We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property in odd location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Was there for a conference. Great property; beautiful, great for outdoor lunches. Not good if you want to leave the place - it is in the middle of a neighborhood not near anything else. So if you want to get away and never leave - good. Want a base to enjoy San Jose - bad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank msa23_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband found this amazing property passing through San Jose on a road trip to Southern California to pick me up and loved it so much , we stayed there again on the way home too. It is truly a sight to see, very noble and majestic. Reminiscent of an old British estate ,or maybe a southern plantation house; very grand with beautiful lawns and lots of history.

We found the service to be spectacular ,and the rooms well appointed. We had only two complaints ,and they were probably overshadowed by its awesomeness and would still recommend a stay here . Firstly, the air conditioning was not up to par in our room. We fiddled with it, and they sent someone out, but it never seemed to cool enough. They "claimed" it was on, but we honestly had an uncomfortable night 's sleep because it was too warm for us.

We also found the restaurant to be a bit lacking for a proper dinner. It seems the hotel is more geared toward catered parties and weddings, which makes sense, it IS beautiful, but there is no proper "sit down" dining room dinner restaurant. Or if there was it was closed at 8 p.m.? There is a beautiful outside seating area with large couches and glass topped wicker coffee tables which is fabulous for drinks and appetizers, however, I didn't see how we could possibly eat a proper steak dinner on a coffee table that I could barely reach, so we just ordered sandwiches to take back to our room.......seems like a lot of lost revenue for them? We left early the next morning, but my husband said they do put on a beautiful buffet breakfast so I'll take his word on that...;-)

The pool area was beautiful and very clean and we were able to order a couple of beers and some snacks at the pool which was really nice. All in all it was a really nice stay and I would highly recommend it. It's location is a bit weird- in a residential area, so you really have to know its there, but definitely more fun than your average high ride chain hotel!! :-)

Room Tip: We were in a room on the ground floor that opened up to a patio right by the pool . We had our coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank libbikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and experience with us. Anytime you go through San Jose we look forward to hosting your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked this hotel last minute for a quick getaway on a saturday night. Even though I have lived in the bay area for 20 years I had never heard of this hotel and didn't know where it was. You drive through a residential area and all of a sudden there is a Mansion set in lovely gardens! We only stayed one night but it was great. The room was nicely and newly furnished, spotless and quiet.
We went down and had a drink at the outside patio area which had firepits, heaters and comfy chairs. The service was a bit slow but not a big problem.
We got an amazing rate including a full breakfast where again the service was a bit off but the food was good, I would easily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jillycalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you very much for you for taking the time to write such a great review.

We truly appreciate getting the opportunity to help create a wonderful memory.

Now that you found us we look forward to the next time and opportunity.


Till thing only the best of everything to you and yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Beautiful grounds and wonderful staff made this a pleasurable stay in San Jose. Property is close to major highways but feels secluded. The pool and hot tub are the cleanest I have ever seen and the gentleman who maintains the pool grounds deserves high praise for his pride in his work. The pool itself is salt-water chlorinated and the water quality was excellent. Rooms are nice but a little dated and the air/ventilation system heeds updating, however, this should not discourage anyone from visiting this property.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and was quiet...even during the weekend of July 4. The hotel hosts wedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here while touring the San Jose area. Was able to check in early the first day. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Great room - very spacious and well appointed. Comfortable bed and soft fluffy towels. Convenient having a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherryAmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much sharing your wondeful stay experience.

We truly appreciate your opinion and your business.

Take care until we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My family stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding. See other reviews below. I agree that this mansion is a prime location for weddings in the summer so if your looking for tranquility this is not the place: lots of weddings and lots of kids. For a wedding venue it is amazing! For a vacation night it is an amazing deal but like I said be prepared for a lot of people. It is located in a residential area so there is also the necessity of driving some distance.
Pros: great price, clean, amazing grounds, pool area is classy
Cons: weddings ( although great if your in one) aka lots of people and kids.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were looking for a local R&R venue where we within a half hour of Mountain View, and somehow I remember I'd heard of this place. We only stayed one day and a night, and net, net, it was not bad, and considering the $159 we paid (hotels.com), excellent. The property was converted from an early 1900's mansion by the city of San Jose (which still owns it) and is run by an independent contracted hospitality company. It's located at the south end of San Jose, next to a large city park. Pros: unusual, squeaky clean and polished, beautiful grounds, nice bar and restaurant with very good drinks and food, comfy beds. The Sunday morning buffet (at $15) was good, not great. We didn't use the spa services, so I can't comment. Con #1: they host LOTS of weddings, especially in spring and summer, and sure enough, there was a giant Indian wedding and its associated parties going on during our stay, complete with sitar, tabla, and later, Indian disco music.Thus our stay was not as tranquil, ahem, as we'd hoped. Suggestion: if tranquility is what you're looking for, I'd definitely call ahead before booking to make sure you're not going to run into something similar. Con #2: because they do attract families as well, you're likely to run into a bunch of kids. The pool was overrun with kids the day we were there, but we don't mind that much. If you are looking to find a relaxing pool away from kids, then this may not be the place, depending on who else has booked. Con #3: Service varies, depending on what your expectations are. A nice gentleman takes drink orders by the pool, but if you want to order food you have to get up and use a phone to call room service. In the outside patio area, service is slow and spotty, or seeming non existent at times. In the bar and restaurant, however, service was excellent and attentive. Bottom line: We'll probably go again, as it's close, and for the price, a terrific bargain.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure you're not going to be there when they're hosting a giant wedding. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fair-But-Tough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,397 reviews
12.9 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
6.1 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#8 of 75 in San Jose
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
8.1 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
6 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Address: 200 Edenvale Ave, San Jose, CA 95136-3309 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £117 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing