We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneven”
Review of Roux Louisiana Kitchen - CLOSED

Roux Louisiana Kitchen
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Winchester
Transit: VTA Rte 23 VTA Rte 60
Corrales, NM
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Uneven”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Happened by here on a rainy night. The appetizer of friend green tomatoes which included shrimp was very good. The portions were very big for the stuffed baked potato and salad. The Cajun crab cakes were OK along with a generous salad. Service was rushed. Back room seems like an afterthought. Hanging out at the bar is probably the best reason to come.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jegnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
574 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Great for Dancing Following Dinner Elsewhere”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

First the bad:

This restaurant has average service and average food. The catfish was no better than the catfish I cook at home the same is true of the fried okra. If you go after eight you will not hear a thing because the DJ in the front room will blow you away. I am not saying it was bad but considering Louisiana is famous for food this place was just average.

The good

Great location, nice bar, great bartenders and great late night music scene.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHOCOOLATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good food and music”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We somehow managed to time it just right and get seated just as the band was starting. The only thing i would say is only the bar area seating gives you a good view of the band. Apart from that they just end up being background music.
The food was tasty and in large portions however nothing on the dessert menu really caught my eye as wow.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chakstoneboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The food is average. they are still in business because located in Santana Row. Will not go back.

Helpful?
Thank evt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok...but a long way from N'orleans!”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

What more can you say about Santana Row? Its an incredible visual experience that almost accounts for mediocre food. I have to say that this was that for me.

The food was just ok...not much more to say about it. The menu led me to believe I was going to have a pretty close to legit Louisiana experience. Rather, it was a notch above Black Eye Pea and not horribly unique. The service was not that great and maybe that could have been a deal changer.

Next time...I might just go to Maggiano's next door ;-).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing