We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special except for convenient location and comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Reviewed 26 July 2013

When we drove up to the Fairfield in San Carlos, I realized I'd stayed here before, although I didn't when I booked the room the month prior. I guess that pretty much sums up this hotel: not particularly memorable.

What did stand out this time was the rudeness of the woman at the front desk who checked us in. (I've been in Marriott's Rewards program for years, and have never previously had a negative experience with an employee.) When my husband approached her later and said that she had upset his wife, the clerk laughed at my husband. This is definitely not the customer service that is typical at Marriott hotels.

Our room was quiet as we did not face the parking lot. Furthermore, the beds were terrific and the room was very clean. The fitness room is tiny with just a treadmill and an elliptical machine, plus a dumbell with adjustable weights. We did use the coin operated laundry (which is on the second floor) but, as there are only one washer and dryer, we had to wait until early morning as both machines were in use until late at night. Laundry detergent and dryer sheets are complementary.

The breakfast included in the room price has improved over previous reviewers' experiences, as there were scrambled eggs and sausage on the menu in addition to fresh fruit, cereal, breads, muffins, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolAZMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for 5 days while visiting the Bay Area and could not be more pleased. The staff was great and the room was fantastic. The pool was heated and wonderful, and the location was very convenient. Breakfast was very good, but crowded. We were away for a while and needed to do laundry, the hotel provided the soap and dryer sheet, while the machines were only $2.50 total, although we did need an extra cycle on dry. Overall a great place I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Everything was great and better than expected. Good location between SFO airport and Silicon Valley. The hotel is near a small airport and there was some noise of airplanes taking off during the day but that wasn't much of an issue.

The room was very clean and smelled great. Everything looked like it was new and was very comfortable. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly.

As in many hotels with complimentary breakfast, the breakfast area was much too small to accomodate any number of guests. There were only 6 small tables and you either had to eat breakfast in the lobby or in your room. Quality of breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is a clean and well maintained "travelers" hotel by Marriot. It's convenienly located just off Highway 101 but also adjacent to the San Carlos airport. The airport noise is only a factor during the day as it seems to shut down at night. The rooms are clean and the service quick & friendly. However the morning breakfast could be improved. The breakfast is only one step above a continental but the room is too small and crowded if the hotel is even near full occupancy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Business travel stayed 3 nights in this month. Rooms modern and fresh but bathrooms need updating. Old tubs and toilets need to be replaced. Lobby and breakfast area could use a bit more space and a few more chairs in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpaul1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed here for 6 days on business and overall this is a nice place. On the quality scale, I put it above a typical Holiday Inn but below a Hilton Garden. The room was long and narrow with 2 queen beds. Everything was very clean and up to date. You enter the room directly into the bathroom area, and the shower is off to the side. The shower area is a little cramped though. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room as well. My room faced the 101 freeway and the traffic was a bit noisy. I suspect the other side of the facility is quieter, as it faced a small airport runway that did not seem heavily used. The breakfast offered was free but extremely limited in selection and seating. There is a burger king and steakhouse within walking distance. A short drive gets you to a shopping center and there is an in and out burger place across the freeway. Overall a nice facility and one I would utilize again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the freeway.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank travelbertCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel has all if the basics a traveler needs and does it very well . Rooms are nice ,clean and has all if the basics . A. Big plus is a mini refrigerator which I always look for to keep my water and soda cold .

The service is very good . The breakfast is simple , good and free .

And this is a great location .very central and prior to the major traffic problems at nite .

I switched from much higher class hotels in the area (of the same chain) to here and I will be coming back and saving money at the same time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Courtyard Redwood City
Courtyard Redwood City
#11 of 17 in Redwood City
28 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,452 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 7 in San Carlos
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos

Address: 555 Skyway Rd, San Carlos, CA 94070-2713
Region: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range: £79 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Francisco-San Carlos
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco-San Carlos Hotel San Carlos
Fairfield Inn San Carlos
Fairfield San Carlos
San Carlos Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing