We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The staff was absolutely fantastic!! Very friendly and helpful! I wish I could remember the name of the gentleman that helped us at the front desk because he was wonderful! We were in San Clemente as part of our honeymoon (never have been there before) and he suggest a wonderful place for dinner. The next night we saw him again and he asked how everything was going. (We stayed there 3/17-3/20) Everyone else was very friendly as well, but his service was outstanding. The hotel itself is very clean, and nice. The breakfast was good as well. We will definitely stay there again when we return!

Room Tip: GPS took us just above the hotel to a neighborhood. You might want to call to get directions, after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vero m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We are very happy you chose to spend a part of your honeymoon as our guest. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in South Orange County. I am very sorry to hear you had difficulty finding us with your GPS. Some GPS systems put you just behind the hotel. We have been working to try to get this fixed but it has been a slow process. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    111
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
136
124
28
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My family of 4 really enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for us in between LA and San Diego. Great room, breakfast, staff and pool. They even had warm chocolate chip cookies in the evening. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kids2dogsandacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleman, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

What a great place if you are looking for quiet, secluded, and reasonable. I booked 45 days in advance and got a great web price during spring break and a whale festival at a nearby community. Room was clean and spacious. Great relaxing atmosphere. Good breakfast choices with a pancake maker! Loved sitting outside under an umbrella for my ride each morning! Great staff that really was helpful. Kinda hard to find the first time, but worth the seclusion! Only thing missing was a bar for afternoon cocktails. I will stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This oddly situated property is its own little island of comfort & top-notch hospitality, in one of the prettiest beach towns anywhere. Once you find it --situated awkwardly above a shopping center & hemmed in by Interstate 5-- you'll feel like you've stumbled upon a cozy, quaint oasis where you least expected to find one. Very reasonably priced, the place is managed with top-notch professionalism, and the friendly staff seems genuinely glad to see you. The pool area's nice, though I wish it had a jacuzzi. Otherwise, all conditions are conducive to a relaxing, worry-free stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThurstonLovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladera Ranch, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Starting from the get go the general manager, Todd Forester, did everything he could to get the right location to make the 45 day stay just right. Part work part fun trip for my 23 year old.
No car needed everything is walking distance away.
Staff is really so easy going and never saw one frown. Smiles all the time.
On location Easy fast breakfast served to get the day doing just right and enjoy this beach town to it's fullest!!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend if you like the beach life without any form of transpiration needed. To be honest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocheever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words but this glowing review was meant for the Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel just up the street from us. Todd is a great guy and I know he will be pleased to hear this review when I share it with him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were at a travel ball tournament in San Clemente. Stayed the past Saturday night, double queen bed room. Getting to the property was funky, you have to drive at the edge of a strip mall and uphill to the property. The 5 freeway is to the east of the property.

Three levels - we got the 1st floor which is the bottom floor of the property. You can hear every single footstep from the above floor. It didn't help that there were a bunch of bigger kids staying there and running down the main floor's hallway. I did alert the front desk gentlemen and he took care of telling them to get back into their rooms - kudos to him.

Breakfast was good, typical cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt, milk, juice, and coffee. They had an automatic pancake maker, press a button and out comes a pancake. They also provided cinnamon bun under a warmer, biscuits and gravy, sausage patty (that AM), and omelet with cheese.

Except for the noise, clean rooms, economical and I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible to minimize the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBallDad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and I am very happy to hear the Front Desk took care of the noise issue promptly. We do hope you consider staying here again next time you are in San Clemente. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and therefore chose to stay at it again.
On arrival however, I found there had been a mix up with the booking dates - this was no fault of Holiday Inns.
Despite this, and the hotel being fully booked the staff did all they could to help me find alternative accommodation on what was a very busy weekend.
It was much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
I am very sorry to hear about your reservation mix u, especially because it was on a busy weekend. I am happy to hear that our Team was able to assist you in finding other accomodations although we would have much rather had you stay with us. Please visit us again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.7 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
232 reviews
2.2 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
Address: 35 Via Pico Plz, San Clemente, CA 92672-3998
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Clemente
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Clemente is nestled in the fabulous beach side community of Southern Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego. Known as the Spanish Village by the Sea, San Clemente boasts having the most pleasant climate in California. With easy access from I-5, short drive from Orange County Airport. Our location makes us ideal for visiting great local attractions such as, Legoland, Sea World, Disneyland, and Del Mar Race Track. You can relax at local beaches, attend surfing competitions, or walk on the San Clemente Pier, shop at the Carlsbad Premium Outlets. For business travelers we are close to Camp Pendleton, SONGS Power Plant, Bechtel, and Quest Diagnostics. Work or relax, our room amenities will assist you in making a day to remember and our bedding will make sure you enjoy a great night sleep. To start the morning right, stop by for the Express Start hot breakfast, served complimentary in our breakfast area and log in to our free WiFi to catch up on world news. A fitness room is available for those wanting some exercise and staying fit. Finish your day by taking a swim in our sparkling heated pool. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing