We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and quiet getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Clemente
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Mateo Campground
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We loved the campground. It was quiet, clean, friendly people. The hike to the beach is a nice hike and the beach is beautiful. Fire rings were great, nice picnic tables and there are plenty of trees and shrubs to give privacy from other sites. The whole campground is well maintained and you can tell they take pride in their facilities. We will definitely be back, it is such an easy place to get to!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sloth62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

This campground is near, but not on the beach. You can see Camp Pendleton from the sites. We knew that before we went; so, we were not disappointed. The sites have plenty of trees and shrubs to give you some privacy from other sites. We stayed in site 50 and it was very spacious and private. We took the 1.5 mile walk to Trestles beach. It is a surf beach with no facilities. I don't recommend it for families. We decided to drive to San Clemente beach for the day and had a great time. I gave it four stars because of the ants. Beware, the ants will invade. I was suspicious upon arrival when I saw the white chalk outline where the last camper's tires use to be. I read that salt will keep them out, but these ants still found a way. Those little pests walked right up our fresh water hose connection. Make sure you salt that too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

First of all, there is NO grass! Few trees, all dirt, no shade. This campground has absolutely nothing going for it! The state should pay campers to stay there, not the other way around. The crows come to visit in the afternoon and throw berries all over the campsite and vehicles. The restrooms were nice and clean but there is nothing to do! Bombs were going off all night and day at nearby Camp Pendleton. I do not recommend!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at San Mateo campground aug 16-17, 2013. We had 2 sites side-by-side and went with another famiy and their children and dog. If you get the inner-ring - there is TONS of space. But if you get the outer ring you can barely put a large tent on the site. The fire rings were great and everything seemed to be nicely run. That is, until we took showers. It takes 50 cents for 3 minutes. Every one of the people in our party ran out of water and with soap filled hair and eyes, deposted another 50 cents and NO WATER came back on. It was a nightmare. I have to dress covered in soap and finish washing at the outdoor sink. They should have better showers if they want people to come back. Also, the quiet hours are not observed in the morning. We were woken each morning around 6am with nieghbors clanging pans. It's the cost of condo-camping - so we are used to that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I stayed here for more than two months jumping site to site. The staff and campground are perfect. My kids love to do all the events they do for the youth. Not to far drive from San Clemente, store, bars, food etc..

Room Tip: [hana-flv-player video="http://www.losttrekker.com/videos/VID_20120713_164900.flv" width...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank losttrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This was our very first camping experience! Me, a 56 yr old Gramma, my Daughter & Son in-law, my Grandson 6 yr.'s old and Grand babygirl 9 mo's. We rented an RV through Cruise America ~ it was fantastic! So clean and new and in excellent operating order! I had read review after review and blog after blog for over 2 months before deciding on "what and where"... It so paid off! Great sites @ San Mateo ~ we were in ADA site 01 ~ as they are all very roomy and have lush privacy foliage between you and your neighbor, unusual as I have learned, for a "beach camp"...Where you are more likely to be closer and shoulder-to-shoulder w/ neighboring camper. The fire rings were really nice, easy to load up with our wood and if we had run out, the Ranger station had bundles for $6.00. The bathrooms were clean, paper was well stocked, hot water and each stall private. The showers had great pressure and plenty of hot water, for small coin-type charge. San Clemente Pier was only about a 7 minute drive and the hike to the beach and wetlands was only 1.5 mi.'s So many campers were there, mostly families and lots of kids... All the blogs suggested to bring toys and we did...We'd bring more next time for sure!!! Bicycles and skateboards were all over the park and many types of "ball" games.... It is definitely a "surf camp" as most people were hiking down to Trestle's to surf... The eve's were comfortable, relaxing and quiet. We rarely heard another person, or car or dog (we heard our own the most!) I had read that there was crazy noise at night with Pendelton Training literally next door to us but not a sound! Not a helicopter or a gun shot was heard by us. We brought a small weber charcoal bbq and we also cooked in a crock pot & on the propane stove in the rv. The refridgerator and freezer worked fantastic! And the hook up/take down was a snap! We went for a beach day on our last day closer to home @ Corona del Mar big beach and also enjoyed the rv even though there were no hook ups and we essentially "dry camped" but so enjoyed the convenience of a "house on wheels"... We cannot wait to go back and enjoyed meeting such nice fellow campers @ San Mateo.

Room Tip: If you need hook ups be sure to secure a site that does have them. Not all sites do. But this is rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank samantha c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spent 4 days over spring break here with 4 other families. Very clean, wooded campground. Spots were a little smaller than expected, but definitely not a parking lot situation. Kids enjoyed the 2 mile hike to the beach. Clean bathrooms and showers. Big grassy field areas.
Only complaint is no sewer hookup. Only water and power. Also,, very limited cell phone service. Maybe has to do with being so close to camp pendelton.

Stayed: April 2012
4  Thank petesmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seahorse Resort
Seahorse Resort
#8 of 18 in San Clemente
159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-San Clemente Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Mateo Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Campground

Address: 3030 Del Presidente, San Clemente, CA 92672
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in San Clemente
Price Range: £10 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
San Mateo Campground Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing