We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spacious, old-building style room with basic amenities”
Review of Budget Motel

Budget Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Motel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Interesting stay with no safety issues encountered that I've read in other reviews. This older style motel offered a spacious room and had a high vaulted ceiling with a number of storage spots, some out of reach. VERY large bathroom/hallway, but room could use some new paint, furniture - and a little more cleanliness, bigger refrigerator, etc. But, the decor, left untouched through time reveals a historical and old interesting building. Many may find the room style inappropriate as a motel room, but it served my purpose well. No noise issues to report( noise is often an issue in San Bruno, near the airport) and a very good night sleep. Recommended for budget-minded travelers not fussy about room appearance or lack of a few amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank localtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2008

The worst hotel experience I've ever had...bar none. I should've listened to the previous reviews. For starters, the "concierge" is a tiny front office that is kept locked, I was told for security. One night, a guy broke into the room next to mine and I had to call the police because the "concierge" doesn't pick up the phone after 9pm. It's a family-owned business, so you don't have a "head office" to report to. They're nice people but offer no service other than a place to sleep. I did not feel safe for the 4 nights I was there; a homeless person was picking thru the trash right outside the room the 1st day I arrived. The rooms have direct views to the street, and I was downstairs, so anyone, I mean anyone has access. There's no fence. The bathroom had a large window at the top that adjoins another room (or someplace), and there's no curtain on it. So anyone can climb a chair and watch you as you bathe. The towels are dirty and torn. They don't change your sheets unless you request it. The "concierge" was still asleep at 8 am one morning when I went to knock, and I had to ring several times before someone unlocked the door. Even then, she was wiping sleep from her eyes. Never book such a place if you're a single woman travelling alone. I was so uncomfortable there that I always stayed out sight-seeing until it was time to go to bed, because there was no comfort in my room. I mean basic comfort. The ceilings are unfinished in many rooms, so it gives the feeling of a warehouse-turned-hotel room. I had to change rooms 3 times on the first day I arrived. I had an early start with the shuttle to the airport at 4am, and even though I let them know that the night before, they wouldn't open the door so I could safely wait in the office to watch for the shuttle. I waited an agonising 25 minutes out there in the dark alone...Run for your lives, and find somewhere else to stay!!! It's not worth it...that's why called "Budget" Motel - they're not lying folks! That's why it's the cheapest...there are probably hotels almost as cheap nearby, but better. I only stayed b'cos I didn't know how hard it would be to get my money back from expedia.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oluway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2007

We just returned from a quick weekend trip in San Francisco and found a package deal for a flight and lodging at the Budget Motel in San Bruno California. San Bruno is listed as being approx 15 miles south of San Francisco. Its a bit of a commute but for the price was good. The room we stayed in was large and very clean. I didn't notice any lingering odors, the bathrooms was very large and clean.
The motel was very close to the SFO airport. I would recommend using BART to get around town and the motel was within walking distance from the BART station approx a 5-10 minute walk. There is a mall that is very close and restaurants very close.
If you are used to immaculate grounds and fancy accomodations then this may not be for you. Since we didn't plan on spending much time in the room it met our basic needs just fine and was very clean.
Pro:cheap, large rooms and clean
Cons: Far from attractions, front desk was not willing to accomodate checking our luggage to store until our flight left.

2  Thank Hokajen_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Franzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank RosePiraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank jean patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Bruno hotels
1 mi away
Ritz Inn
Ritz Inn
#11 of 13 in San Bruno
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#2 of 13 in San Bruno
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport WEST
0.5 mi away
Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Motel

Address: 850 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-3137
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range: £34 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Budget Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing