We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great experience. comfort and location to the base. Loved it! I would stay here again. Friendly, efficient, and fast check in. Loved they had complementary drinks in the lounge and variety at breakfast. Got a kick out of the post it note on headboard. But definitely a step up from "other" hotels and I felt everything was clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    150
    49
    22
    15
See reviews for
284
141
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I have been attending the Pageant of the Masters up in Laguna Beach every last Thursday in August for the past five years. After two consecutive years staying at this Hampton Inn and Suites, I think we've found our "home base" and are happy with the digs. To clarify, we live in San Diego and have a view of Mission Bay from our house, so seeing the ocean or being on the beach is not a priority for us when we book this for our one-nighter. A good night's sleep, nice people at the front desk, safe and close parking (not to mention free), and a reasonable rate are. Mission accomplished on all accounts here.

I can equally recommend rooms on either side of the hotel, having stayed in both. I almost prefer the west-facing, because you don't get the early morning sun coming in from the east, and I think the rooms are better. As a general rule of thumb, though, go buy some foam ear plugs at CVS (the fat orange ones) and put them in your travel bag. You never know when you'll get a noisy neighbor or someone who insists on banging their room door shut when they go down early for the free breakfast buffet. They'll also come in handy if you somehow are able to hear the traffic noise from I-5, which I never do.

I also have to give a shout-out to the management and front desk staff of this hotel. They are always nice, helpful, and efficient. I know we aren't dropping a ton of money to stay there, but they treat us like we are, and it's appreciated.

Room Tip: I think all the king bedded rooms facing the golf course are accessible ones -- so if someone with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDAim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in San Clemente because our son got married at Wedgewood, which was right next door. Beautiful venue overlooking a golf course. Very convenient for everyone. The rooms were suites - separate sleeping area, but the "front room" had a sleeper sofa, chair, tv, microwave, so you could still entertain while little ones ( and big ones) took naps! Also, the comforter was a white cotton duvet, that would be laundered for every guest! Not the gross synthetic bedspreads that may never get washed and you are afraid to sit on. Their continental breakfast was great. Fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, toast, cereal, make your own waffles, coffee, tea, juices. And a large eating area, so when 20 of us met up for breakfast, we had space to sit, talk and eat. I didn't take advantage of the pool or hot tub, but I did spend some time in the exercise room. Nice amount of exercise equipment and weights. I would highly recommend this Hampton Inn to everyone. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the golf course and the wedding site. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed one night at the Hampton San Clemente. The hotel is conveniently located right off of I-5. My room was comfortable and very clean (and I'm picky). The front desk staff was extremely friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ZUtravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

If you can't be in the "Pier Bowl" this is the next best thing. The hotel is just a couple minutes drive from the State Beach at Calafia -- a great beach for surfing or boogie boarding. Tip: When you make your reservation, ask for an EAST facing room. (That's right, a room away from the ocean and awesome sunsets.) Why? Traffic noise. The Hampton is right along I-5 freeway. The trucks rumbling through at 1:00a could wake you. Still, we've had west facing rooms twice now and survived. Ear plugs helped. Overall, nice hotel with a friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very enjoyable stay. Very clean and friendly staff. Balcony rooms on the back of the hotel. Rooms on the front overlooking the ocean and Interstate 5 could hear some road noise. Very convenient to all local sights. Easy access off interstate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The room was clean, separate sitting area was especially nice, complementary breakfast good, and the staff that I interacted with were very friendly. Only problem was the room key quit working 30 plus minutes before check out time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
0.2 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seahorse Resort
Seahorse Resort
#7 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
Address: 2481 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-3351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Clemente
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the new Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, an all-suite hotel with ocean views, resort amenities, friendly service and a romantic Southern California ambiance near San Clemente Beach and Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
Hampton Inn San Clemente
San Clemente Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing