We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pa. Guy Goes West for R and R” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgway, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pa. Guy Goes West for R and R”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The staff was exceptional and the room was very good.
The only problem I had was with the breakfast buffet and the lounge food.
It was okay but not close to good.
The real only other problem with the hotel is that it is not within walking distance of anyplace.

Room Tip: Do not stay there unless you have a car to drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbadad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of your stay with us.

Very happy we were able to meet your service and room expectations. Our apologies for not meeting your mark in our outlets.

Regarding our location, yes we are away from it all but yet close enough to it all so that our guest are not isolated. A side note for your next stay with us we have a free shuttle to any destination within a 5 mile radius.


Thank you again for your time and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    358
    120
    55
    43
See reviews for
271
298
43
398
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This old hotel impressive especially if you like heritage hotels.i have stayed her a few time now love its cenral location the room was tradtional but spacious i may enjoyed it more this time arond since it was a night away from thye kids,the black gentle man bar tender was so nice and suggested a few more cool little spots as well i will go back again for a vaction. very nie place

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldersburg, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is my second time at the Hayes Mansion. I was back on business. I will travel to San Jose about 10 times per year. I will always stay at the Hayes Mansion. It has a park like setting that I really love. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Why stay at one of the big boxes when you can stay at a warm and inviting Mansion. I can never sleep well in a normal hotel. This feels like I am staying at a friends house and I get the best sleep ever. Those who travel all of the time will understand what I mean. Looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: I always get one of the Mansion view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Our goal is to make you feel as if you are family and that the Dolce Hayes Mansion is your home away from home.

Thank you very much for letting everyone else know that this is what we have achieved for you.

Only the best to you until we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nice room with everything except we didn't have a tub in our bedroom. Dinner was excellent and we got a table on the edge looking out. Grounds are great. The mansion is expansive, but our room in the 1100 area was next to a big wedding dinner.

Room Tip: Room next to conference area is not good for a restful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Thank you Trip Advisor for pointing us to this gorgeous turn-of-the-century mansion turned hotel and conference center! The original mansion and surrounding grounds are stunning -- and such a bizarre find in the heart of a big city. We took our son, so the Parlor Suite was a perfect fit with an adjoining room with a hide-a-bed and door between it and the bedroom. With our AAA membership, we enjoyed a complimentary breakfast the next morning in the mansion's restaurant. It was a full buffet, complete with omelet bar and Belgian waffles -- definitely not your typical hotel breakfast! The location is a bit strange, as it's in the middle of a so-so neighborhood, but once you're on site, you can't see anything else. It's also just 10 minutes from downtown San Jose and five minutes from the best shopping mall in town with plenty of restaurant options. We'd go back in a second!

Room Tip: The Parlor Suites are an excellent option for travelers with children or for those who want a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful experience from the restaurant to the room. I stayed there for 3 nights without a single complaint. The hotel is breathtakingly beautiful and the service was impeccable. Would definitely stay there again when in San Jose.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arpel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Your kind words are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Loved staying at the Dolce Hayes for a conference. The staff was excellent and our room was quite good. I loved the heated pool outdoors and went swimming every day even though the weather was not that warm. The food at the restaurant was very well prepared with touches of healthy food and nice treats.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lafscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
I am so happy to hear you were able to enjoy yourself during you stay wth us.
Also good to hear you discovered our giant spa/pool. We keep it warm so our guests can enjoy it year round.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments until next time have a wonderful everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
12.9 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
8.1 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
10.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Property: Dolce Hayes Mansion
Address: 200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing