We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Reviewed 4 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Tarun S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM-CRHOTEL, General Manager at Rodeway Inn San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn San Clemente
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

The continental breakfast was scarce....just a few items available. The location is excellent and it's just a short drive down to the beach. I thought it would be noisy by the street but I slept well. The back of the hotel has a large playing field so it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the busy street but I didn't hear any noise while trying to sleep. The roo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CRHOTEL, General Manager at Rodeway Inn San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Hello Diane,

Thank you for your review! I'm glad you had a nice quiet stay. Our goal is to provide a quiet, clean and comfortable room for a reasonable price. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.

Thanks,
Sheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Room smell! Smoking room was booked accidently. After 5 minutes in the room, we can’t stand the smell. I asked the front desk to change room but she refused because one corner of the bed cover was flip opened to sit on. Even after I have fixed the bed. She claims that the room was used. I was willing to pay extra to the available more expensive room. I was ready to checkout the time to move to a different place but stay after all since it is only a day. Very bad attitude manager! My clothes even smell smoke after got home. Not happy at all.
Note: Violation of fire code - Smoke alarm was wrap with a plastic bag.
- Room 114 guest.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Chidan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CRHOTEL, General Manager at Rodeway Inn San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hello Chidan,

I am sincerely sorry that our staff did not accommodate your request upon immediate report of the issue. Although I can not change your experience, I will be using this as a training issue for our staff to handle this type of situation better, especially when a guest reports an issue immediately. Our goal is to provide a clean and comfortable room for all our guests.

Sincerely,
Sheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Adequate. The breakfast offerings are very few and there is little or no space to eat near to the food. I will use another nearby motel/hotel as my first choice, but this would serve as a backup if the other is full.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CRHOTEL, General Manager at Rodeway Inn San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Hello Karen,

Yes, our breakfast is limited to a continental selection of danishes, bagels, cereal bars, oatmeal, apples, oranges, coffee, tea, and apple and orange juice served in the lobby. I am glad to hear that overall your stay was adequate.

We do our best to keep our prices competitive for our amenities and a good value for our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Sheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was a great room for what we needed. We hope next time to get a non-smokers room, the bagels and juice was good start to our morning walks along the beach (San Clemente Pier)

The staff was nice and there was plenty of parking, nice area, we got to see the local kids play in the park across the street...nice treat:)

We were there from 08/07 to 08/14/2013, we will be staying there again soon...I hope!

Room Tip: Overall the stay was great, corner room 211 was good, It was right in front of the elevator, we slep...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REYNA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CRHOTEL, General Manager at Rodeway Inn San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Hello REYNA01,

I am pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and a great vacation. It is nice to be a short distance from the beach! If you are in the area again, please reserve a room with us directly, as we will be able to guarantee you a non-smoking room upon reservation.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Sheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Second time visiting this property. This is a great location and affordable for the Dana Point area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CRHOTEL, General Manager at Rodeway Inn San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Hello Allen,

Thanks for being a repeat customer. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.

Best Regards,
Sheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM-CRHOTEL, General Manager at Rodeway Inn San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
0.7 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
238 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-San Clemente Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn San Clemente

Address: 1301 N El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-4696 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range: £63 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn San Clemente 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging establishment located half mile from North Beach. Easy access to Pacific Coast Highway 1 and Interstate 5. Clean, quiet and good value for the area as this small business keeps prices competitive for the area. Free wi-fi for all guests and a complimentary quick grab-and-go breakfast items in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing