We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Freeway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to Freeway”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed two nights to attend a sports reunion nearby. We arrived 1:00am and no one was at the desk. Finally after waiting 20 minutes we spotted a small sticky note advising us to call a phone number which rang to a room next to the desk. The room was cramped and the walls were thin. The shower was nice and the large towels were plush.

The breakfast on the first day included eggs (boiled and scrambled), sausage and a nice fresh fruit salad along with all of the other normal items. The space was small and very little room to sit or maneuver. The second morning they ran out of the hot food early on and we were told "it is what it is". We had to take our food back to the room each day.

The location was convenient; just off the freeway. For those who exercise, there is a bike path just out the door of the hotel that was great for jogging as well. The exercise room was ample and there was an outdoor pool but no Jacuzzi. There was a Burger King across the parking lot as well as a steak restaurant.

Room Tip: It was convenient to stay on the 1st floor. A room toward the back offers easy access to the back e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    79
    50
    13
    7
See reviews for
45
24
21
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stay at this Marriott every year around Christmastime for up to two weeks; it is near our son and his family who live in the beautiful little town of San Carlos. This property is next to a small airport (but noise from the airport is NOT an issue). It is also next to a fast food restaurant and a very good steak place.

The rooms are quite nice; the breakfast (included) is surprisingly extensive and includes make-your-own waffles. The staff couldn't be more helpful. San Carlos town center is about half a mile away and has plenty of superb restaurants and one-of-a-kind boutique stores. You can easily hop the Caltrain which will take you into San Francisco in about 1/2 an hour.

This Fairfield Inn is a great place to stay and also a great value.

Room Tip: You should have no problem with rooms; all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cool, ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

It is exactly what you expected. Well worth it vs. the price of the alternatives hotels nearby. The room was clean and large enough to kick back for a while. There is a restaurant in walking distance that we think is only open for dinner. We were there at 3:00 and they were closed. The complimentary breakfast has scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit juice, etc., beginning at 7 a.m. That is when you need to be there. There is plenty of food - NO place to sit. Yes, taking your breakfast up to your room is an option - the best option. We were not there for the pool, although we did see it. We did use the gym - equipment was in good shape. Only 3 pieces of equipment; treadmill, elliptical and bike. The hotel is right off the freeway so get a room on the top floor facing the airport. Stay away from the ice machines. We slept soundly through the night. Only one elevator which didn't bother and we were far enough away not hear it.

Room Tip: Third floor facing the airport. Stay away from the ONE elevator and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baber143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
163 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Its a typical Fairfield, white walls, limited decoration, plain. Thick comfy pillow top beds, newer carpeting in the halls and rooms (apparently new paint and carpet put in about 2 years ago). New flatscreen tv in 1980's cabinet/dresser, and matching 1980's desk and night stand. Sink/vanity in the main room, small dumper and shower/tub combo in separate closet. Wouldn't pay a lot, but if the price is cheap, you cant go wrong. Staff is blah, and seem to be unhappy. The clerk who checked me in, a female was very nice, but the male staff in the mornings, and the afternoon staff all seem to be bothered if you ask a question and don't offer a "hello" or anything, just shuffle by. Breakfast is simple and plain standard stuff. Coffee/decaf and hot cocoa/tea all day is a nice touch. Right off the freeway but quiet. Super easy off and on 101.

Room Tip: 3rd floor. The building is wood construction and creeks, and rolls with people walking. Would hate t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here using points. For us, the location was convenient as we needed access to both San Francisco & San Jose. It's right off 101 with easy freeway access in either direction, 20 minutes south of SFO.

Room was clean, large & comfortable. Gym had 1 elliptical, 1 treadmill, & some weights - that's it. Check-in quick & pleasant.

Breakfast included cold cereal, yogurt, scrambled eggs & sausage patties in chafing dishes, make-your-own waffles. Nothing fancy & the eating area does get crowded, forcing you to take your food to go. Be downstairs early if you want a seat. They seemed to set up before the scheduled start times.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nijunihk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

When we drove up to the Fairfield in San Carlos, I realized I'd stayed here before, although I didn't when I booked the room the month prior. I guess that pretty much sums up this hotel: not particularly memorable.

What did stand out this time was the rudeness of the woman at the front desk who checked us in. (I've been in Marriott's Rewards program for years, and have never previously had a negative experience with an employee.) When my husband approached her later and said that she had upset his wife, the clerk laughed at my husband. This is definitely not the customer service that is typical at Marriott hotels.

Our room was quiet as we did not face the parking lot. Furthermore, the beds were terrific and the room was very clean. The fitness room is tiny with just a treadmill and an elliptical machine, plus a dumbell with adjustable weights. We did use the coin operated laundry (which is on the second floor) but, as there are only one washer and dryer, we had to wait until early morning as both machines were in use until late at night. Laundry detergent and dryer sheets are complementary.

The breakfast included in the room price has improved over previous reviewers' experiences, as there were scrambled eggs and sausage on the menu in addition to fresh fruit, cereal, breads, muffins, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolAZMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for 5 days while visiting the Bay Area and could not be more pleased. The staff was great and the room was fantastic. The pool was heated and wonderful, and the location was very convenient. Breakfast was very good, but crowded. We were away for a while and needed to do laundry, the hotel provided the soap and dryer sheet, while the machines were only $2.50 total, although we did need an extra cycle on dry. Overall a great place I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
0.8 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.8 mi away
LiA Hotel
LiA Hotel
#3 of 7 in San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos
Address: 555 Skyway Rd, San Carlos, CA 94070-2713
Region: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Francisco-San Carlos
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco-San Carlos Hotel San Carlos
Fairfield Inn San Carlos
Fairfield San Carlos
San Carlos Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing