We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beds need updating”
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

This was my third or fourth stay at The Arena - all for shows at the now SAP Center. Location is excellent. Can't beat a two block walk back when everyone else is fighting traffic. Ample free parking included. Breakfast was so so. As others have stated on reviews, meats are being microwaved & the eggs are powdered. I have never however, until now, had such a horrible sleeping experience here. The beds were HORRIBLE. Old old old. Springs that popped as your rolled over. I must have previously had rooms that were updated. Stay away from #334. Walls are thin so ask for top (3rd) floor & ask to be away from the elevator. The hotel is old - old fixtures & decor - but it does the job. It's all about location. I plan to stay again in January but will be calling ahead to ask for a room with a newer bed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank sacto71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Not fancy, a little corny, not much to look at..but fairly priced, adequate and a good value describe the Arena Hotel. It is the proximity to the HP Pavilion for convention events that make it worth the stay. You may chuckle at the "fancy bathtubs" that are offered as they are monstrous useless old tubs..but the grab and go breakfast are better than many, if sparse. The location is not one you'd want to spend all of your San Jose time in, but if you're just in town for the an event at the Pavilion, it is close and more than ok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaPapaArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My brother lives in San Jose and I stay at this hotel every time I go out to visit. I have probably stayed there over a dozen times. The hotel is blocks from the SAP Center and very close to many major highways that run through the city. The hotel is older, but it is kept is great shape. My rooms have always been very clean and the staff is incredibly nice. They also have a really great breakfast with many hot food selections. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the Central Coast area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I really want to give this place 2 1/2 stars, but that's not an option. It is clean enough and safe enough (inside-not out) but very very minimal in terms of amenities. No pool, no work out room, and when I went to get a toothbrush they didn't have any at the front desk BUT did have a vending machine where I could get one for $3 (!). Most of the service was friendly and relatively prompt (when they knew they were going to be slow doing something, they said so, and apologized). The floors were peculiar, with the topography of a mini golf course, but I didn't see anything frightening, just old. On the plus side, it is walking distance to the arena, which is why we went there. However,once night falls the area gets a bit scary and we heard that a girl had her ticket snatched by a passing bicyclist, and also that there were a lot of break-ins to cars in the hotel parking lot (SO DO NOT LEAVE ANYTHING IN YOUR CAR). The tub was nice but there was no breakfast when we went down at 9, and there was supposed to be food till 9:30 (SO GET UP EARLY). The front desk deducted some from our bill because of this, but it was, all in all, a very uneven experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPBSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

When we come to visit our family in San Jose this is the place we stay. The rooms are comfortable, could use some updating but clean. The free breakfast is good. Not cook to order but solid. Definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcjimmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

There wasnt even shampoo or soap. The sink in the bathroom starting backing up and i wasnt even using it. Really pretty disgusting. Otherwise the room itself is spartan and basic but clean. Just older. Service was really nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here for one night only. We got in late and left early. The room was very clean (no carpet!) and the staff was very nice. Also, the tub in the bathroom is huge! If I was looking for a cheap place to stay I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessiBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott San Jose Downtown
1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#13 of 75 in San Jose
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#31 of 75 in San Jose
380 reviews
6.8 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Address: 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-3156
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £87 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Hotel features 89 spacious guestrooms offering floor plans from Deluxe King Rooms, Double Queen Rooms, to Deluxe suites. We offer corporate rates, AARP rates, and extended stay rates. We are located within walking distance to downtown San Jose and HP Pavilion. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast and dinner services during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel San Jose
Arena San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing