We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic But Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
San Carlos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic But Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you are looking for the Hilton, this is not it, but it is 1/3 the price of the Hilton as well. It is clean, and has a decent bed. It is on the main drag in San Carlos so you do get some traffic noise during rush hours and the commuter train goes by a lot during that time but it is quiet at night.

I guess it all depends on what you are looking for. If you want luxury, then this is not it. If you want clean and functional, then this place is for you.

Management has treated me good as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gandhis, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review and experience with us. As you said, we are not Hilton, but we are BEST VALUE INN- providing best value, comfort and clean property with free amenities that that you pay extra at other luxury hotels. We have flat screen Samsung TV. Microwave, refrigerator, safe deposit Box, coffee and Iron maker in each room. We have nicest and comfortable beds with luxurious top of the bed items. All our bathrooms are updated with granite counters and new wallpapers and many new fixtures. We are proudly serving our guests for more than 30 years at this location and we serve travelers form around the world.
We thank you again for your staying with us and please come and stay again and we always welcome our guests with smile and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    26
    19
    14
    9
See reviews for
27
19
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Booked this on Hotwire and it was a deal, however, it is on the main drag in San Carlos and the train tracks for commuter trains is next to the road, the noise level is very high. The room is very worn. It was clean enough but needs painting and a lot of repairing and updating. Also a parking problem. Owner said you can park in back but there were some guys hanging out and I didn't feel safe. The continental breakfast is very skimpy and not appealing. I would not stay here again. J Chappell Sun City West Az

Room Tip: Hotel faces the road which is the main drag and has train tracks with frequent commuter trains going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowbayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gandhis, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write the review. We are glad that you like our value and price and also the cleanliness of the property. We understand that due to our location, like many motels on El Camino Real, have some noise from trains during the day time , however, trains don't run at night and we have very few complaints from guests. As a matter of fact, we have best records for Most favorable reviews form our guests and we are recipient of the award and rank number # 1 from all the hotels in the city. we have been in business serving visitors and local people for more than 35 years.
We have updated our property with new exterior paint, fountain in the front and many amenities including flat screen Samsung TV's, granite countertops, new wallpaper, safe, microwave and refrigerator to name some recent updates. We are AAA approved 2 diamond hotel and recipient of the TALK OF THE TOWN award. As for as the parking , we have some in the front and some in the back- and all parking areas are well lighted and monitored with cameras. We have no issue for any parking in the back. As a matter of fact, our back parking is along side the parking for Walgreen which is open 24 hours.
We provide free complimentary breakfast and Wi- Fi for the convenience of our guests. We have new beds and comforters and we provide the best value for the money we charge. Most of the guests are repeat customers and referral from satisfied guests. We are constantly updating our property and maintain inside and out and we get lots of compliments form our guests for the value and price we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stay here many times, great place, great service...A Gentleman n Wife forgot their names great great couple.Every time i check in, greet me with a smile, also c-in early no problem..in rooms everything you need also microwave/mini fridge, compare to the price I save a lot.....
love thie place

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuamata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gandhis, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you very much for your continued support and taking time to write the review for fellow travelers. We appreciate your comments for value and service we provide to you and other guests. Most of our customers are repeat and referred customers and we are servicing people like you for more than 35 years. We are keeping our BEST Value by providing many amenities and free continental breakfast and Wi- Fi. We also provide sauna and spa and free parking. As you mentioned we provide microwave, refrigerators, safe and in room coffee in each guest room. We are constantly updating our amenities and property for our guests and that is why we are recipient of TRIPADVISOR award as well as TALK of The TOWN award.
Thanking again for your support and looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were trying to save some money visiting friends over the Thanksgiving holiday and we really just needed a room to sleep in for the night. The room was very small and cramped. There was an overpowering smell of what I assume was some kind of cleanser/air freshener that reminded me of a man who wears too much cologne. There were hardly any accessible outlets for charging devices and the wifi was slow. The continental breakfast was mostly stale and cheap. Better off skipping it and hitting McDonalds. No love.

I had low expectations, but this place failed to meet even that. Will I be back? No thank you.

Room Tip: No elevators. Small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamtheczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gandhis, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for staying with Americas Best Value Inn and taking time to write the review. We are sorry to learn that you found our rooms small . Please note that our rooms are good size with Bathroom separate from vanity area and enough room for baggage and equipped with Safe, deposit Box, Microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker and iron and ironing board and enough place to put ironing board. We are surprised to read that you didn't find extra outlet for using or charging your phone. We have extra outlet on vanity and rooms to plug additional devices. If you needed more we can always provide you extension cord. Our breakfast is complimentary is Continental ,breakfast comprising cereals, Muffin, croissant and bagels. We have flat screen Samsung TV's and free Wi-Fi. We believe that we provide Great value for the price and we have been recipient of Best award from trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Place is clean, friendly, and safe. Place just got a paint job and looks good. I have been staying here weekly for two months now, business and have had a good experience. Manager makes us feel welcomed. Wi-Fi worked and that helped me get a little more work done and stay in touch with family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I was looking for an inexpensive motel for the Thanksgiving holidays....this was the less expensive...it was clean, quiet, centrally located. and the gentleman at the desk could not have been more pleasant and helpful. I would highly recommend and plan to stay here again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The motel is a little tired, but it has all the amenities including a refrigerator, microwave and safe.
The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is basic cereal, but that's exactly what I eat at home!
My wife and I have been staying there for the past several years when we visit our daughter and grandchildren which means it is basically an extra room with breakfast for a very reasonable price; exactly what we want

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs request a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
14.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
LiA Hotel
LiA Hotel
#2 of 7 in San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
9.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#23 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
16.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Pacifica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
11.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mountain View
Americas Best Value Inn Mountain...
#18 of 18 in Mountain View
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1562 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070-5104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing