We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites San Clemente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I put a call out to Comfort Suites requesting a service. I had the absolute pleasure of speaking with Armando. He hands down gave the BEST customer service I have ever had. When you stay somewhere, cost, comfort and location are not the only important things to look at. Customer Service is the core of an establishment. If you have an excellent customer service experience, you know you will be back and you will be telling everyone you know about it. Thanks to Armando I am praising Comfort Suites San Clemente.
Thank you for being more then accommodating. Armando, Thank you for helping me on Father's Day put a smile on someone's face and a stoke in them.
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando B, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Jaime,

Thank you for taking the time to give a a Big Shout out here at the Comfort Suites San Clemente CA. I am thrilled that we could accommodate you for this fathers day weekend! Thank you for giving us a try! I'm so pleased to hear we scored so highly in your book. We have just finished our renovation and our entire staff is so thrilled to here a very positive response. We take great care to make sure everything is perfect for you when you check in. We appreciate you taking a moment to tell others of your wonderful stay. Thank you! We look forward to your next visit!
Regards,
Armando.
General Manager.
Comfort Suites.
San Clemente. Ca
949-361-6600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    72
    43
    19
    32
See reviews for
89
65
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have stayed here at least once a year for the past few years, for surf trips to San Onofre. Personally, I didn't have a problem with the old hotel, but the upgraded rooms are nice. It appears that the place is being remodeled slowly (our hallway had brand new carpet) but there was no construction noise to disturb us. Yes, there were a few things that still needed work in the rooms (door latch in bathroom was loose, and the drain on the balcony wasn't emptying water from our wetsuits out) but the fact is, this place is the closest hotel to SanO, and we pick this place because they have a warm jacuzzi to soak in immediately after getting out of the chilly ocean. Like, jump in the car, drive 4 mins, and you're in the jacuzzi fast. Everything else is gravy as far as I'm concerned. That being said, overall this place is clean & comfortable, they have coffee and tea round the clock, newspapers and full breakfast for us in the morning, and they even gave us a late check-out so that we could surf dawn-patrol and come back to shower before heading home! Use your AAA discount, and it's a great deal. We'll be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesscail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando B, Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guests,


Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Armendo
General Manager
Comfort Suites San Clemente Beach
949-361-6600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, WI
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

So, what to say here. Well, first, you are no where close to the water. Second, the picture is misleading in that in front of the hotel there is a road then a freeway. So, the location is not all that grand, and honestly (although I am not too sure about this) it appears to be in kind of a rundown area - not a real touristy kind of area.

It was like one person was running everything, and everyone else was either off work or renovating. It just did not have a comfortable, homey look and feel. Right outside our door there were a bunch of cabinets in boxes awaiting installation for the renovation that is obviously ongoing. Breakfast was available, but there was not a lot of attention paid to restocking, cooking, etc. the sweet rolls were obviously frozen and thawed out, because mine was cold and soppy from the ice that I think had melted on it.

Rooms are small and obviously refurbished. Despite the upgrades, our air conditioner was a window unit and looked like it had not been cleaned for a while. We had one of the newer rooms, and while the cabinetry was in, there was a hole where the light fixture next to the bed should have been, the toilet seat cover was just sort of having there, and it did not look like the bathroom had been touched.

I think the management is trying. They were very friendly, but I think that Comfort Suites needs to take a look at this one, and put some money into the place to get the project done. I think that the maintenance person was the one working on the renovation. So, when we needed towels and a quick repair to our fridge, the person that was renovating was running around helping us too.

I think they are trying to make a decent and welcoming property out of this place, but they are not there yet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenatHome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando B, Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about are hotel online.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are surprised to read your review. We are still renovating but our second and third floor are 100% done. New furniture and brand new rooms The best in the town are ready. Yes outside remodeling materials are required to finish renovation. One must understand it and appreciate it.
We understand that you had several problems with us during our renovations. We have read all the problems and had rectified them all so that this will not happen to another guest. once again thank you for taking the time to give us your full review, we take everything here in consideration. whether it is positive or negative, and we will be sure to fix any problems like this for all our guest in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Armando
General Manager
Comfort Suites San Clemente Beach
949-361-6600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Clemente hotels

Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you can overlook the remodeling that is going on, this isn't too bad of a place to stay. I have to admit that as soon as we walked into the lobby I had second thoughts. And even more so when we got into our room. Especially when I looked at Trip advisor and saw more recent negative reviews. We decided to give it a chance. Breakfast wasn't good the first day. It seemed like there wasn't enough staff to take care of preparing the food. The same man that took care of the front desk was also mixing waffle batter and making eggs. The second day was better. More things were organized. Take note that this hotel is not close to the ocean. Like a different reviewer stated, I-5 runs in front of it. Ask for a room in the back if you want quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 534PatM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando B, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Armando
General Manager
Comfort Suites San Clemente Beach
949-361-6600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL UNTIL YOU CONTACT MANAGEMENT:
My wife and I have stayed at this location before and been satisfied. However, on this occasion, we were more than disappointed.

THIS HOTEL SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN OPEN TO THE PUBLIC DURING OUR STAY !

Further, no discount was offered for all the inconvenience guests had to put up with during our stay. Given what we put up with, The $75 dollar rate should have been $45/night at best.

While we were advised that the hotel was under renovation, nonetheless the situation we and others faced on March 23rd was shameful at best.
On March 23rd, we were shown Room 350 where the "upgrade" was said to be finished - and in most respects it had. However, someone might want to check the workmanship in the bathroom as calking etc had obviously not been completed by a professional. Hopefully, the workmanship will be corrected at final inspection. We couldn't open the balcony doors due to the spray painting going on outside.
The front entrance was all but totally blocked by construction. No handicapped parking or handicapped entrance was available for guests so needing.
The interior of the hotel was a disaster.
The food area had dust from the construction. Indeed, the breakfast area should have been closed during our entire time and $7 coupon arrangements made with a local restaurant that was just a few minutes away. Supplies were lacking or non existent, and most of the time there was no attendant to open the area or to restock supplies as needed. The electrical system kept kicking out so one could not cook toast or anything else. One gentleman took over 30 minutes to finally get a waffle cooked - then it came out like rubber. That same gentleman cut his foot on glass that was near the pop machine on the third floor. I am shocked that the Health Department allowed the food area to remain open.
Our floor had construction equipment (saws etc) at both ends of the hallway. Paintings were scattered on the floor all around the elevator.
Wanting to use the pool, one family found that the exterior painting company had contaminated the pool area so it was totally unavailable.
The Front Desk and Housekeeping staffs were the only positive thing about our stay. They continued to work despite such hazardous conditions.
We stayed the second night only because of its proximity to our needs.

Room Tip: I am sure that - at the end of the construction - that this hotel will again be one that we will con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando B, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Don,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about are hotel online.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations.
We understand that you had several problems with us during our renovations. We have dropped the ball in giving you the best experience possible, we have read all the problems and had rectified them all so that this will not happen to another guest. once again thank you for taking the time to give us your full review, we take everything here in consideration. whether it is positive or negative, and we will be sure to fix any problems like this for all our guest in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Armando
General Manager
Comfort Suites San Clemente Beach
949-361-6600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Lovely location, very clean and nice!! We were on the road and called for reservations, and Armando the manager did advise us that they were in the middle of renovating the rooms. I need a handicapped room and he had one for us. He was very polite and friendly and advised us again that they were in the middle of renovations. We found it to be a great place to stay, room was big, bed comfy and all clean. So we stayed an additional night. San Clemente is a very quaint, with very friendly people. We would go back to San Clemente to visit and stay again at this hotel!! The manager is a fine young man, we hoped they pay him what he is worth!!

Room Tip: The handicapped room on the 2nd floor was very large, comfy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

What a joke!!!!! Stayed at this dump 2 nights in Room 104---never stayed in such a ghetto hotel in my ENTIRE LIFE...Motel 6 looks like the 4 Seasons compared to this dive!! 12 x 12 pillows----NOT BED SIZE LIKE ALL HOTELS, room stank with fowl odor, horrible customer service. No way to walk to beach because the 5 freeway separates you from it so 2 block advertisement is a scam to get you there. Unable to stand at vanity while a person leaves bathroom because the door bumps into you. Blow dryer, phone, vanity lights were all BROKEN!!! When I asked if we could get another pillow since there were 3 of us (and ony 2 on bed)I was told by Nick to "COME BACK TOMORROW!!!" Are you kidding?? Next night toilet overflowed all over bathroim and into room. Had to move upstsirs at 5am just to shower ALTHOUGH THEY NEVER OFFERED TO GIVE US ANOTHER ROOM WHEN WE TOLD ABOUT BROKEN ITEMS FIRST NIGHT---- TOLD US THEY HAD NO OTHER ROOMS WHEN THEY WERE AT 73% FULL!!!! Owner Sam was impossible claiming this is a LIMITED HOTEL ONLY...He aso emailed me directly cling me a luar when I filed a complaint with Choice Hotels. SO IF YOU ONLY WANT LIMITED SERVICE THEN BY ALL MEANS BOOK HERE. I expect things like bed pillows, working appliances, toliets that work and customer service!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachbabyatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando B, Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Armendo
General Manager
Comfort Suites San Clemente Beach
949-361-6600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.7 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Clemente
Holiday Inn San Clemente
#6 of 18 in San Clemente
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites San Clemente

Property: Comfort Suites San Clemente
Address: 3701 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-3452
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites San Clemente 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach Comfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach.Comfort Suites®, a favorite San Clemente hotel less than 1 mile from San Clemente State Beach, near Camp Pendleton, Trestles beach, and other Orange County beaches in Southern California.Our beautiful Orange County hotel is nearby to the exciting oceanfront activities at San Clemente, San Onofre State Beaches, the cultural events at Laguna Beach, and the prestigious U.S. Marine Corps Base at Camp Pendleton.Comfort Suites San Clemente hotel are often used as weekend getaway locations by couples and groups who are visiting Disneyland, LEGOLAND, Catalina Island or the surfing events that are hosted beside the San Clemente Municipal Pier. We also offer year round corporate discounts to our business class traveling on business Monday thru Friday. Our economical Comfort Suites Hotel and the other hotels near San Clemente provide easy-access to a vast selection of Comfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach dining opportunities, golf courses or resorts, and the tourist-oriented nightlife districts around Southern California hotels. Comfort Suites in San Clemente is within easy driving distance to many popular attractions, concerts, sporting events, and shopping opportunities found at: * Orange County Beaches * SeaWorld San Diego * San Diego Zoo * Angel Stadium of Anaheim * Knott's Berry Farm * Laguna Art Museum. Comfort Suites is one of the leading San Clemente hotels for business travelers and families who are searching for an up-scale alternative to Orange County Hotel accommodations. Our San Clemente beach hotel amenities and hotelComfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach accommodations include: * Free full-size hot breakfast * Free Wi-Fi high-speed Internet access * Free fitness center, hot tub, heated outdoor pool * Free local calls and weekday newspaper * Free on-site parking * Guest Laundry. Southern California hotels and our elegant San Clemente Comfort Suites location are popular lodgings for business travelers who enjoy our scenic ocean shores. Our Comfort Suites San Clemente hotel offers competitive corporate rates. Please contact our friendly detail-oriented customer service department for more information. Comfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach. Luxurious Pacific Ocean partial-view suites are available for honeymoons, anniversary celebrations and other special events. Free champagne, heart-shaped whirlpool tubs and high-quality linens can help to make your stay at our elegant San Clemente Beach hotel accommodation a very pleasurable experience.All guest suites at the Comfort Suites San Clemente have been recently renovated to provide the latest amenities expected in all high-quality Orange County hotels. In-room laptop safes, fridge/microwave/coffee options and beautiful up-to-date furnishings make our Comfort Suites lodgings among the best hotels in San Clemente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing