We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always the bar”

Avila's El Ranchito
Ranked #15 of 215 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always the bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Yep, we always sit in the bar. I always get tacos. Hubby always gets Avilas soup. Always drink lots of margaritas. Always fun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    66
    30
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“try the tomatillo sauce!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

On our visit to San Clemente we decided to try El Ranchito. We were not disappointed. I ordered the chicken enchilada with tomatillo sauce and can honestly say it was the best tomatillo sauce I've ever had. The food was a delicious balance of flavors. Even the grandkids loved their food. The beans and rice were perfectly prepared on our visit. The Chimichanga was crispy and had great flavor. We would definitely eat there again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shopgirl5934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Great lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Ha I just saw that someone reviewed this as too fast. Went with kids last week and loved the fast service. Went with a friend for lunch and felt rushed out. Food got there so quick. Love the Shrimp Ajo - not Diablo -- too hot. Good Ponegrante Margarita. No salt. If you want to relax take time to order or just order an Appetizer then dinner. Share a meal and chips.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanclementefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Child Friendly Not Adult Friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have been going to Avila's El Ranchito in San Clemente, CA since it opened. Always good food and friendly staffing. However, management has changed - went in last night for dinner (2 couples) - arrived at 6:55pm - ordered our drinks - waited about five minutes for those, asked what we would like for our dinner. In exactly four minutes the food was delivered - that included a steak fajita, a chimichanga, tostado, and a quesadilla. Also ordered the guacamole as a 'starter'. However, everything came at once - no real time to relax and chat - check came - out by 7:30pm. So much for an evening out. My advice would be if you have children this is the place to come, as no waiting, nor chatting. If you are adults only - I would recommend going to South of Nicks or La Siesta as you can actually enjoy the evening out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellenchambel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We were driving from Santa Ana to Sad Diego and decided to grab a quick light bite in San Clemente. Didnt realize that they have a few of these family owned restaurants, but walked in anyway. Ordered soup and taco combo. We were very impressed with the soup, fresh and full of chicken meat and if you add in some tortilla chips, it is one of the best soups. Oh, the touch of avacado in the soup was a great idea. The crispy tacos were deep friend so millions of calories but boy they were good!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avila's El Ranchito also viewed

 
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Avila's El Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing