We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken mattresses and dishonest management”
Review of Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valley Inn
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 17 October 2007

Our stay was so unsatisfactory that we left in the middle of the night. The mattress was so broken down it felt like a 600 lbs. man had been sleeping in the same spot for over a year and had left a permanent hole for future patrons to sink into. Three days later we're still having back problems from a terrible mattress and a terrible nights sleep (or lack thereof).
On check-in we asked which rooms were available because we didn't want to get the room next to our uncle. His snoring sounds like a chainsaw and is perfectly audible, usually through at least 2 walls. Management told us that the 3 rooms to the right of his were available, so we took the furthest from his room.
Several of the other rooms in the hotel were occupied by family who told us that management replaced the mattress in our room and a few of the other rooms the next morning.
When we contacted management by phone they refused to even give us a partial refund or discounted stay for next time. They said that they did not replace any mattresses in the hotel and that ours was the only room available that night.
Although we requested a refund, a simple apology would have brought us back to the hotel because of its convenient location, however, the outright lies given to us over the phone only compounded our frustration. We will never be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sassmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2007

We stayed 2 nights @ the Valley Inn in July 2006, we were there for Moto GP and flew in and out of San Jose. I found this place on Hotels.com and contacted them directly to book. Price was fair, property was horrible! We arrived really late @ night, got lost, the owners who live on sight we asleep and were not answering the phone, we stood outside trying to wake them up for 45 minutes before we were able to check. (just to clarify I did let the owner know we would be arriving late in the evening)

Once checked in we went to the room and we were disgusted. The room was hot, and I mean hot, muggy, & smelledof mildew. The sheets were mismatched and stained, the carpet was dark green with stains and bald spots throughout. The bathroomhad 2 towels (there was 3 of us) and the towels we the size of wash cloths. Shower had no water pressure, no tollietries were provided in the room. Air conditioner was at the same height as the bed closest to it, so when we had it on to try and cool the room, the person in that bed would freeze because the air was blowing right on them!

All in all, hated it, also it was in a bad area, close to the airport, yes, but kind of scary neighborhood. My advice, look somewhere else, don't be cheap, pay a little more for a better product.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AshleeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2006

Stayed here in June 2006. We were pleasantly surprised! I was a little nervous for the price - afraid of too good to be true. However, the room was nice, clean, roomy with a jacuzzi tub. They serve a "light" supper (salisbury steak the night we were there) & full breakfast included in the price. Not gourmet but good. Very close to the airport. Convenient for early morning departures which is why we chose it. Helpful staff. Printed our boarding passes for us. I'd definitely book this one again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Foster D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
3.9 mi away
Campbell Inn
Campbell Inn
#8 of 9 in Campbell
181 reviews
6.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#48 of 75 in San Jose
96 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#54 of 75 in San Jose
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#31 of 75 in San Jose
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#45 of 75 in San Jose
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Inn

Address: 2155 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-1146
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £94 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing