We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its all about the jacuzzi”
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Lakewood Pierce County, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Its all about the jacuzzi”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

And the location! Partner and I stayed here while in town for a concery at the very close by HP Pavillion. Room was clean, if a tad dated but is not a detractor as the main selling points is a roof over my head. The jacuzzi and the awesome bed are just major bonuses when you drive a long ways to be there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    137
    78
    48
    33
See reviews for
63
97
44
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here for a concert at the HP Pavillion. The Pavillion is about 1500 feet away, easy walk. The Hotel is decent, and served its purpose. I will stay here again if I attend another event at the Pavillion. The breakfast had several selections, but note that it is all microwaved food, so make your selections with that in mind.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreaminofmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stay here whenever we are in town for a Sharks game because the HP Pavillion is a 5 min walk from the hotel. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms could use some updating and maintenance. The rates are always reasonable and the parking is FREE.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I stayed here a couple of times recently and it's a great location--close to downtown San Jose, the HP Pavilion and Santa Clara University. It's a quick drive from the airport and convenient to most freeways. The hotel is a bit dated but the room decor has been updated somewhat recently. They could stand to remodel the bathrooms and the hotel lobby but for the price, it's clean, quiet and convenient. I'd stay here again should the need arise.

Room Tip: If there's an event at HP Pavilion, ask to be on the top floor away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryGentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were in town for the Carrie Underwood concert at the HP Pavillion in October.
The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the venue and also offers free parking.
Check in was friendly and quick.
The room was a king deluxe and was large, clean and comfortable and also had a microwave and a (noisy) fridge. The hallways needed to be vacuumed.
Breakfast was included but was very basic. The food didn't have a wow factor and it appeared that the "hot"? food had been sitting around for a while. Paper plates and bowls and plastic knives and forks - but it was free and the room rate was cheap so it's a case of you get what you pay for.
The hotel generally has a tired appearence and could probably do with a refurb.
But if you need a bed for the night following an event at the Pavillion you can't really go wrong staying here - we would come back should we ever be in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anjoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We were scheduled to stay at the Arena from December 27th through the 29th. The Arena was the best value hotel we found for these dates in San Jose after researching many other locations. The Arena also has FREE parking! One of the other hotels we looked into charges $26 per day for parking.

On the 26th our family in the area told us that we could stay at their house after all. The Arena Hotel graciously allowed us to cancel our reservation without penalty. Should we need a hotel in San Jose, we would not hesitate in choosing the Arena Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradleyjoecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

The pros:
The best night's sleep ever: very comfortable bed and pillows
Room is super spacious
Room is super clean
Fridge/ microwave/ coffee pot
Predictable gratis breakfast
Easy walk in heels to the HP Pavillion
Off street parking

The Cons:
Halls need vacuuming
Common areas beg for some sprucing up
Toilet runs
Fridge 'pings' continually
Had to ask for wash cloths and coffee cups
Fitted sheet pulled off the bed exposing mattress
Shower head needs soaked in CLR
Light bulb over sink is burned out

Bottom line. This isn't the destination, it's a place to sleep and shower. There is nothing closer. For just at $100/night., it's safe and clean where it needs to be.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
625 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#33 of 75 in San Jose
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Property: Arena Hotel
Address: 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-3156
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Hotel features 89 spacious guestrooms offering floor plans from Deluxe King Rooms, Double Queen Rooms, to Deluxe suites. We offer corporate rates, AARP rates, and extended stay rates. We are located within walking distance to downtown San Jose and HP Pavilion. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast and dinner services during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel San Jose
Arena San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing