We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't trust the GPS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We left LAX and plugged in the GPS the hotel's address. Once we got closer to the hotel, the GPS had us take exit 76. It took us through a neighborhood and after driving in circles for 15 minutes...to a dead end. After being frustrated not being able to find the place, I called the front desk. The clerk was very helpful and redirected us the right way. He also told me that this situation happens times and times again where people end up in that neighborhood.

You would think that if that happened a lot, management would take necessary actions so that their address was rectified and their patrons not get lost? I mean the last thing you want after a 5 hour flight and 1 1/2 hour drive from LAX is not being able to reach the hotel because their address does not come up on a GPS/smartphone!?

That being said, the room was very clean and spacious with all amenities. The bed and pillows very comfortable. The front desk staff was also very nice and professional. The noise coming from the floor above and the constant door slamming against the door stop was not good to get a great night of sleep though...

Overall, disappointment comes to mind...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I am very sorry about you getting lost on your way in from LAX. It is a long drive and the last thing anyone wants is to be lost. We have had multiple conversations over the past year with GPS companies to get this issue rectified and unfortunately we still have not been able to get this fixed. It is an ongoing project that we are hoping someone can assist us with very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just wanted to get away for a few days mid-week to relax. All we wanted was a pool, the ocean, and a pier to fish from. We lucked into finding this hotel. 3 teenage girls, plus my wife and I. We also had my wife's service dog traveling with us. This is a pet friendly hotel, and they always had treat bags out for the dogs (a snack and a poop bag).

The staff was fantastic. Always friendly and helpful. When we asked about a location, they immediately pulled it up on the computer and printed out directions. Anything we needed (extra towels, shampoo...) they gladly provided. Even when I was looking at the attraction brochures many hotels stock, they came over and asked if there was anything they could help me find. I've never had that happen before.

Room was always clean, and was very comfortable. Even had a balcony. While the view was nothing special, it was nice to sit out there. We were on the 3rd (top) floor, and the room was very quiet.

Pool was nice, very relaxing. Even though we didn't make use of it, they had a lift at the pool for disabled individuals. No spa here.

Breakfast room was open 24/7. Breakfast (6:30-9:30 weekdays) was fantastic. Items varied slightly from day to day. Pancakes, sausage, ham, cinnamon rolls, hot & cold cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread & bagels, juices, biscuits & gravy, scrambled eggs or cheese omelets. Really a great buffet, and always stocked. During non breakfast hours, there was always coffee & tea available, and most days fresh fruit.

Location was easy to find if you use the hotels directions. DO NOT try to get directions from online or GPS. Down the hill (easy walking distance) is a shopping center with a 99¢ Only Store, Del Taco, Stuft Pizza (really good pizza!) and many other stores. And you're only about a mile from the beach. The front desk will loan you towels and supplies for the beach. Just ask.

Unfortunately, the fishing wasn't great at the pier (which was about 3 miles away). Caught some small fish, and a small shark, but tossed them all back. It was still relaxing, which was the whole point of the trip. We would DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvilElf444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Staff were very friendly, check in was super fast, room was very clean, the bed was SO comfortable. I haven't slept that good in years. The breakfast had a lot of options and was pretty good. I stayed in 2 hotels after this one because we were doing a road trip, and their Customer Service and breakfast was much much better than the other 2 Hotels I stayed in. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Positive: We forgot our clothing in the hotel. Called from Las Vegas to ship it to our home in Pennsylvania. They did it according to their policy of Fed-Ex Express. (Rhymes with the hotel name!). When we received the bill, we called and talked to Manager Ms. Guzy. (Fed-Ex charges were $30 for pair of pants!) She heard complain and calmly explained their policy, but immediately mentioned that the policy has changed just a few days ago. Now they do it complementary. She agreed to reverse the charges. Great service indeed. Thanks Ms. Guzy.

The hotel is very neat, clean and homely, with nice out door seating for breakfast. I would surely stay there again and recommend it. If you have any issues, talk to Ms. Guzy.

Negative: Nothing special besides the obscure approach road to the hotel. But that is minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: No idea. It was full and we arrived at mid night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amishtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Just checked out of the hotel and the stay was fantastic. Riz at the front desk is a rock star and surpassed all expectations. Check in was a breeze even though we showed up a bit early. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly, they even gave us a couple recommendations on where to rent a bike. Clean and comfortable rooms close to the action. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cconnors31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Riz is awesome and she is a pleasure to work with. I am happy to hear she makes our guests feel special. We will share your comments with her, I am sure she will be very excited to hear them. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here to save some money while attending a wedding and related festivities in Dana Point over 3 days, including a weekend. Could not be more pleased with my stay at this HIE in San Clemente! Location as mentioned by other reviewers may seem a bit odd at first, on a hill behind a small strip mall complex, but turns out to be very convenient in the end (easy access to I-5). Also, the complex below and the one across Avenida Pico offer plenty of quick eats and convenience shopping.

The hotel really has a wonderful appearance, inside and out, and it is all well maintained by proficient and personable staff members. Very clean, spacious, and functional. Styling mixes modern elegance with inviting Cali color scheme and sense of openness.

Room was very comfortable for my family of 4. Beds were easily large enough for 2 people and the pillows (2 soft + 2 firm on each bed) made catching some z's very easy. Clean carpeting and bathroom was faultless. Bathroom has decent counter space augmented by an upper ledge to put smaller items. Shower was great! Big showerhead and plenty of hot water. Towels were just fine. Climate control via thermostat operated seamlessly. TV, coffeemaker, fridge, microwave all were clean and functioned properly. The maid service were very friendly and took great pride in their work; even though we declined daily room cleaning, they still took the time to offer us any and all supplies that we may have needed. Maidservice team deserves praise.

Breakfast in the mornings offers easy to make pancakes, eggs, sausage, cereals, oatmeal bar, bagels, toast, fruits, milk, yogurt, coffee, tea, juice and more... Great! Breakfast staffer did a great job keeping the area clean, uncluttered, and stocked.

Computer and printer are available for guests; both were speedy and worked without a hitch for printing my boarding passes and mapping a route.

With all of that said... my favorite aspect of the entire stay was the front desk staff members. They were all beyond professional, especially Riz. She took the time to learn more about my trip with genuine interest, offered advice and recommendations right away, answered all of my questions, and never seemed flustered or backlogged despite the steady stream of guests checking in or coming to the front desk on her watch (and she has an awesome watch, by the way!). Every time I passed through the lobby area going to or coming back from another wedding event or trip to the beaches, Riz and the others ALWAYS waved and smiled and offered a relevant comment or compliment or well-wishes. I wanted to take the chance to return the favor for the good vibes that the crew here infused into my trip to the OC... My gratitude for you all. HIE San Clemente North is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highlander2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Best hotel ever! Great breakfast, friendly professional staff and unbelievable chocolate chip cookies! Some of the globalist guest had bad hotel manners, noisy in the hallways, did not pick up cereal spilled on floor, but all in all it was wonderful

Room Tip: Book a room far from the lobby. Too many parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moosemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
0.7 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
240 reviews
2.2 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Address: 35 Via Pico Plz, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Clemente
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
#3 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range: £90 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Clemente is nestled in the fabulous beach side community of Southern Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego. Known as the Spanish Village by the Sea, San Clemente boasts having the most pleasant climate in California. With easy access from I-5, short drive from Orange County Airport. Our location makes us ideal for visiting great local attractions such as, Legoland, Sea World, Disneyland, and Del Mar Race Track. You can relax at local beaches, attend surfing competitions, or walk on the San Clemente Pier, shop at the Carlsbad Premium Outlets. For business travelers we are close to Camp Pendleton, SONGS Power Plant, Bechtel, and Quest Diagnostics. Work or relax, our room amenities will assist you in making a day to remember and our bedding will make sure you enjoy a great night sleep. To start the morning right, stop by for the Express Start hot breakfast, served complimentary in our breakfast area and log in to our free WiFi to catch up on world news. A fitness room is available for those wanting some exercise and staying fit. Finish your day by taking a swim in our sparkling heated pool. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing