided for our double queen room. There is only one ice machine for all three floors of this hotel and it was out of order during our stay. It was very hot, and there was no bottled water in the vending machines so we had to find a grocery store to buy a bag of ice and water. These are basics that a hotel should provide. The free breakfast was a disappointment, see my photo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_Jules1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

For a gateway to the airport they don't have scales. The elevator broke in the middle of the night and it would have been ok if I didn't have two heavy pieces of lugguge on the third floor and shuttle to the airport in 10 minutes.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinnchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

In most other aspects the hotel was satisfactory. Clean, decently decorated, and nice staff for a 2 star hotel.

However, being in room 207 and in very close proximity to El Camino Real road; I received little sleep at night. There appeared to be little to no sound insulation on the windows or wall. I heard every vehicle that passed, even the ones that generated road noise from the tires. I would expect that any room in the range #00 - #09 (where # is 2, 3, 4, etc.) would experience the same noise issues. Try to get a room outside these numbers for a better nights rest.

Also, the continental breakfast probably should be called a snack. It consisted of orange juice (more orange flavored drink), two types of cereal: raisin brand and corn flakes, white bread, wheat bread, coffee, and some packaged sugary pastries. It was better than nothing, and I did enjoy the drink and wheat toast.

The shuttle was prompt and quick for hotel transfers. The shuttle is shared with other hotels in the area.

Oh, and although the website doesn't mention it, there is a computer and printer in the lobby if you need to print directions or flight boarding passes. WiFi signal was good.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the lower digits (#00-#08), as these rooms are adjacent to El Camino Real road with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bh64727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.2 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.6 mi away
Ritz Inn
Ritz Inn
#10 of 13 in San Bruno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
0.2 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ramada San Bruno SFO Airport
Ramada San Bruno SFO Airport
#12 of 13 in San Bruno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel

Property: Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
Address: 516 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-4347
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing