We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Such a beautiful hotel, the location isn't the best as, it is a bit hard to find. Overall, my stay with the holiday inn express was phenomenal, staff was amazing. When I checked in, the front desk agent Steven was very delightful, and helpful. (The employee with the golden voice) within five minutes of entering my room the front desk gave my room a courtesy call to make sure everything was fine. So nonetheless the hotel was beautiful, clean, and great staff!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for staying at our beautiful hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the service Steven provided. He is a great asset to this team and we are happy to have him as one of our leaders. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in San Clemente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    109
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
132
118
28
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The desk manager, Steven, we checked in with was extremely nice and helpful- even when we had banking issues given we're not from this coast... Definitely a great guy. Clean and pet friendly hotel. Although there really isn't a dog walking area, and the hotel is situated up a steep hill but we made due.
The room we wanted initially was on the lobby floor (which is technically the second, even though it's ground level...) but there was an issue with the lock so we were moved to the lower level. I wasn't too thrilled given it's somewhat basement feel and smell. It smelled musty and we noticed the AC leaks a ton into the balcony. I was happy to have a private balcony, not much of a view being on the lower level, but I love the access to fresh air and the kids enjoyed being outside. I'd request a higher floor for better views. Also one away from the freeway as it can get noisy.
We got a double queen which was plenty big enough for two adults, three kids, a dog and all of our belongings. Updated bathroom, furnishings and comfy beds.
Breakfast was the usual Holiday inn Express food. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate 24 hours, cookies I think too.
The ice machine outside our room is very noisy and leaks....
Overall good stay, next time we'd stay on the lobby or 3rd floor, not the basement.
Pricey hotel, room rate, pet fee, laundry and even vending are all marked up but this is California...
Wifi works well.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I had an excellent two day stay at this property. Clean and well kept facilities with rooms equipped with everything a traveler might need, including a fridge and a microwave. With an attentive and competent staff to top things off. One small example. I left my room at noon to pick lunch at the nearby Chipotle and on my way out asked the front staff if housekeeping could clean my room while I was away. I am back 45 min later and I find my room spotless clean. Now that is service. Well done Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chryssipus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Holiday Inn Express San Clemente was a great experience for my whole family. Very clean and comfortable rooms with fridge and microwave. Good location off the Frwy. and not to far from the beach and main downtown area. Great staff who were willing to help with anything. Nice breakfast that was restocked frequently. I would definitely stay here again next time in San Clemente or even when visiting Dana Point.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
I am very happy to hear that my team was willing to help you with anything. We have a lot of customer service training and role playing and I am glad this shows in the customer service we give our guests. We hope to see you again soon when you visit South Orange County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorville, Ca
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have stayed here twice and my room has been great! Very clean and nice furnishings. Breakfast has a wide variety of items with different hot items daily. The best part is the person who works at the front desk in the afternoons, Allen. He is sincerely helpful in every way and talks to you like you're old friends! He is a huge asset to the Holiday Inn family.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

YAY for Hotwire!! My boys and I just returned from a one night stay at this property. I've started this tradition where I take them out of town for the weekend, once a month. Last month was Corona, this month was San Clemente. This was our first time in San Clemente. I've passed it several times on the way to San Diego for business and the only memory I have is of the San Onofre Nuclear power plant. Surely there has GOT to be more to San Clemente than this... Yes, there is!

This hotel is tucked away on a hill that's visible from the 5 freeway. It's designed to look like a mission, so it's really beautiful. The pool is actually out front so there is no privacy, however, given the location of the property itself, it's really not that bad. There is no jacuzzi, which is a bit of a bummer considering it can get cold in the area, but it's not that much of a deterrent.

The property itself is very well kept and CLEAN. The parking lot is directly in front so it's not a far walk from the car to the hotel lobby - this is nice especially if you're traveling with kids and lugging both them and your bags. The lobby itself and the breakfast room were modern and sleek. Check in was a breeze - Guzee (sp?) was at the front desk at the time and she was amazing. She was professional, courteous, knowledgeable, and really, really nice. She shared some really good tips about the area once she found out we were noobs. I had requested two queen beds and an upper floor room and she was able to accommodate me with no problems.

I was told the only rooms that had balconies were their suites, so I was pleasantly surprised when she told me all rooms have balconies. YAY! I love having a balcony in our room because it allows us to hang out on the balcony and enjoy the weather. We did just that during our stay here. The balcony is huge. I do wish we had a better view - our room was facing the back of the property so our view was a hill :( Next time, and there will be a next time, I will ask for a room facing the front of the property so we have a better view (hopefully of the ocean).Our room itself was really spacious. I was expecting it to be a bit small because our room at the Corona HI was a bit cramped, so needless to say, another pleasant surprise! The beds were, as usual, super comfy as were the pillows. The bathroom was tiny - smaller than Corona and the door didn't close all the way. The latch didn't work so the door would stay slightly open. Bummer. There was no couch but there was a nice chair and an ergo chair at the work desk.

My boys were not able to connect their PS3 to the TV - HDMI port was broken. The Direct TV signal was shoddy - none of the channels were clear; in fact, sometimes it looked like 3D! I don't know if this had to do with the area or something else. Regardless, no bueno. It's bad enough that the HDMI port didn't work but when you throw in the shoddy satellite signal/picture quality, well, its quite disappointing.

The free breakfast was substantial - eggs, bacon, biscuits AND sausage gravy, warm cinnamon rolls, breads, cereal, fruit, coffee & tea. Everything was really tasty. The breakfast SOMEWHAT made up for the TV fiasco.

On our last day, we opted to head to the beach and the hotel offers free beach chairs and beach towels! WOOT! So, naturally we took full advantage of those chairs and they came in handy. The extra perks were really nice and left us with a good impression of the property.

Because I am an IHG Rewards Member, we were able to secure a 2 pm checkout. The late checkout enabled us to take our time at breakfast and at the beach. I do love that perk and really appreciate that option. We will be back to this specific property, for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor with a view of the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissesJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your first overnight stay in San Clemente. San Clemente is a beautiful town and we are glad we were able to share it with you. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We like this hotel very much for the price and location. We see concerts at the Coach House, hang at Doheny State Beach, and dine in downtown San Clemente. The breakfast is decent, too. There isn't any luxury here, just a nice, clean home base to see the area...and a friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank powaydaddyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Clemente
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Clemente
Holiday Inn San Clemente
#6 of 18 in San Clemente
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
Address: 35 Via Pico Plz, San Clemente, CA 92672-3998
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Clemente
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
#3 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Clemente is nestled in the fabulous beach side community of Southern Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego. Known as the Spanish Village by the Sea, San Clemente boasts having the most pleasant climate in California. With easy access from I-5, short drive from Orange County Airport. Our location makes us ideal for visiting great local attractions such as, Legoland, Sea World, Disneyland, and Del Mar Race Track. You can relax at local beaches, attend surfing competitions, or walk on the San Clemente Pier, shop at the Carlsbad Premium Outlets. For business travelers we are close to Camp Pendleton, SONGS Power Plant, Bechtel, and Quest Diagnostics. Work or relax, our room amenities will assist you in making a day to remember and our bedding will make sure you enjoy a great night sleep. To start the morning right, stop by for the Express Start hot breakfast, served complimentary in our breakfast area and log in to our free WiFi to catch up on world news. A fitness room is available for those wanting some exercise and staying fit. Finish your day by taking a swim in our sparkling heated pool. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing