We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-San Clemente Beach
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
verde valley
Level Contributor
434 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“great place to stay!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

i have stayed at this location multiple times. each time i get excellent value for the money. its not the fanciest hotel in town for sure, but when you come to San Clemente, do you really come here to hang out in the room? NO ! so why pay for a more expensive room ??

there are many very good places to eat in walking distance, and for a bit more exercise you can walk to the beach from here. BONUS: stop at that tee-shirt shop nearby and get a couple of $5 tee's

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arizona-mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
14
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zandvoort
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Close to the San Clemente Pier, citycentre and shopping area.. Love this place!
Under the hotel is a small restaurant which services nice food!
Free parking space included and some rooms have a lovely bath :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arnodekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

...because it is in walking distance to my son's house. The room was very clean and since I took the only smoker's room they had, that was a nice surprise - and also because it came with a very large jacuzzi tub. I had to ask for a different password for the WiFi to get it to stay logged on, but the manager was very compliant in providing one. Oh, and the bar next door is NOT a biker bar, just a popular spot for locals. The restaurant on the other side is also very popular and the food there is very good. So while I only gave it 3 stars for average, that's only because there was no coffee pot available either in the room or elsewhere! That would have been a nice touch and brought a 4th star for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Where do I begin. In lieu of a long review about noise, lack of ammenities, filthy room, etc. I shall leave it at this. Because the room was prepaid, I was stuck. I seriously considered sleeping in the car the room was so bad. Bailed on the second night as it was so bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RW4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Clemente hotels

verde valley
Level Contributor
434 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

i have stayed at this place a half-dozen times now. its clean, comfortable, and the rooms are actually pretty nicely decorated.

i stay here because it is the best value in San Clemente that i have found.

the internet is so-so (BYO broadband) but its a convenient location, and probably a 10 minute walk downtown.

the manager is actually a nice enough guy once you get to know him and he gets to know you.

Room Tip: might want to ask for a room in the back - there is a biker bar next door that can get a bit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arizona-mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laughlin, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had never stayed in San Clemente, so we thought we would try o find a spot in the middle of town. The hotel itself seems a little older, but there seem to be renovations going on. The room we got was fairly dated, but the bathroom seemed clean, a plus. Our room seemed to be a small suite as it had a small living room inside the door which led to the bathroom and bedroom. The couch may have folded out. The only downside was no TV in the living room. My wife likes to nap and I like to catch sports while she naps. The managers of the hotel apparently live at the hotel, which is not really an issue with us. Their unit's door opens onto the community deck (there is no green area or grass). The managers usually had their unit's door open and they cook inside. The scent of curry wafted throughout the deck area and was a little overwhelming at times. Our room had only one AC unit in the living room, so it was sucked in through the ventilation in the AC. We couldn't close the bedroom door as it was too warm without the AC and too noisy with the window open (street noise, not noise in the hotel itself). The bed in our room was very hard and it took a while in the morning to get the kinks worked out (and aspirin). Otherwise, the stay was okay, but we probably wouldn't stay here again at the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelforfunnstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times (formerly called Budget Lodge) with our grandkids mostly because of the affordable rates BUT I must say this hotel has only gotten BETTER. The Host, who has always been very helpful, put us in a quiet room away from the street noise. The room was sparkling clean every time we returned from the beach, with fresh new towels and sparkling clean sinks and toilets. We slept like babies. We woke up and walked across the street to "Pipes" for an incredible breakfast. The hotel is located next to so many places to eat within walking distance. My husband even went to the bar next door to watch the game and have a beer to shoot the breeze with the locals. I difenately recomment this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in San Clamente. I have nothing but good things to say about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BUNS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
0.6 mi away
The Patriots Boutique Motel
The Patriots Boutique Motel
#14 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-San Clemente Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-San Clemente Beach

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-San Clemente Beach
Address: 2002 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-3248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-San Clemente Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-San Clemente Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Budget Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing