We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start off the evening”
Review of Britannia Arms

Britannia Arms
Ranked #133 of 2,185 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
San Jose Ca
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to start off the evening”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Good drinks, good pub food,and plenty of tables if you don't want to sit at the bar. I wish that they didn't have so many TV's, don't really like or follow sports and find them distracting to converstations. Other than that I enjoyed both the food and the libations.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traverler1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sports bar”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I can't think of any other place in downtown San Jose that has this many TV's to watch sporting events. It's a great place to watch a game but they don't offer their usual happy hour specials during sporting events in the area.

Aside from that, drink prices are about standard for downtown. The food is decent but a little pricey for the quality.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keaau, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Fish 'n Chips!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is our go-to for fried cod goodness! It's around the corner from us and has nice outdoor seating where, dare I say it, you can smoke........

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank keaaugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We went here for dinner and ordered the potatoe skins before dinner, yummy. Shared the spinach salad, yummy. My husband is a vegetarian and there are only a few choices. I ordered the banger sandwich with sweet potatoe fries. We both felt the food was good and so was the service, but we came very early around 4:30pm and there were only a few other customers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaVon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“terrible”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

we went there because the restaurant we wanted to go to was closed, we better have gone home to eat : I was sick back home from eating a Shrimp Pasta plate - the pasta [almost cold] were 'swimming' in a fat white sauce - the meat of BBQ pork sandwich of my son was also very fat & bad quality - the restaurant doesn't seem clean - ambiance very loud - expensive regarding the quality - a very bad experience in the Almaden area -

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlotte177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Britannia Arms also viewed

 

Been to Britannia Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing