We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Close to Airport, but non-descript”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard San Francisco Airport
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
149 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“VERY Close to Airport, but non-descript”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Older Courtyard, which has been modernized from the original construction, but not as modern as newer Courtyards. Rooms are nice enough, but unremarkable. Has a small, but well equipped fitness center and indoor pool. Location is in a non-descript office park, but very close to I-380 and just off El Camino Real. Probably the closest hotel to the San Francisco airport terminal; less than a 10 minute trip. A shuttle is provided, but I didn’t use it. Proximity to airport means that airplane noise is noticeable. Check in was not efficient. Did not eat at the small café. There is a Chile’s just down the street. The Bayhill Shopping center is a few blocks west (walkable or very short drive) and has several restaurants. I ate at the Café Girllades for breakfast and was very pleased with the food, price and service.
BOTTOM LINE: Certainly adequate and an obvious choice if one’s destination is one of the nearby offices. However, there are a plethora of hotels near the airport, so no need to pay a premium for this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    132
    59
    20
    8
See reviews for
66
68
21
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I primarily chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport and the shuttle service. What a nice little gem this was. Our flight connection was cancelled and we had to wait for a flight out the next morning with no luggage. The shuttle service was quick, check in was smooth with a room on the ground floor. We arrived very late, but found some easy food at the Marketplace to hold us until morning. Toothbrushes were available at the front desk. The beds were great, the room was very quiet. Five hours later we were headed back to the airport on the 4:40 am shuttle. The driver was very professional and efficient. This Courtyard was such a nice oasis in our day of airport delays and cancelled flights. Thank you, Marriott!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMusicMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
666 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I remember staying at this property 4 or 5 years ago with our grandchildren and don't recall much about it except that the kids loved the pool. This stay was an overnight prior to an early flight out. First, the shuttle driver was very professional, picked us up promptly and got us quickly to the hotel. It was late, and the grill was officially closed. However, the cook was very gracious and agreed to fix us up with some soup, a sandwich and a quesadilla. That was very much appreciated considering my wife was too under the weather to go across the street to Chili's. This is above and beyond service, and I wish I could remember the cook's name to give him due credit. Front desk staff was also very helpful getting us a room not too far down the hall. Had a great sleep and, although we missed the 0630 shuttle to the airport, the 0700 shuttle driver got us there in about 10 minutes. So, we had no sweat catching our flight home on New Year's Eve. The room was very nice and clean. I've generally been very comfortable on Marriott property beds, and this was certainly no exception. Wi-Fi was great, too. Thank you, Courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaka_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were "bumped" by American Airlines as we were on "standby". Our luggage had been sent so we had only the clothes we stood up in! The Staff found us all the necessities including cables for my cell phone and Kindle. The room was impeccably clean with crisp sheets and bath linen. The outlook from the room on to a tree and shrub garden gave a sense of serenity so near the airport. I wish the food was a little more inspired and less Microowave oriented. Most enjoyable stay after a poor start to our Christmas vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fentumew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

It started badly, and ended well since we got to the airport with their shuttle early in the morning. I think it was the longest walk I can remember to the room, for a one building property. Their lobby had no hot food because of a kitchen issue so we bought a prepared sandwich in their market cafe. It was quite stale. Hotel was old and felt like it used to be something more modest than a marriott. We will never stay here again and would advise against it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cctravelercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night before our flight. Great hotel. Easy to find. Friendly staff. The most comfortable bed of our entire trip! I'd love to know the brand and type of bed and bedding they use. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Quiet and convenient!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trvlgrl0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
391 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I booked this hotel because I had a 6 hour meeting --- and after I booked my room the company I was meeting with decided to hold the meeting at the hotel. I would say this is an upscale Courtyard -- the lobby looked brand new. The check in was flawless and I was put on the 2nd floor (a two floor hotel) with a balcony and courtyard view. Yes, they have a fully functional and beautiful courtyard. I was able to work a bit on the balcony before it got too chilly and then work at a comfortable workstation before bed. The room itself was a standard Courtyard room. It was spotless.

I mentioned in my Title this is at the End of the Runway. It is probably 2 miles from the end of the runway set off by about a mile. I did not find this to be a problem as I could watch planes take off all day and night, but there are rooms that face away from the flightpath. Others may be bothered by this but it is what it is. I do not deduct points because unless you live under a rock airport hotels are located, well, by an airport. Furthermore, booking the hotel on the Marriott web site clearly showed the orientation of the runways to the hotel.

I was initially a bit put off by breakfast (no full menu) but was very happy when I saw what was delivered. There is a small breakfast menu -- oatmeal, some muffins and fruit cups and several breakfast sandwiches. I ordered a healthy start sandwich and was given a real meal between an english muffin.... fluffy egg whites, spinach and a slice of cheese --- delicious, along with a fruit cup. The seating was comfortable.

The meeting room was great and the staff really did a nice job. Most of those at the meeting were from the SFO area but two were from Southern California and I came from across the country. It is a great location for a meeting, especially if people need to get in and out of SFO quickly. Nice Job.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view. If you want to see the planes take off ask for that orientation. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.4 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.7 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#2 of 13 in San Bruno
669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 29 in South San Francisco
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Francisco Airport

Property: Courtyard San Francisco Airport
Address: 1050 Bayhill Dr, San Bruno, CA 94066-3011 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Airport - San Bruno)
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Francisco Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Francisco Airport - San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
Courtyard San Bruno
San Bruno Marriott
San Bruno Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing