We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Always Inn San Clemente B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 San Clemente B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

As others have noted, the location and breakfast at this wonderful B&B are unbeatable, but it's the friendliness and helpfulness of Freda that really makes it successful.When you stay here, you really do feel as if you're staying in a friend's home, it's that relaxed and charming.We felt like part of the family.From now on , we won't stay anywhere else in San Clemente.

Chuck H

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cataratas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    26
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
110
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived late on a Saturday night, however, due to a booking error (not Freda's fault) there were no rooms available. Freda invited us in and insisted she would find something for us. She offered drinks and then set about ringing her housekeeper to get a property ready.
She then recommended a place for us to eat whilst she sorted the details. Freda insisted we went for breakfast the next morning. Freda you did us proud, loved the fruit bowl and all the other delicacies you came up with.
It was only a one night stay but if you fancy a change from hotel chains and conversation with someone who is genuinely interested this is a great place to stay.
Freda thank you very much for helping us - it was much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Signed up for a living social deal for 2 nights- although it was a rainy stormy weekend, we still enjoyed our stay at this cute beach bed and breakfast. Our room was a bit on the small side, but it didn't matter as we spent so much time walking around town, at the beach and at local restaurants. The owner Freda is gracious and a wonderful hostess. She makes you feel at home instantly. This is not for those of you who are looking for a 5 star hotel. This is however for those travelers who are looking for a down to earth, friendly and cozy place. The homemade breakfasts are delicious. The walk to the beach is only 10 minutes and 5 minutes to downtown which has great shops and restaurants. Thanks for a fun stay Freda :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattimelt41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our first experience at a B&B and me and my husband loved it. We came down on a friday evening and Freida welcomed us warmly with cookies. She made a few suggestions for dinner and let us settle in. That night we stayed in and watched a DVD from the over 100+ collection. The following morning, we anxiously awaited the famous breakfast - started off with a fresh fruit bowl, then a warm pastry and muffin as a second course and ended with a savory meal of country fried potatoes, sausage and an omelet. We were more than stuffed with all the delicious food. Freida also gave us a pass to check out the San Juan Capistrano Mission - it was beautiful and also next to where we were married. The following morning's breakfast did not disappoint either - we had the fresh fruit and warm muffin to start and then she made a "San Clemente Sheppard's Pie" and Frittata - both delicious but I went back for seconds on the sheppard's pie and she even let us take some home in tupperware - so sweet. Since we are expecting, she gave us honeydew and papaya to take home with us to make sure that I was getting enough vitamin C. So thoughtful! We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Sea Mist room, with the patio attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My boyfriend and I could not wait to celebrate out Anniversary and Valentines when we booked our trip to San Clemente. When we arrived we were greeted by the most amazing hostess any one could ask for. Freda was very delightful and full of life. Her smile completely lit up the room making her home extremely inviting. This was the first time Eric and I had ever been to a B&B and with the excellent hospitality we received from Freda, it will not be our last. In fact we are booking for May this year.

From the moment we arrived we felt like royalty, she treats her guests top notch! She had a bountiful amount of information on things to do in the area, places to eat and things to avoid. The rooms were exteremly clean and loved the private bathrooms in each room. Even down to the minor details of fresh flowers in the room, mints on the counter and all the extra goodies one may forget at home (robes, blow dryer, beach towels, sunscreen, beach bag...etc!). This is just the begining, Oh My Goodness...Freda is an AMAZING chef. The breakfast provided was over the top yummy!

We have aboslutely NO COMPLAINTS! I would recommend this B&B to anyone. I cant wait to go back.

Thanks again Freda!

Kiki and Eric <3

Room Tip: The large room was our favorite, did not have a priviate patio, but we loved the spaciousness of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

When I arrived I was welcomed with open arms by Freda the owner of the Always Inn which immediately made me feel at home. And an eclectic and charming home it is. Cozy and comfortable with all the amenities one would need for a memorable stay. Now all that would have been enough to entice anyone for a repeat visit but Freda preceded next morning to cook me a gourmet breakfast which by the way was the best I've ever been served at a B&B. On top of all that the location is superb in walking distance to the fine restaurants and shops that reside in the
the beautiful village of San Clemente. Thanks for your hospitality and pass to the Mission at San Juan Capistrano. See you soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spartacus57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were able to arrive early in the day, on a Saturday. The house is cozy, with so many art objects to ooo and ahhh over. The room was clean and had a private bathroom. It had an electric heater that looked like a pot belly stove. The room also had a private entrance to the beautiful patio, fully equipped with plants, lanterns, wind chimes, patio furniture and privacy. It was wonderful. We went down to the pier during the day and had lunch and walked the pier. After we came back up, we relaxed in the room and got ready for a walk to the downtown for dinner. It was only a half a block away from the main drag. A wonderful location for being able to drink and walk!!! We went to Beach Fire, a great sports bar/ really great restaurant!!! The food was outstanding and the service was warm and friendly. We went back to our room and sat out on patio and talked and relaxed for hours. It was just what we needed! The next morning, we woke up late after a great night on a fine bed. We had a cooked to order breakfast that was out of this world. All the food was fresh and wonderfully tasty. We visited with Freda and her friend Sam. It was relaxing and very interesting. We felt at home from the moment Freda answered the front door and invited us into her world.
We are really looking forward to our next visit, and our next, and so on and so on.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room in the back of the house, the Palm Whisperer. Private and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathieyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Clemente
Holiday Inn San Clemente
#6 of 18 in San Clemente
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Patriots Boutique Motel
The Patriots Boutique Motel
#13 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Always Inn San Clemente B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Always Inn San Clemente B&B

Property: Always Inn San Clemente B&B
Address: 177 Avenida Cabrillo, San Clemente, CA 92672-4040
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Always Inn San Clemente B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Always Inn San Clemente Bed & Breakfast is a charming beach close Tuscany-style inn located in the heart of the historic San Clemente downtown village. Winner of TripAdvisor's Service Excellence Award, Always Inn offers well-appointed rooms with all the amenities of a four-star hotel, without extra charges. Warm hospitality, clean room with private jetted spa baths, scrumptious breakfasts, cookies, bottled water, Belgian chocolates and fresh fruit make the inn popular with romantic getaway couples and business travelers alike. Just three blocks from San Clemente’s famed pier and beach, the inn is just steps away to 70 shops and boutiques, 50 restaurants, 12 art galleries, the Cabrillo Playhouse, the pier train station, and the beach hiking and biking trail. Guests enjoy meals on our deck, courtyard or outside patios, with palm trees, roses, gardenias, colorful vines and succulent and herb container gardens. Our family concierge service can arrange for theatre tickets, golf tee times, whale watching tours, visits to the mission, restaurant reservations, spa packages, picnic lunches, candlelight dinners in the courtyard, flowers, chocolate covered strawberries and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Always Inn San Clemente B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing