We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To old and run--down for the price.”
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The pros- hotel is super close to SAP center, clean, nice staff. The cons- hotel is way overpriced for how old and run-down it is. Feels more like a motel. Terrible uncomfortable beds with just a thread bare blanket and sheet on them.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nknik75rp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have stayed here twice for Peter Gabriel and Pink! concerts. It is within walking distance to the SAP arena and the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. They also have an awesome breakfast buffet which is included in the price of the room. It is directly next to a Walgreen's and close to several restaurants (Chipotle Grill is our favorite). Very nice staff. I will definitely stay here again when attending events at the SAP Arena.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

first of all we recommend you check booking.com before booking here as we saved $60. Hotelk itself is excellent. stylish fell all over and the room was excellent. breakfast was a nice choice of hot and cold. staff were less helpful than we are used to but we managed. location wise the hotel is within a short walk of shops and restuarants and about a ten min walk to the train station. there is a great 2nd hand store 5 mins from hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fergus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Efficient & friendly check-in and room was spacious & very clean. An easy 10 min walk to SAP for a concert was so much easier than trying to drive & park in that massive lot. Area isn't super attractive but it's well lit & we were very comfortable walking after the concert ended at 11:30 - we will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HappyVagabond2458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We always stay here while attending any nearby events, not only because of proximity, but because the staff is always friendly and accommodating. Employees are always friendly and willing to assist in any way they can but this weekend I had the opportunity to chat awhile with the weekend manager and he was especially great! ~ made suggestions, printed my airline passes and helped me with directions! There's a small patio area available for small groups to gather in front of the hotel. It's close to the Arena which provides easy access without any hassle. We've been coming here for years and these folks are always great! We'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNorCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Have stayed here several times and has always been a good stay. Although it is part of a chain it gives a homey feel. Employees are friendly and the rooms are more than adequate. I very much appreciate the in room Jacuzzi. The breakfast is better than most free meals I have had at other hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobandruthanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

There is no better place to stay if you are headed for a game. There is probably no other good reason to stay here. The Sharks arena is an easy walk, so go to the game, come back, sleep, leave. Great plan! You can also get extra air miles for staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majiksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott San Jose Downtown
1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
2.8 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#43 of 75 in San Jose
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#12 of 75 in San Jose
649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#32 of 75 in San Jose
379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Address: 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-3156
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £72 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Hotel features 89 spacious guestrooms offering floor plans from Deluxe King Rooms, Double Queen Rooms, to Deluxe suites. We offer corporate rates, AARP rates, and extended stay rates. We are located within walking distance to downtown San Jose and HP Pavilion. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast and dinner services during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel San Jose
Arena San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing