We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Miramar - great location”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The room was clean and comfortable. Coffee maker, safe and TV were great. Heater/cooler was hard to reach but worked great. Location was close to the San Clemente Pier. Loved the King size bed. The restaurants were nice just down the street which we used. It is a very easy location to get to Camp Pendleton where we visited our son.

Room Tip: I like the second story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mradon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here for one night on a business trip - needed a quick place to lay my head for a night on a trip down from LA to San Diego. The room was nice and large and clean, and a nice standard - much nicer inside than you would expect for a roadside Motel.

had a nice walk down to the beach, which is an easy drive or a 15 min walk away.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

OK, let me say the good things first. The rooms have been updated and are mostly clean, except for the hairs in the tub. But, despite sprucing up this is still a MOTEL not a hotel. Right across from an auto service strip warehouse, adjacent to a 7/11, I would have been happy to pay the $100 to stay for a night. Unfortunately, the charge was THREE HUNDRED DOLLARS for one evening. Oh, and the golf course picture? That's not looking out the back window...it's a couple of miles away. If you want to just stop and spend the night in a clean motel with loud room air conditioners, this may be the place for you as it's right off the freeway. Just don't fork up such an outrageous sum of money for the honor.

Room Tip: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sdcouple858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I don't see how you can beat this value. Clean, full amenities in room (safe, refrigerator, coffee maker, premium channels on tv, ironing board). The room was squeaky clean with a generous amount of space. The price was excellent for this area. We definitely would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

If you're used to staying in upscale chain hotels, the location and appearance of the outside of the motel may make you hesitate on arrival. However, the rooms have been refurbished and are quite good. The beds were as comfortable as any I've slept in, the water pressure in the shower was great, there was free wi-fi for multiple devices, and the cable selection on the TV was complete (though figuring out how to use the TV was complicated). Also, the front desk manager was very helpful. Finally, if like us, you have to leave to be somewhere early in the AM, there is a 7-11 across the street which had a very thorough selection of breakfast items.
The main downside to the hotel is that the road outside is quite noisy, so unless you're sleeping with the air conditioning on (which we did), your sleep could definitely suffer.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfiend60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This place is not love at first sight. It's one of those hotels I think about from the 70's on long family vacations. It is well maintained and looks fine on the outside. Once you open the door your mind is put to ease. The beds are great, the room is big, the a/c, mini frig, safe, microwave, internet and Keurig coffee machine were all in working condition. Hot water is hot and the shower head doesn't drizzle it is a true shower head! We all slept very well and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeandHim1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This place was way better than I expected and very fairly priced. The rooms where spotless. The beds were very comfortable. The shower had good water pressure. A perfect place for a surfing vacation. We also were able to bring our dog, which was a nice plus. Being pet friendly made this motel stand out; usually the dog friendly places are somewhat shabby, but this one wasn't , recently updated and sparkling clean. I highly recommend it. The only reason i didn't give it all 5 stars was not to confuse TA readers, this is a simple no frills motel, but awesome for its class.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vvv758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hotel_Miramar, General Manager at Hotel Miramar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

vvv758,

Thanks for the very positive review. It was our pleasure to provide you with your lodging needs. It is such feedback that enables us to do our jobs better and provide better service when you visit us again.

Sincerely,
Drew
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
0.5 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#4 of 18 in San Clemente
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
1 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
240 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 2222 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-3252
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range: £58 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Miramar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Miramar has just completed a major interior and exterior renovation all designed with your comfort in mind. Whether your trip is for business, pleasure or both, our staff is committed to meeting and exceeding every expectation you may have. The Hotel Miramar takes hospitality and service very seriously, so that your stay will be enjoyable and memorable. It's consistency you can count on, always at just the right price. Thank you for selecting our hotel. We look forward to serving you and hope to make our hotel your home away from home. All of our rooms are designated NO SMOKING ROOMS.All of our rooms have Simmons Beautyrest Pillow top mattresses, flat panel high definition television featuring DirecTV Satellite, high speed internet access, large executive desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee machine, hair dryer.Restaurants are in walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing