We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, ver nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Oakdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good location, ver nice rooms”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I'll start off by saying that I gave this property a 4 based on the quality of the rooms, the lobby, and the hotel entrance.They are all very nice, but the pool area was not. Thankfully, that was not important to us. We were with another couple and both of our rooms were very much to our liking, clean and comfortable. We had 2 queens with a choice of pillows, and extremely comfy bedding, an important factor for us as we are not usually good sleepers. Our room was on the "ocean view" side, we thank the staff very much for that! We did not eat breakfast there, preferring to walk to a different spot each morning. This hotel is within walking distance to a lot of places for shopping and eating, but if you want to walk to the ocean, be ready for a long uphill climb back! Off street parking is a plus too. If you want a decently priced hotel that is clean, comfortable, and friendly, don't hesitate to book this one. Thank-you to the very helpful and gracious staff too!

Room Tip: It never hurts to ask for a room with a view, back side of the hotel abuts the highway and can be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoLadyUpperMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    75
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
84
77
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We moved away from San Clemente a year ago and have been back to visit friends many times. We always stay at this location. It is convenient to everything in town and easy for my teenager to visit friends without needing a ride. The staff is excellent from check in to check out and help to resolve any issues quickly. It is our so cal home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyFagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Everyone was so friendly and so nice. The gentleman at the front desk for the night shift gave me an upgrade and I was able to have a beautiful view of the ocean!!! I most definitly will come back to stay on my next vacation

Room Tip: get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diego g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Troy the manager always remembers his guests names and makes everyone feel welcome. The entire staff extend themselves to the needs of the guests. The location is perfect, rooms always clean, great breakfast and great price point. I stay alone and never feel alone. Better than any local B&B 3x the price!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swampy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The facilites and staff, were wonderful in a great locati.on. Convenient to walk San Clemente. I arrived early, and the staff got me my room ahead of the check in time. They were knowledgable about the area, friendly and helpful. I would book here before bothering anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Thank you to Todd, Shane, Troy and Katie for helping me out with a problem with my reservation. They were pleasant, respectful and shared my frustration. They were able to solve the issue. The back rooms although next to the highway are surprisingly quiet. You can pay more for the front rooms that have an ocean view. The restaurant was reasonably priced for breakfast and the service was fast. The waiter was very nice. Clean rooms and spacious with fridge and microwave.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fgons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was a guest at the Holiday Inn San Clemente for a business trip this year. I was impressed by the efficient, genuinely friendly staff. They went out of their way to meet requests and needs. Breakfast buffet in the morning was delicious. The rooms were more than comfortable, extremely clean with added amenities like a mini fridge, wifi & coffee maker. The ocean-view balcony was my favorite part of the stay. Just a short drive and quick walk from the beach and hub of town with good eats quickly accessible. It was a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean-side of the hotel when you book, the opposite faces the interstate and can be a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Clemente
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 111 South Avenida de la Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92672 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Clemente Resort Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the calming, magnificent beauty of the Pacific Ocean and the surrounding sun, fun and beachside culture at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection® Member hotel in San Clemente, CA. Our non-smoking San Clemente hotel is located in the historic downtown area of town within walking distance to the pier, beaches, boutique shops and restaurants. Nearby attractions include: Outlets at San Clemente Trestles Beach Casa Romantica Cultural Center Dana Point Harbor Mission San Juan Capistrano Invite your friends, family and colleagues to your next work or social event in one of our 3 meeting rooms, which can hold 40 people for banquets and 60 for conferences. Amenities include: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Exercise room Business center Outdoor pool Guest room amenities include a microwave, refrigerator, desk with ergonomic chair, in-room tea and coffee and flat-screen TV. Featured rooms face the Pacific Ocean; and some feature a hot tub and balcony. Let the destination reach you at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. San Clemente hotels like ours help you discover the places, moments and experiences that make each place special. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing