We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall, a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overall, a pleasant stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

First of all, this place is in no way a "hotel", but is a clean "old-school" type of motel (in a good way).

I noticed a couple of negative reviews complaining about pricing and "safety" issues. I can guarantee you will not find a less expensive alternative in this area (at least, not one you'd want to stay in). As for the "safety" issue, well, just read the most recent negative review, and decide for yourself. After staying at this property, the complaint seems totally without merit.

Though the San Carlos is located on a busy street, we did not experience any issues with traffic noise. The room was pleasant, and the furnishings seemed nicely updated, along with the overall decor. Everything worked well. There is only a desk, so if you bring your own food to the room, be aware that there is no table to utilize (only the desk).

The only complaint we had during our stay was that the ceiling above us seemed poorly insulated from the sounds of the travellers upstairs. In the morning, we heard constant footsteps, and so we weren't able to sleep in as long as we might have liked. If/when we return, we will ask for an upstairs room, or one near the lobby (where there is no second floor).

In summary, this place represents a fair value, and you can tell the managment is making an effort to provide a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid "downstairs" rooms if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottV95691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    42
    14
    0
    9
See reviews for
21
22
11
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Came to the Bay Area for the Maker Faire, we stayed four nights in this hotel. Our room was clean, updated, the best thing about this room was the bed!! It was a king and very comfy, we don't stay in our room much when we travel, but want a comfortable bed to sleep in after sight seeing all day, this was it! This hotel is pretty centrally located and about a 20 min drive from downtown SF, close to San Jose too, I would come back to this quaint hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in an east facing room and could watch the sunrise from our bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewallen7039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I've been on different hotel in the area..as a businessman , i found the property very pleasing , gratifying and excellent place to stay, the neatness and comfortable , just try it yourself - highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnoldo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsancarlos26, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank You for staying with and glad that you really enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property after attending a family event--actually between all of us at the event we had four rooms in the motel and each of us were pleased with our visit. The motel is currently in the process of being renovated and several of the rooms were closed for renovation--the workers were quiet and clean and we didn't really even notice they were there. Our room had been newly remodeled and we found the bed to be very comfortable and the room itself clean and quite nice. We did note that the stairs outside our room were a bit uneven--a symptom of an older property--but my husband who has mobility issues had no trouble navigating them.

There is a small parking lot in front of the rooms, a larger lot just above the hotel, and plenty of street parking on a side street in front of the hotel. We often travel with a truck and small trailer, and it would have been difficult to use the parking lots to park our trailer, the street parking, though, would have been just fine.

Although my husband was with me on this trip, I often travel alone for business and would have felt perfectly comfortable at this property. The area is quiet and we were not disturbed at all by the occasional commuter train coming in or out of the nearby station.

The hotel does offer a small breakfast, but we had to leave very early and chose to walk about a block to the Omelette House down the street (a very good breakfast!). We can also recommend one of our favorite restaurants, Jersey Joe's, just across the street for a great lunch--Authentic Philadelphia cheesesteaks and other great hoagies and sandwiches.

Overall it was a great stay, especially for the price, and we look forward to staying there again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHeadHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsancarlos26, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words and your review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay,. Hope to see you again at our Small but clean Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Not as new as the country inn down the street, but it has updated, clean, comfortable rooms, and decent prices. As housing on the peninsula gets tougher to find, it's nice to find a reliable value priced option.

The breakfast is typical motel danishes and cereal, but at an Expedia rate of $139, I didn't expect much more

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hkarmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsancarlos26, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a room here for one night in October. We found the room clean and the bed comfortable. The place feels dated, but was quite fine for our needs for a one-night stay. The continental breakfast included cereals, packaged pastries and waffles you can bake yourself, as well as fresh fruit (apples the day we were there). The coffee was good. We found the front desk people were courteous. As a point of information, there is no room to have your breakfast in the lobby, so they request you eat in your room. All in all, this was very reasonably priced for the Bay area for the accommodation we had.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsancarlos26, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for staying with and we now our breakfast area is small but have accommodating. We just finished a major renovation and when you are in the area and looking for a place to stay please stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I read some of the reviews on this “hotel” prior to booking a one night stay for a very early morning flight out of SFO and I thought to myself, it was a 2 ½ star hotel and I was being charged $140/night so it must be a decent place…I was wrong, very wrong!!!

The first room given was right next to the parking lot and it did not seem safe to me as the door opened right into the parking lot on a busy street. I asked to be moved and was given another room on the second floor which I was hoping would feel safer which did not happen. I carried my things up to the room via the stairs and was greeted by a room that was clean but smelled awful and was very hot, muggy and creepy. I lasted a total of 20 minutes in this room and realized that there was no way I could make it the entire night in this hotel. It felt unsafe, old, smelled weird and was so close to the street with windows that faced the busy street and doors that were not protected by a lobby or by an employee to ensure the safety of guests.

I went to the lobby to ask if I could have a refund since I did not feel safe staying in this motel for the evening. I was told that she could not refund my money, there is a 24 hour cancellation policy and although she understood my feeling of being unsafe I was not able to have my money back. I ended up paying a lot more at a hotel closer to the airport but the satisfaction of staying in a safe hotel room was worth every penny!

Please be warned, this is a motel (1 star motel in my book) and is not a safe place to stay for a women travelling alone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexascoupleAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsancarlos26, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sorry that you did not felt safe but rest a sure our hotel is safe and very accommodating. he neighborhood and surrounding area is safe also and very well lighted. Hope to see yo soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
1.0 mi away
LiA Hotel
LiA Hotel
#3 of 7 in San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Belmont
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 7 in San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos

Property: Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
Address: 26 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070-2402 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at our small, boutique hotel in San Carlos, CA, you can count on a warm welcome and a pleasant stay. We are proud to give personal attention to each of our valued guests. No other hotel in San Carlos, CA, can offer our level of comfort and service at such affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Carlos
San Carlos Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing