We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the place we stay.”
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

When we come to visit our family in San Jose this is the place we stay. The rooms are comfortable, could use some updating but clean. The free breakfast is good. Not cook to order but solid. Definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcjimmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Arena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

There wasnt even shampoo or soap. The sink in the bathroom starting backing up and i wasnt even using it. Really pretty disgusting. Otherwise the room itself is spartan and basic but clean. Just older. Service was really nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here for one night only. We got in late and left early. The room was very clean (no carpet!) and the staff was very nice. Also, the tub in the bathroom is huge! If I was looking for a cheap place to stay I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessiBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Sort of difficult to find (lucky I had GPS) and in a desolate part of town, though I'm thinking it's crowded with there is an event at the convention center or arena. Not many restaurants within walking distance. Rooms were on the small side and old, but they were clean. Each room has a jacuzzi tub, and I could hear the one above me rumbling, but mine did not work. No big deal for me, but if they promote it as an amenity, perhaps they should make certain it works. Plenty of parking in the back. Good breakfast in the AM. Contrary to a previous review, they do have WiFi, though signal was sort of weak at times. Staff was friendly and helpful. I'd stay there again if I were in the area again.

Room Tip: If the Jacuzzi is important to you, make test it out before you unpack.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This turned out to be a great find for attending events at HP Pavilion in San Jose. If you are not from San Jose, and don't wish to drive home after an event, this is a great place as you can come early to avoid traffic, park at the hotel and have dinner in the area. It is 0.3 miles walking to the Pavilion so easy to walk to and from. Nice rooms with 2 queens, coffee, small restaurant on site, though not for late night, pleasant staff. This is not a 4 star place but clean, quiet and more than adequate for the little time you spend there.

Room Tip: Third floor off the street
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Two colleagues of mine and I stayed at Arena in March for the GPU Technology Conference. As we were on a budget, Arena was a good choice - at least much better than the Ramada which seems to be the local choice for kids to party on a Saturday night.
The rooms are a bit run down as is the whole hotel and breakfast is not something to start the day with. However, parking is free and they have hot tbus in the rooms. The rooms are spacious, although sometimes a bit gloomy. The hotel itself is quiet. Overall it is an average hotel that fits in our travel budget.

This was our second time at Arena but I am sure it will be our last time. All week we had problems with the wifi. As we were attending an IT conference missing wifi was a no go. We complained right away on Saturday and were promised to get internet the next day. The next day we were promised internet on Monday. All three of us know our IT business so we tested what was wrong, however the explanations why internet wasn't working became more and more ridiculous every time we inquired on the progress of getting wifi back.

We asked to speak to the manager who never appeared and was not reachable via phone. The front desk refused to connect us to the manager pointing to his office hours which conveniently matched with the times we had to attend the conferences.

Long story short, they lied to us that they would take care of the internet, the manager never showed up / did not exist and when we asked for a refund (we had asked for good internet access) the front desk diverted us to the manager and refused to give us a refund.

In conclusion, we spent a whole week in the heart of Silicon Valley without internet access at our hotel.

The lack of internet on a business trip over a period of almost a week is unacceptable. The way Arena Hotel handled the situation made the situation unbearable.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael_Bussmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to go to a Bon Jovi concert at HP Pavilion. It is an easy 5 minute walk to the venue. We felt totally safe walking back to the hotel after the concert. There were so many people walking back to the hotel with us. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning was a little noisy, but we still could sleep. They offer free breakfast with eggs & bacon, free wifi, and free parking. It's not the Westin or Fairmont, but it was clean and comfortable and so close to our concert. I would definitely stay here again to go to an event at HP Pavilion.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRakit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#9 of 75 in San Jose
641 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#32 of 75 in San Jose
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott San Jose Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Address: 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-3156
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £113 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Hotel features 89 spacious guestrooms offering floor plans from Deluxe King Rooms, Double Queen Rooms, to Deluxe suites. We offer corporate rates, AARP rates, and extended stay rates. We are located within walking distance to downtown San Jose and HP Pavilion. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast and dinner services during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel San Jose
Arena San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing