We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but not TOO cheap.”
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We chose this hotel because it was cheap and within walking distance of the Ren Faire. The main considerations in the choice besides location were the free WiFi and the free breakfast buffet. Seeing they had jacuzzi tubs was just a little icing on the cake.

Okay. STRONG four stars for the quality of this hotel at the price we paid.

I was expecting a LOT more divey, but the Arena was a nice little place! Good parking lot, nice staff, pretty lobby, comfortable seating outside... NOT your typical $86 a night hotel.

Beds were comfortable. Jacuzzi tub was AWESOME. WiFi worked well. Breakfast was free.

Some issues:
We had a total of four rooms in our traveling group. Some complained that the room was too cold. They had comforters rolled in the closet in SOME of the rooms, but not all. One of our group didn't have a stopper for the tub. One of our group found the breakfast "unacceptable", but the rest of us gobbled it down. I think some of the rooms also have had updates done more recently than others.

Would probably stay there for any San Jose trip I take in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMStaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

Was looking for a cheap enough place and found it :-) good value for money but they really need to remove that carpet that made me sneeze all the time.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The Arena hotel seemed a lot better in the reviews than in real life. It seemed fine and almost up-to-date from ouside and in the common areas but the room (202) looked like it had not been updated since the early 90's. Weirdly, the bath was enormous and possiby because there was no room for it, the sink was in the room. The bath just looked tired and a bit grubby. Everything did work but it wasn't a nice experience. There was a laminated menu for order-in pizza menu in the room which was just odd. The view was to the car park which was a nice change from the inside view.

The air-con worked but was noisy. When switching it off, it carried on making a noise and as the hotel maintenance coudn't fix it, they very kindly put us in a different room. Bring ear plugs as you can easily hear noises from the neighbouring rooms. Wifi and parking was free and the hotel was within the walking distance of the city centre which was a plus.

The breakfast was included. There were cereals, including the fluorescent kind, eggs, bacon, toast, some fruit that looked like they came out from the tin and some other bits. It was rather poor and not worth the effort The plates and cutlery were plastic. For some reason the kitchen staff had put a tips box on display which was just plain tacky.

This experience left me feeling like my visit was not worth the money ($90ish) and with the knowledge that I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: 202 had a noisy air conditioner on the date of travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

It's not The Ritz but it did the job. I've stayed her a few times for shows, most recently for Coldplay on 4/28/12. Easy to get to, free parking, free so so breakfast. Clean and comfortable yet older hotel. Ask for a room on the third floor, less noisy & be sure to turn on the refrigerator which we failed to do so none of our drinks stayed cold. I'll be back in October for Madonna. All in all, a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room and be sure to turn on the refrigerator when you arrive at your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sacto71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were looking for a discounted hotel for our trip down the California coast, this did not disappoint. The room is a bit dated but it was large, and most importantly clean and had a separate make up area outside of the bathroom.
I did not hear any street noise, Free parking and wifi with Continental breakfast included. It is also walking distance to restaurants

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandKtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I was visiting my daughter who is in college in SJSU and decided to stay here for a week because it was close to the campus and was reasonably priced compared to most of the hotels in the San Jose area. I was surprised and delighted with the size and the facilites the room had to offer. The room was huge with a full sized refridgerator microwave and a two ring cooker, a large T.V. and a huge jacuzzi in the bathroom.

The large bed was really comfortable as was the hotel in general. There was a complimentary continental breakfast which was more than adequate to set you up for the day. The staff were lovely especially the front desk they printed out directions for me on more than one occasion and made phone calls on my behalf free of charge. The parking and wifi were free which was a bonus as most hotels charge for these nowadays

All in all I had a wonderful stay here and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonnyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel as a stopover before we headed to the CA Central Coast. We got a discounted deal online and for that price, I could not have picked a better hotel or location. The staff were so nice and the rooms clean and well-equipped (fridge, Microwave). It also was very quiet - the only noise I heard was the cleaning in the morning.

One downside, no shuttle from the airport or to downtown. It almost made us pass this one up, but we opted for an over-priced cab and were not disappointed, once we arrived. They advertise evening snacks, which were very limited, so we hopped next door to the CVS and loaded up on our own version of snacks and cocktails. No swimming pool, but it was cold when we were there, so it was fine. Hiked to the Amtrak station the next morning (about 4 blocks) and headed south. Would definitely choose this property again!

Room Tip: Garden tub rooms are very nice! Ask for the rooms away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott San Jose Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#13 of 75 in San Jose
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
6.8 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Address: 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-3156
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £89 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Hotel features 89 spacious guestrooms offering floor plans from Deluxe King Rooms, Double Queen Rooms, to Deluxe suites. We offer corporate rates, AARP rates, and extended stay rates. We are located within walking distance to downtown San Jose and HP Pavilion. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast and dinner services during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel San Jose
Arena San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing