We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in san clemente”
Review of Cafe Rae

Cafe Rae
Ranked #34 of 215 Restaurants in San Clemente
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in san clemente”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This husband and wife team are amazing! Food is hearty, creative, and above all, delicious! Plenty of options for everyone... they allow all sorts of substitutions for different diets. Small place so its best first thing one the morning. Do yourself a favor: next sunday, grab breakfast at 8 here and stroll the farmer's market afterwards... :)

Helpful?
Thank Pioneerandexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coleman, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Almost hate to recommend this place. . .”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

. . .only because it is already small, a little loud, but oh so worth a visit! We just happened upon this place, but I can say it was and is one of our most favorite places! Friendly, creative menu with specials, and small, but fun! I had the special huevos ranchos with Cuban chicken...so good! We also ordered the blueberry coconut pancakes that were so big we had to take them home and enjoy them later. Fresh fruit available. Just good food all around! We ate brunch but can't wait to try a lunch. Even at brunch it is crowded, but certainly worth any wait!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doodie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome-best food on the trip”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Cute and unique interior. Blueberry, coconut pancakes to die for. I had Cuban chicken huevos rancheros that were fresh and real. I loved the food and the cook and waiter were so personable and friendly. Hope I get to go back again someday.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank utahwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Is the first time I ate at this adorable little café in San Clemente today. We each ordered omelettes. My sweetheart had a bacon avocado and cheese omelette. I had a sausage mushroom and cheese omelette. Are the owners who are husband-and-wife team are so nice. Jenny is the wife and she makes beautiful silkscreen products. It's a cozy little café with a lot of wonderful bright colors. Will be back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PebblesCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding food.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This restaurant is an excellent place for breakfast or lunch. The owner/chef is very friendly as is his wife and the entire wait staff. We love the food there, especially his brisket. We have had it in an omelette and a sandwich. A very casual, relaxed place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rae also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Cafe Rae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing