We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty disgusting”
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
2 reviews
“Pretty disgusting”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

There wasnt even shampoo or soap. The sink in the bathroom starting backing up and i wasnt even using it. Really pretty disgusting. Otherwise the room itself is spartan and basic but clean. Just older. Service was really nice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    137
    77
    48
    33
See reviews for
63
96
44
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here for one night only. We got in late and left early. The room was very clean (no carpet!) and the staff was very nice. Also, the tub in the bathroom is huge! If I was looking for a cheap place to stay I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessiBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Sort of difficult to find (lucky I had GPS) and in a desolate part of town, though I'm thinking it's crowded with there is an event at the convention center or arena. Not many restaurants within walking distance. Rooms were on the small side and old, but they were clean. Each room has a jacuzzi tub, and I could hear the one above me rumbling, but mine did not work. No big deal for me, but if they promote it as an amenity, perhaps they should make certain it works. Plenty of parking in the back. Good breakfast in the AM. Contrary to a previous review, they do have WiFi, though signal was sort of weak at times. Staff was friendly and helpful. I'd stay there again if I were in the area again.

Room Tip: If the Jacuzzi is important to you, make test it out before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This turned out to be a great find for attending events at HP Pavilion in San Jose. If you are not from San Jose, and don't wish to drive home after an event, this is a great place as you can come early to avoid traffic, park at the hotel and have dinner in the area. It is 0.3 miles walking to the Pavilion so easy to walk to and from. Nice rooms with 2 queens, coffee, small restaurant on site, though not for late night, pleasant staff. This is not a 4 star place but clean, quiet and more than adequate for the little time you spend there.

Room Tip: Third floor off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Sachsen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Two colleagues of mine and I stayed at Arena in March for the GPU Technology Conference. As we were on a budget, Arena was a good choice - at least much better than the Ramada which seems to be the local choice for kids to party on a Saturday night.
The rooms are a bit run down as is the whole hotel and breakfast is not something to start the day with. However, parking is free and they have hot tbus in the rooms. The rooms are spacious, although sometimes a bit gloomy. The hotel itself is quiet. Overall it is an average hotel that fits in our travel budget.

This was our second time at Arena but I am sure it will be our last time. All week we had problems with the wifi. As we were attending an IT conference missing wifi was a no go. We complained right away on Saturday and were promised to get internet the next day. The next day we were promised internet on Monday. All three of us know our IT business so we tested what was wrong, however the explanations why internet wasn't working became more and more ridiculous every time we inquired on the progress of getting wifi back.

We asked to speak to the manager who never appeared and was not reachable via phone. The front desk refused to connect us to the manager pointing to his office hours which conveniently matched with the times we had to attend the conferences.

Long story short, they lied to us that they would take care of the internet, the manager never showed up / did not exist and when we asked for a refund (we had asked for good internet access) the front desk diverted us to the manager and refused to give us a refund.

In conclusion, we spent a whole week in the heart of Silicon Valley without internet access at our hotel.

The lack of internet on a business trip over a period of almost a week is unacceptable. The way Arena Hotel handled the situation made the situation unbearable.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael_Bussmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to go to a Bon Jovi concert at HP Pavilion. It is an easy 5 minute walk to the venue. We felt totally safe walking back to the hotel after the concert. There were so many people walking back to the hotel with us. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning was a little noisy, but we still could sleep. They offer free breakfast with eggs & bacon, free wifi, and free parking. It's not the Westin or Fairmont, but it was clean and comfortable and so close to our concert. I would definitely stay here again to go to an event at HP Pavilion.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRakit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

If you travel to the Silicon Valley, you know that business hotels can be very expensive - and without many frills. I booked a room at the Arena Hotel for a recent one-night stay in the Valley - and I found the hotel to be a pleasant surprise.

My flight arrived very late at night - and I was glad to have booked a hotel that was just 5 minutes from San Jose Airport. There was plenty of free parking available when I arrived at the hotel, and the person at the reception desk was courteous and efficient. Within 2 minutes of arriving, I was checked in and headed to my room.

The decor at the hotel is definitely dated - but it's not shabby or run down. It's just dated.

Upon entering the room, the first thing that I noticed was that the room was larger than standard business hotel rooms - which are typically very efficient, but pretty small. The Arena Hotel room was not huge, but I could tell that it had a couple of extra feet in width and length. The room was very clean, and it included a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. The room also had a large jacuzzi tub - and while you may be thinking "that's gross" - it was actually very modern and clean.

The internet at the hotel was very fast and easy to access. The free breakfast at the hotel was served in a very large dining room. The food was a nice assortment that included eggs, sausage, potatoes, pancakes, french toast, yogurt, cereal, milk, juice and coffee. Everything that I tried tasted good.

Whenever possible, I like to go running when I travel. The Arena Hotel - while on a busy street - is located just 2 blocks from the Guadalupe River Trail that is a protected (no cars!) running/biking path that extends for MILES through trees and grassy areas along the Guadalupe River. I really enjoyed a surprisingly serene run on the trail in the morning despite being in the middle of the Silicon Valley.

In summary, while not "contemporary" or "chic" - the Arena Hotel is a rock solid deal for business travelers in the Valley. If you are a runner - it's a no brainer.

Room Tip: The hotel is only two stories - so I don't think any of the rooms have views. My room was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkSandieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#31 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Row Hotel
The Row Hotel
#48 of 75 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Property: Arena Hotel
Address: 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-3156
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Hotel features 89 spacious guestrooms offering floor plans from Deluxe King Rooms, Double Queen Rooms, to Deluxe suites. We offer corporate rates, AARP rates, and extended stay rates. We are located within walking distance to downtown San Jose and HP Pavilion. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast and dinner services during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel San Jose
Arena San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing